Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who have you met ??

LESStar58

Most of the Storm players past and present. Bellamy and Anderson bt never Murray. I went to the first Storm family day at Gosch's paddock in 98 and I still have my old ball that my dog ripped the bladder out of with all the autographs still on it.

Met Joey after the Storm walloped the Knigts at OP in 2005 cos I wanted to get my "captaining the kangaroos" book signed (I'm trying to get as many captains to sign their chapters of the book as possible). It was his first game back and he'd just had his arse handed to him by Matt Orford and most of the storm forwards so he wasn't in a real good mood. Everyone wanted an autograph and a photo but he was in absoluetly no mood. He did sign my book however. On the same afternoon I ran into Laurie Daley and he was really nice. He signed my book for me as well.....

Brad Fittler at his last game in Melbourne in 2004. He signed a poster and had a photo with me.

Darren Lockyer in 2005 after we walloped the Broncs by 46 points. I remember he was replaced uninjured and was pretty down after the game. I asked him to sign my captains book and he was like, "yeah sure, mate" and he put down his bag and signed his picture/chapter in the book. Wished him all the best and shook hands with him. At least he wasn't like Joey and all in a huff over getting his arsse whipped!

I also saw Gorden Tallis pushing a stroller down Chapel Street with his wife about a week before Origin this year.

Oh, and met the 2006 Tri-series squad at Harvey Norman, Nunawading.

LESStar58

Misty Bee said:
Oh, I forgot, the funniest meeting was at a footy presentation for my eldest, when the official guest was Steve Carter, but one of the kids uncles responded to his nephew's request, so Carter was usurped by Australia's greatest ever pivot, Brett Kenny. The kids flocked around Bert, as one does when confronted by a virtual diety, while Carter sat under a tree (and did his duty - he sat there for 2 hours). Meanwhile, The Great One happily signed autographs and chatted amicably to the kids about pointers of his magnificent career - the Golden Boots Awards, the Lance Todd Trophy, his 2 tries in 3 cnosecutive grand finals, being pivot for the Invincables, and how he beat Wally Lewis constantly in Origin.

Then comes the big moment - the greatest thing a kid can do between birth and marriage - obtaining the signature of one of the great men of our time. Up goes Misty Jnr, with his hallowed Eels jumper (replica 1986 version), and, with his heart in his mouth, asked the living legend "Excuse me, can you sign my jersey please?"

His Eminence, smiled, and said "Sure". He put out his hand (Probably the one he palmed Wally off with so many times), and took the jersey, and took a blue texta out of his pocket, and signed his famous signature - right on the blue part of the jersey!!!!!

And to this day, if you look really hard under about 1 billion lux, you can see, very faintly..."Brett Kenny"....:](*,):

:lol: there was nothing unfunny about that story at all!

Great yarn misty!

LESStar58

Misty Bee said:
My nan knew Ken Irvine - does that count?

One of my aunts (by marriage) brothers played for Souths but I can't remember his name.... somebody Walsh?

Oh, and one of my mother's ex-boyfriends when she was a teenager played a few games of first grade for Newtown back in the 70s.

Do they count?

LESStar58

Oh, met Matty Johns walking down Swan Street, Richmond before the Storm vs Bulldogs game @ OP in 2004. He was walking towards me with his Ch9 blaser on, his shirt untucked, tie lose and wearing running shoes! He looked like a right slob bt I said "g'day Matty!" and he said g'day, shook my hand, gave me a pat on the shoulder and kept walking.

Rage

I met a bunch of the Melbourne players after a game at win stadium in either 99 or 2000 but I can't for the life of me figure out who half the signatures are on my jersey.

The ones I can figure out are Tony martin’s – who I think was slightly concussed when he signed it, it took him about 3 min to write his name pretty sh*tty on it but I thought it was awesome since I was all of about 13 and a major fan.

Marcus Bia’s is on there too and he talked to me for a bit and was pretty nice, but the other 5 signatures I’d have to guess at.

Honorable mention to Beaver who stuck around and signed my dad’s jersey and had as picture with him after they got beaten in round 26 this year when we traveled down for the game. Made my dad’s day.

nqcowboy87

met johnathan thurston and billy johstone in a car park in cairs central once, thurston seed a it arrogaqnt but a nice enough uy, i alo met firman and haay when they played up in cairns for the young guns agaisnt burliegh, nice enouh fellas considering they were in reserve grade at the time

Ive met a few.

