Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where was Peachey?

Craigshark

I know he was quiet in the Parramatta game, but he didnt exactley have a bad game.. Two weeks ago after the Canberra game everyone loves the bloke and is saying how he should be resigned at the end of the year, he has a quiet game and a poor game and everyone wants him out of the side.. Give the guy a go..
Peachey is a legend and should keep his spot in my opinion. I realise he has to start getting more consistent with his good performances but i hope he doesnt leave at the end of the year as i think he still has some good years left in him

His last two????

I don't care for two games at a time. I'm talking about consistently, week in and week out. He's had a few god games this year... but he's had some equally bad ones. When was the last time he was consistently good?

You cannt contemplate dropping such an established and vital player after two bad games. The fact is once he regains his form, which Im confident he will in time like he did against the Raiders we will be very difficult to beat, when Peach goes good we go great!

SadShark

Missed tackles by all players guys - David Peachey doesn't miss an average of 40 plus tackles per game on his own. I agree he is not playing well. I don't think we will see the best of Peachey until he rediscovers that he actually can take them on himself in attack and then the rest will follow.

The Sharks missed tackle rate is alarming. I wish the club would pull out some video footage of Speechly & ET for the backs and then Miller and Bundy for the forwards. Other noted defenders were Hatch, Stains, Greenhill, Nikau and Dave Watson.
THAT was tackling ;-)

I think especially on Saturday night although we didnt getr to many tries its evident our attack is pretty good but their is a major deficieny in defence. They are gona need to work on it alot. The main problem that seemed apparent was a failure to wrap up the Dragons defender, on so many occasions, mostly leading to tries they got their arms free, offloaded and good bye charley as Peach has to defend against 3 players running at him, impossible!

shadowboxer

problem for peachy is that he was inconsistent last year and whilst he has had a few fine moments, he hasnt been outstanding - then again who has. Thing is , it is still early days in the season and time will tell how he pans out..

If we were to drop Peachey, the sky would fall in. Don't be ridiculous. Why don't we just put our Jersey Flegg side out there? Fickle.

millersnose

Craigshark said:
I know he was quiet in the Parramatta game, but he didnt exactley have a bad game..
mate he had a farging shocker

worst player on the field both games by a long way

Two weeks ago after the Canberra game everyone loves the bloke and is saying how he should be resigned at the end of the year, he has a quiet game and a poor game and everyone wants him out of the side.. Give the guy a go..

forgive me if i dont go in for all the hero worship stuff

Peachey is a legend and should keep his spot in my opinion.

reminiscent of a skyhooks song

I realise he has to start getting more consistent with his good performances but i hope he doesnt leave at the end of the year as i think he still has some good years left in him

i hope you are right and he starts producing

I love Peach to death, but if he doesn't deserve a spot he doesn't deserve a spot. At the moment I think he's still our best fullback so I'd keep him. My opinion might change after a few more weeks.

I remember back to ET's last season in 2000. He was duly criticized for being in average form, but when he got injured (for the first time that year) the wheels fell off. He returned to silence his critics, and was looking the goods until that famous injury got the better of him in the opening minutes of the Sharks/Warriors game... and we never saw him again.

At 35 he still had the class to tear opponents to shreds.. and how about those famous chip kicks for Matty Rogers on the outside? And to think the Sharks fans of tomorrow will never get to see the greatest Shark of them all.

f**k, I need to chill on the reminiscing and get back to my English essay.

newman

The peach only seems interested when hes runnin tries in. He needs to be enthusiastic and "on" all the time.

I reckon hes the all time "cruiser" player. He dont seem interested when its tough.

Surely

On the subject of fullbacks, how is Bronx Goodwin shaping up in flegg..

and for the record, I wouldn't swap 5 merrits for 1 peach ...

Et#1_supporter

PEACHEY IS A LIABILITY
WAKE UP TO YOURSELF

I'm a sharks supporter through and through but saying "peachey's done it for us in the past" doesnt quite cut it.

He's a joke of a fullback, has been for past 1.5 seasons. I know all u "true" sharks fans will be horrified by the thought, but peachey needs time in the lower grades, or even away from footy. He HAS either lost his passion for the game or is past his used by date, one of the two.

And all u saying we cant drop peachey cause "when peachey fires, we cant lose" ARE f**kED.
he might fire once in a while and we win, but 5 times in between that he'll f**k up and cost us a game.

im not a fickle fan, im just tellin like it is. Wake up to urselves. if u cant see peachey is a liability ure either a f**kin idiot or u watch the game with ure eyes closed

Et#1_supporter

I remember back to ET's last season in 2000. He was duly criticized for being in average form, but when he got injured (for the first time that year) the wheels fell off.

we NEED to drop peach cause hes in terrible form. If the above happens, like u say it did with ET, then we can bring him back in. id rather that than have peach playing half heartedly in terrible form forever. And he has recently picked up the worst discipline. cant keep his f**kin mouth shut to the ref, ive seen him do stupid shit like push opposition players over who are tryin to play the ball, pulling kick chasers down cause he cant be f**ked runnin for the ball

SirShire

There is no doubt he isnt at his best. But who would have the heart to drop the man? He is probably our greatest ever clubman

He isn't our greatest ever clubman. He would certainly be up there but ET has that gong well and truly in his grasp. Peachey has had man of the match performances on more than one occasion this year. He has had a couple of bad games as well but he is still one of the better fullbacks in the comp let alone the sharks.

He is probably our greatest ever clubman

How soon we forget. Peach is a great, but he's not even close to our greatest ever clubman. If he sticks it out for another 7 years while maintaining his best form then he might come closer... ;-)

Nullajet

if u cant see peachey is a liability ure either a f***in idiot or u watch the game with ure eyes closed
Did you not see his games against Canterbury, Manly and Canberra??? Geez has the Peach done something to you family???

I know he has had some pretty ordinary games but to accuse him of being too lazy or not interested is way too harsh....ET will always be my number one player but you think back to the games where he wasn't even sighted......I bet you weren't calling for his axing.....as you shouldnt with Peach.

Backs in particular suffer and look bad when a team is being carved up....the fullback cops the brunt of that......

I for one would be pissed off to see him dropped, he IS the Cronulla team for me...

When they start firing you watch the praise that will be lauded on our CURRENT best clubman.