Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where now for Barba ?

Card Shark

Yes, he kicked ordinary yesterday, could've cost us.

I put it down to low confidence across the board.

He deserves another week or 2 imo.

Yesterday we had 55% of possession, only made 5 mistakes and gave away 4 penalties.

We won't get a better run than that all year, and we still nearly lost.

We were camped on the roosters line for eternity in the first half and couldn't score a try.

Robson has to go. I recall one play in particular where we would have had about 3 on 1 if Robbo went out the back and he hit the front man in Lewis instead.

Ennis can take more control of the team and guide them round from hooker, Robbo runs and passes too slow and his kicking game gets a pass mark at best. He has been a solid servant for the club but his time as a halfback is over IMO.

Robson provides the attacking structure to allow bird to do what he did yesterday, everything is timed off him, take him out and we will look like a rabble

robo had a fantastic game yesterday, played the leadership role he is there to play, he is no game breaker but if you watch his touches of the ball closely and his off the ball communication with his outside runners you might have more of an appreciation for what he brings to the team

Im all for giving younger guys a chance but robo is our best option at half, he brings a lot of experience to the team and is quality operator and highly under rated

Vin Fizz

I played lots of cricket and was captain for a while. In one game nothing worked. I finally threw the ball to a young bloke who everyone said was gunna be big things. He got 2 wickets in the over. I walked over to the coach (my Dad) at the end of the over and said yeah they were lucky wickets and promptly elected another bowler. They were the only 2 wickets we got and we got done by a street. Moral of the story DONT CHANGE A WINNING COMBINATION. If Barba has to come in hoik Arona off the bench.

Griffoshark66

I think Ennis took a lot of pressure of Robo. I loved what I saw from him yesterday. If he continues in that mode, we will continue to create chances. Menace can kick goals can't he? Val can too I would think. Gordon under pressure if Barba comes back into the starting 13.

Robson provides the attacking structure to allow bird to do what he did yesterday, everything is timed off him, take him out and we will look like a rabble

robo had a fantastic game yesterday, played the leadership role he is there to play, he is no game breaker but if you watch his touches of the ball closely and his off the ball communication with his outside runners you might have more of an appreciation for what he brings to the team

Im all for giving younger guys a chance but robo is our best option at half, he brings a lot of experience to the team and is quality operator and highly under rated

Yes.

azzah72

Oh great! Now its the get rid of Gordon Brigade!

f**king bloke has been our best for 2 years and has done nothing wrong this year!

He should be doing the rotation with Val until he goes, which imo is either the end of this year or after one more year.

The other wing combo does not change! Feki and leu have a combo and its working, when they get good ball they are dangerous.

The other side is up for debate. Gordon and Val rotate the wing with centre being an interesting one, Beale has to get better, he hasn't done a lot wrong or right but he needs to get better.

There's the opportunity for Ayshford, Gagan or Salimumla to come in OR gordon can play centre with Val on the wing. then the rotation will be Barba and Val.

I'd prefer that it's Barba is super sub or bust tbh.

Card Shark

It's all about balance.

Need 1 half who sets the structure in a team.

It's Robson for us.

2 flashy halves don't look so good when the going gets tough.

That's why I Adam Reynolds is so good, gets his team organised but can kick a lot better than Robson.

Since 73

4 loses and a suspension to put together a winning team.

Robson can play next year if he wants too.

I say f**k off fresh ideas please.
Hey we won a football game.

Don't let that cloud over the failings and shortcomings of Shane Flanagan.

What it did is show we have a very good football team that has been underdeveloped and styled to play shit.

Yesterday we saw what youth and playing a bit of footy can do.

We need a coach who takes this approach without being instructed to by the CEO.

Click2000

Robbo was great yesterday and to move him would be just plain dumb.

Gordon was great yesterday and supports Holmes very well.

Barber on the wing would be a disaster !!! Imagine the cross field bombs to his wing with the big tall wingers running around having a field day jumping above him.

I think he needs to come off the bench but Barber didn't play as bad at 5/8 as people make out he threw some nice passes it's just his kicking game that was shocking but that's a confidence thing which will get better.

Crucify me but I would give him another shot at 5/8 and move Bird to centre which I reckon is Birds best position. Incidentally Bird thinks it is his best position!!!!

Card Shark

Robbo was great yesterday and to move him would be just plain dumb.

Gordon was great yesterday and supports Holmes very well.

Barber on the wing would be a disaster !!! Imagine the cross field bombs to his wing with the big tall wingers running around having a field day jumping above him.

I think he needs to come off the bench but Barber didn't play as bad at 5/8 as people make out he threw some nice passes it's just his kicking game that was shocking but that's a confidence thing which will get better.

Crucify me but I would give him another shot at 5/8 and move Bird to centre which I reckon is Birds best position. Incidentally Bird thinks it is his best position!!!!

Good post 2000.

Bird & Barba share centre / five-eighth but don't change anything else atm.

Let Barba get some confidence up with Bird to take the pressure off him.

Ads

I still think Bird to right centre (Beale and Luetele fighting it out for the left side) with Barba at 5/8 running the right side of the field so he can combine with Lewis and Bird with Holmes joining in from fullback and Gordon on the wing is potentially a gold mine for us. They can swap positions in attack if they need to but it gives us serious options and both Bird and Lewis can offload and the other three would be our best players to have sniffing around Bird and Lewis.

Originally was thinking Barba in a Preston Campbell mold, but I can't convince myself that a Barba/Bird combo would work. Is Murphy ready?

Murphy apparently has a torn PE total muscle. That's usually a season ended isn't it?

ghoti

I'm hearing Sami Sauiluma is playing well too any one seen him play?

I rate Sauiluma... Most damaging ball runner in the Newtown squad, but has issues with ball control. Flanno said he was pushing hard for a FG spot.

Was on Beale's side of the field yesterday and his defence and defensive structure looked woeful.. Bird was making up for his shortcomings all day...and I thought it was the halves that needed protection!

Bird to right centre and Barba back to 6 is the most likely option. Bird was fantastic but I think he had the advantage of unknown status too. I reckon him in the centres with a license to run in the six position ala Hodges would be very troubling for oppositions.

Sauiluma if he gets his hands in on the left, Bird on the right, Barba one more crack at 6...Beale told to get in the gym until his upper body no longer resembles an underfed 14 year ols

Born BB&W

I rate Sauiluma... Most damaging ball runner in the Newtown squad, but has issues with ball control. Flanno said he was pushing hard for a FG spot.

Was on Beale's side of the field yesterday and his defence and defensive structure looked woeful.. Bird was making up for his shortcomings all day...and I thought it was the halves that needed protection!

Bird to right centre and Barba back to 6 is the most likely option. Bird was fantastic but I think he had the advantage of unknown status too. I reckon him in the centres with a license to run in the six position ala Hodges would be very troubling for oppositions.

Sauiluma if he gets his hands in on the left, Bird on the right, Barba one more crack at 6...Beale told to get in the gym until his upper body no longer resembles an underfed 14 year ols

Cheers mate - Funny we were discussing Bird to 5/8 a few weeks back. Happy it worked out well yesterday.