The best one is Iosia Soliola, dead set champion who talks (and im sure roosters fans would agree) be where so humble.

Hame Lauaki - who has really bad broken english
Nigel Vagana - Champion
Wiki - Awesum
Simon Mannering
Puleatua
Pritchard - Dead set Champion like Soliola
Asotasi

All of theme were Awsesum blokes who gladly had their photo taken with my 3 year old daughter and chatted away to her and me.

The only one who was a bit of a toss was David Faalogo, bit of a grumpy merkin.

Tame Tupou is a huge bastard but down to earth
Grant rovelli
Lui Anderson
Brent Webb
all good blokes

Koopu is a bit of a wierdo

LeagueXIII

LESStar58 wrote:
One of my aunts (by marriage) brothers played for Souths but I can't remember his name.... somebody Walsh?

Not Steve Walsh? Fullback of the early 80's, tall skinny bloke with a beard.

Surandy

Storm players, met most of them. Always up for a chat, sign an autograph have a photo taken. Matty Geyer would have to be the friendliest of them all.

LESStar58

LeagueXIII said:
Not Steve Walsh? Fullback of the early 80's, tall skinny bloke with a beard.

Think that's him. Pretty sure my aunt said he played fullback.

Funny thing, my aunt and uncle have been married since 1991 and were together for years before that and not once do I recall meeting her brother so I'm not sure what he looks like....

Sterling

met afew eels boys .... ben smith, burt, O'dwyer, Graham (now cowboys) at docks darling harbour ... nice guys.
Biggest tosser of all time ... Rhys Wesser ... never met such a stuck up fool in my life ... thought he was gods gift .. was funny watching him get rejected by the gals..one after the other .... he overheard a convo in the loo between me and my mate about the eels penrith game and then wanted to start a fight ... loser with a capital L

RHYTHM AND STEALTH said:
Ive met a few.

The best one is Iosia Soliola, dead set champion who talks (and im sure roosters fans would agree) be where so humble.

My cousin used to always see him and talk to him on his way to work on the train. He said the same thing, one of the best blokes he's ever met.

mxlegend99

Met a few of players (Gower, Alexander, Girdler, Fittler etc.) at Panthers. I've never really talked to any of them, except Fittler. I wasn't a fan of his at all. But after meeting him, i thought he was a bloody champion of a bloke. Not really stuck up or anything. Just having a great night out, getting pissed and getting along with anyone who approached him.

Parra Glory

I meet David Solomona in the parra dressing room a few years ago. Top bloke!! Parra had lost that game and all the players were obviously upset but he was the only player to come to us and sit down and have a chat. Has a great sense of homour as well

bjm8

mepelthwack said:
I was lucky enough to have met

Benji Marshall
Mark O'Neill
Anthony Laffranchi
John Skandallis
Brett Hodgson
Robbie Farah
Todd Payten

On the Gold Coast at a Post GF win party in 05. All top guys. Robbie F seemed a little shy but top fella. Payten a clown in a good way. Hodgson stood out as a real good guy as did Buckets. Benji was a champion bloke. Spoke to him at our table for about 2 hours and such a down to earth, easy going guy.

obviously i was at the same table. benji was so easy to talk to over a jug of VB. whether it be about serious football stuff or his lady killing tales.

i missed an opportunity to meet sirro back in 91, and never got another chance until 04. Great bloke, more then happy for a chat, photo, signiture. Benny Elias was there to, hasnt run so fast since his balmain heydays.

also ran into thurston one night out on the drink not long after the 05 final, he took my abuse very professionally.

Knightmare

I remember when I saw Danny Williams at Key Largo I said in his ear: "If you played for the Roosters you wouldn't have got 18 weeks!" His eyes went big and he said "Bloody oath!"

Dani

I've met to many to name. The ones that stick in my memory would have to be Steve Price for just being a top bloke, Jason Stevens, i met him when i was on crutches and he asked me what was wrong and told me he'd pray for my knee, BK is absolutely lovely, as is Nathan hindmarsh and Dennis Scott is always up for a chat, even when you see him at a Backstreet Boys concert ;-)
Benji Marshall is great too, even when you trip over him in the casino :lol:
My favorites will always be Marcus Bai, Robbie Ross and Dave Kidwell. Three of the nicest and most down to earth guys i have ever met.

The only guy who hasn't been nice was Willie Mason, but to be fair, Storm did beat them that night.