Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who do we need to recruit in 2018?

Obviously all innuendo and Cleary hasn't even signed but I've heard he is going to try and bring whare and matulino with him

All this talk of Nofo going to the Eels, where is it coming from and is there any truth to it?

No idea. We can't lose him though. I'd go as far to say that he is more valuable then woods. Mainly because you can find decent props relatively easily, the work nofa does out of our end is second to none. He is leading the tackle busts in the nrl and I believe has been top 3 every year year since his debut.

simmo05

Ive kept a good eye on reynolds tonight, been in everything, if he isnt playing they are getting flogged. Maybe flick 1 of our 2 imbo's and grab him?
He can lose the plot occasionally, but his general play cancels that out. At least he can tackle.

Just jumped on to make a comment about Reynolds and read what you said simmo05.

Do the Bulldogs want Brooks? Do they want Moses? They can take their pick and I would be so happy to take Reynolds, much prefer to have a guy like Reynolds who gives 100% every game, lifts his team mates with his efforts, puts his body on the line, yes please have him any day.

Das Hassler

Yes to the above posts.....Reynolds under cleary at probably half the price (to keep) of either of them wouldn't need too much thinking about

Tiger Ted

Just jumped on to make a comment about Reynolds and read what you said simmo05.

Do the Bulldogs want Brooks? Do they want Moses? They can take their pick and I would be so happy to take Reynolds, much prefer to have a guy like Reynolds who gives 100% every game, lifts his team mates with his efforts, puts his body on the line, yes please have him any day.
He's been very much maligned & unjustifiably over the last few yrs but what a great competitor.Reynolds has the attitude & commitment that's expected from all ur players.Some of the overpaid arrogant bludgers that we've had on our books over the yrs should hang there heads in shame.

I'd be euphoric if we could swap the listless tackle shy bonehead Brooks for Reynolds.Reynolds is tougher than the majority of our pack.

Crazyperpman

Reynolds is a whole hearted player, but he played behind an aggressive pack that ran and tackled hard. He can be bog ordinary when the dogs don't dominate the middle for extended periods.

It's amazing how good halves can look behind a dominant set of forwards. We should probably look into getting a set of those ourselves.

reynolds at least looks like he gives a shit, which to me puts him well ahead of brooks. half the time he looks like he hates being on a footy field

So Cronk says his future is in Sydney.

Give him a 2 year deal.

Keep Brooks and Moses and have Cronk teach them how to play.

Even if Cronk plays 15 games in those two years, the coaching he could provide to our halves would be priceless.

Keep Tedesco and Woods.

Also buy Luke Lewis. Lewis can show the young guys how to run a committed good line and how to pressure opposing halves in defence and stick to tackles.

I'm never one for buying players about to retire, but we've had no quality experienced players around our young blokes and they desperately need the guidance they provide.

This way, our current mob get upgraded skills from the best in the business and we don't have to recruit anyone to replace Cronk and Lewis when they depart.

Then buy at least one centre and one prop. When Cronk and Lewis retire, we can chase another prop and centre.

Blue Sky thinking and all that.

Clifferd

Buying Cronk would also ensure he coaches our younger players with his experience. Worth every cent imo but I wonder how he'd go outside of Melbourne structures

Even if Cronk plays 15 games in those two years, the coaching he could provide to our halves would be priceless.
couldn't agree more MU.
I have always thought that we could do with a sister club agreement, 1 in NSW Country and another in the UK.

There are young guys who need that bit of extra between NYC and NSW Cup and the NRL, There are guys who we can't always fit in straight away and would benefit from being able to develop away from the scrutiny of the Sydney media and 'we experts' on forums such as this. I like the idea of sending halves to the UK and back rowers to toughen up in the bush.

Saying that though, we have released players in recent years who just disappeared all together, e.g.
Blake Lazarus - I thought he was going to be our 7 for years based on expectations.
Ben Murdoch-Masila - we released him and he just never kicked on.

betcats

Cronk would be amazing, the guy gives his phone number to young halves to call him for advice. His work ethic and preparation is second to none.

betcats

reynolds at least looks like he gives a shit, which to me puts him well ahead of brooks. half the time he looks like he hates being on a footy field

I reckon this is to do with his defence, whenever they are defending he must be shit scared that they will run at him. Its a confidence killer for sure.

credit to Brooks though, he doesn't shy away from defence. Moses does at times though.