Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who do we need to recruit in 2018?

I'm not saying he isn't gone , but his comments seem far more promising than the loud mouth woods

This ultimatum should have been set prior to round 1. Shame it's taken this long

We should have done this earlier but I can't blame the club. They tried as hard as possible to appease these guys.

Crazyperpman

Interview with Cleary is up now. Very impressed. Short of telling them to f**k off, I think his message was clear. Club is in good hands

http://www.weststigers.com.au/news/2017/04/20/press_conference_iva.html

I like the timing of this, I am sure Woods thought he could get past this game and make the call afterwards. Now he will have to make the call and then and turn up against the Bulldogs, take on their pack of which some of them will know they will be moved on because of him and play in front of their fans of which many do not want him there.

I am sure he will cross paths with Graham, Kasiano and Eastwood. Should be interesting. If he gets hammered and keeps rolling around on the ground fishing for penalties, he is going to cop it from all directions.

Could Woods end up being the most hated man in the NRL? I say Yes.

Teddy on the other hand could bang your sister and you would still love him!

I don't love Teddy now. He is now on that select group of players that are dogs.

Woods going is great news.

Tiger Ted

It's gonna be so hard supporting these players knowing next year they won't even be here tbh
It certainly doesnt sit well that these mercenaries have created so much unnecessary drama & signed to play elsewhere while we r only a 1/4 of the way through this season.

The truth is we've dodged some bullets re avoiding paying the crazy money Moses & woods were seeking.

The upside is that Cleary is in an enviable position with the massive amt of money he now has at his disposal re assembling a competitive team & the enormous no.of players on the market.

Disgruntled

"Could Woods end up being the most hated man in the NRL? I say Yes."

I never hated anyone, except South Sydney, but in my 50 years of being a Tigers and Rugby League supporter I've never seen a worse display by a club captain.

Whoever he signs for tough luck.

BrotherJim05

f**king Tedesco has screwed us over big time. We had Papenyuzen coming through the ranks but now he has f**ked off we are left with nothing.

Crazyperpman

f**king Tedesco has screwed us over big time. We had Papenyuzen coming through the ranks but now he has f**ked off we are left with nothing.

This has been happening for years and the list of players is endless that have been let go for the privileged 4.

Brother Jim, after the shocking news comes out tomorrow, can you do us all a solid and change your picture to our fearful leader Woods. I think it would be somehow therapeutic.

If Roosters have got Tedesco, then should we go after Dugan?

And should we go after J.Reynolds and/or Widdop?

gordynz

If Roosters have got Tedesco, then should we go after Dugan?

And should we go after J.Reynolds and/or Widdop?

We need a decent fullback so either him or Hayne would be ideal. You have to trust that Hayne can get back to some of his best form though which is an obvious risk. In regards to signing a half, i think we have to look at Widdop. He's better in nearly every facet of the game than Reynolds and he's also a goal kicker which is what we need. I'd still like to think we're some sort of chance of getting Cronk however...

Tiger Ted

We need a decent fullback so either him or Hayne would be ideal. You have to trust that Hayne can get back to some of his best form though which is an obvious risk. In regards to signing a half, i think we have to look at Widdop. He's better in nearly every facet of the game than Reynolds and he's also a goal kicker which is what we need. I'd still like to think we're some sort of chance of getting Cronk however...
Hayne is a major league wanka & destabiliser.
Widdop isn't worth any more than what saints have offered him(700k).The negative about the Pom is whether he has decided to suddenly aim up this season coz his contract is up.
Apparently Reynolds is remaining @ the kennel.

BrotherJim05

Okay I've calmed down a bit. The silver lining is that we well and truly have a war chest to build a brand new team from scratch. I reckon we should even change our team name...call us the Concord Magpies just to completely change things up. This is what we have for next year, * means likely to be signed, **means we should chase their signature

1. **L Mitchell
2. Nofa
3. Suli
4. **J Morris
5. **B Morris
6. **Widdop or Reynolds
7. Brooks
8. *Mautlino
9. *MM
10. **Graham
11. Mcqueen
12. **Guerra or Lowe (Lowe to kick goals if we sign Reynolds)
13. ET (C)

14. Sue
15. *Ava
16. Lawrence
17. Liddle

Surely we have enough free cash to sign all the * and **?

At the end of the day, we haven't had a team that good since 2011

Ron's_Mate

No to Hayne for me. After all the dramas we've just been through with players threatening to leave, the last thing we need is a fat gangster coming out every other month and talking about what sport he wants to try next.

Widdop can play fullback.

See if we can pick up Reynolds and Graham in a swap for Woods (obviously we will have to kick in some cash)
See if we can get Guerra and Tupou in a swap for Tedesco

With 1 million being freed from Farah and Sironen salaries paid out
And over a million saved from losing Tedesco, Woods and Moses
and the cap going up by at least a million, we'll have at least 3 million to work with

Widdop 800k
Guerra 700k
Graham 500k
Tupou 500k
Matulino 500k

Release this mob whose contracts end this year:
Ballin
Edwards
Lovett
Naiqama
Rankin
Idris

And with the cash free'd up there you can pick up a heap of depth players who are better than we currently have.

Gagan 100k
Gubb 150k
Terepo 200k
Rochow 150k

Possibly even Lee Mossop in the UK a 26 year old prop who has played Test footy.
Jonny Lomax, a Fullback who can play at halfback, also 26 who made his Test debut last year.

Das Hassler

No to Hayne x10.....besides the distraction of his antics he only plays when he feels in the mood....We've surely had more than our fair share of enigmatic superstars...no more of that...play to your potential each and every game has to be the bottom line for everyone....ET"s attitude and application should be the standard set for everyone....Hayne doesn't tick that box
Ive become a big fan of Dugan but he sure is an injury worry....wouldnt be dissapointed though!

axl rose

Possibly even Lee Mossop

Wasnt Mosspp a flop at Parra. Id keep Idris.

Anyway problem with all this money is those blood sucking managers know we will pay overs.

Widdop can play fullback.

See if we can pick up Reynolds and Graham in a swap for Woods (obviously we will have to kick in some cash)
See if we can get Guerra and Tupou in a swap for Tedesco

And over a million saved from losing Tedesco, Woods and Moses
and the cap going up by at least a million, we'll have at least 3 million to work with

Widdop 800k
Guerra 700k
Graham 500k
Tupou 500k
Matulino 500k

Release this mob whose contracts end this year:
Ballin
Edwards
Lovett
Naiqama
Rankin
Idris

And with the cash free'd up there you can pick up a heap of depth players who are better than we currently have.

Gagan 100k
Gubb 150k
Terepo 200k
Rochow 150k

Possibly even Lee Mossop in the UK a 26 year old prop who has played Test footy.
Jonny Lomax, a Fullback who can play at halfback, also 26 who made his Test debut last year.

If we paid $500k for tupou and $700k for Guerra I would start supporting souths