Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who would you like to see appointed as Dragons Coach for 2015 on

Who would you like to see appointed as Dragons Coach from 2015 on

Dragonbaal

Rather the club folded.

So u are saying u would rather the club fold than have Brian Smith as a coach?? Rather drastic isn't it??

Would love Benny but won't happen
Wouldn't mind sheens or henry
not sure about Sean Wane, sounds like an acronym for shane warne...but he may be okay

Not sold on Daley but he could have potential

Forget the rest

TruSaint

So u are saying u would rather the club fold than have Brian Smith as a coach?? Rather drastic isn't it??

Would love Benny but won't happen
Wouldn't mind sheens or henry
not sure about Sean Wane, sounds like an acronym for shane warne...but he may be okay

Not sold on Daley but he could have potential

Forget the rest

Why have you dismissed Bennett?

TruSaint

I don't want to dismiss him but I just think he will return to the bonko's mainly because he is over 60 and probably wants to be closer to his family...but I have been known to be wrong :D

Fair answer.
I wasnt being a smart arse, thought maybe you had heard something.
Personally, I think the shambles up north maye lead him back to us.
But then again, like you friend, Im hoping.
:)

Dragonbaal

keep the faith trusaint, I have everything crossed he will come back and lead us out of near oblivion...got to shake his hand down at kogarah after we smashed the chooks in 2010 GF and he had a smile that would light up sydney harbour-I think he feels it was his greatest coaching feat considering he did it without the superstars he had at the bonkos

TruSaint

keep the faith trusaint, I have everything crossed he will come back and lead us out of near oblivion...got to shake his hand down at kogarah after we smashed the chooks in 2010 GF and he had a smile that would light up sydney harbour-I think he feels it was his greatest coaching feat considering he did it without the superstars he had at the bonkos

Love to hear that stuff DB.
Here;'s hoping champ.
What a moment for you..... Envy flowing through cyberspace :D

Bennett has no reason to come back regardless of the situation at the Knights he'll get paid in the end he's done what he had to do with the Dragons he'll go back to Qld.

Some one like Shaun Wane would see it as to big a risk he's doing well in the ESL but the NRL is so much tougher with little guarantee especially being an English man so far away from everything he'd know I wouldn't want that kind of pressure.

getsmarty

Paul McGregor should be long-term Dragons coach: Benji Marshall

By ADAM PENGILLY

June 11, 2014, 8:38 p.m.
RUGBY LEAGUE

Dragons coach Paul McGregor at training. Picture: CHRISTOPHER CHAN

Benji Marshall is imploring St George Illawarra to call off the hunt for its new coach, claiming caretaker Paul McGregor could "carry the club through the next 10 years".
Barely a week since McGregor notched his first win as an NRL head coach after taking over from Steve Price mid-season, Marshall stressed that the rookie clipboard-carrier is ready for the role full time.
"I think he's got what it takes to be a great coach and carry this club through the next 10 years," Marshall told the Mercury.
"All the boys respect Mary and he commands that respect from everyone and their excellence at training. All the boys just want to play for him. It's an important part of the game I think.
"I really rate him and I'll put my neck out to say that I'd love to be coached by him the whole time I'm here."
Marshall's public show of support for his new boss came hours after one of the coaches the Dragons reportedly sounded out, Warrington's Tony Smith, signed an extension at the English Super League club until the end of 2016.
The Dragons were also linked with their former premiership-winning coach, Wayne Bennett, and Gold Coast assistant Neil Henry.
And if it wasn't for Price, shown the door after a rocky 2½ year term at the helm of the Dragons, Marshall may not have opted for St George Illawarra after abandoning his rugby union experiment with the Auckland-based Blues.
He signed a 2½ year deal with the Red V last month.
The 29-year-old credited Price with helping rejuvenate his rugby league career despite their brief partnership in Wollongong.
"I called him straight away," Marshall said once news filtered through of his sacking.
"He had his phone off for a few days, but I got in touch with him to thank him for fighting to get me here.
"It's a sad situation and a tough, results-driven business. He [Price] wants the best for the club and I really believe that Mary is the right man for the job [now].
"He's only had a couple of games, but from what I've seen he can be great."
Perhaps the biggest stumbling block in the immediate path of Marshall and the Dragons is in-form Penrith pivot Jamie Soward, who credits McGregor with presiding over the most enjoyable fortnight of his career.
Soward spent time with McGregor and the Illawarra Cutters last year before his messy split from the Dragons.
Marshall and halves partner Gareth Widdop will be involved in a fascinating battle with Soward and Panthers halfback Peter Wallace when their two sides clash at the foot of the mountains on Saturday night.
Marshall, who, like Soward, has attracted his fair share of scrutiny over the past couple of years, says the Dragons' former pin-up boy deserves all the success that he's enjoying at Penrith.
"He's just a passionate guy who loves playing footy and some people can't handle that," Marshall said. "I think 'good on him'.
"He's probably played almost 10 years now. Most people don't even make five to eight years.
"He wears his heart on his sleeve, he's playing his hardest and he's reaping the rewards now," Marshall said.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/...ong-term-dragons-coach-benji-marshall/?cs=302

Minh

Nice post Dragonbaal, I guess with Wayne he had that special touch when it came to people. What he did at the Dragons was simply amazing.

hazzbeen

Well, thats 8t...we're f**ked...

Win one game against a depleted team and Benji wants Mary there for the next 10 years.I hope Mary does lift this side and does well but lets wait and see after a few more games......

BennyV

Win one game against a depleted team and Benji wants Mary there for the next 10 years.I hope Mary does lift this side and does well but lets wait and see after a few more games......

I almost dont care if he gets us into the 8 this year. For me, his appointment is symbolic of everything that is wrong with the club. He has no credentials, had an average couple of years coaching park football, and by all reports he went out of his way to undermine Price and come close to stabbing him in the back to get the job. He is where he is due to a relationship with Doust and the board, no other reason.

I can handle him as a caretaker coach because its difficult to find someone to come in mid-season. But giving him the fulltime gig next year would be an insult to the fans.

DUB888

Paul McGregor should be long-term Dragons coach: Benji Marshall

By ADAM PENGILLY

June 11, 2014, 8:38 p.m.
RUGBY LEAGUE

Dragons coach Paul McGregor at training. Picture: CHRISTOPHER CHAN

Benji Marshall is imploring St George Illawarra to call off the hunt for its new coach, claiming caretaker Paul McGregor could "carry the club through the next 10 years".
Barely a week since McGregor notched his first win as an NRL head coach after taking over from Steve Price mid-season, Marshall stressed that the rookie clipboard-carrier is ready for the role full time.
"I think he's got what it takes to be a great coach and carry this club through the next 10 years," Marshall told the Mercury.
"All the boys respect Mary and he commands that respect from everyone and their excellence at training. All the boys just want to play for him. It's an important part of the game I think.
"I really rate him and I'll put my neck out to say that I'd love to be coached by him the whole time I'm here."
Marshall's public show of support for his new boss came hours after one of the coaches the Dragons reportedly sounded out, Warrington's Tony Smith, signed an extension at the English Super League club until the end of 2016.
The Dragons were also linked with their former premiership-winning coach, Wayne Bennett, and Gold Coast assistant Neil Henry.
And if it wasn't for Price, shown the door after a rocky 2½ year term at the helm of the Dragons, Marshall may not have opted for St George Illawarra after abandoning his rugby union experiment with the Auckland-based Blues.
He signed a 2½ year deal with the Red V last month.
The 29-year-old credited Price with helping rejuvenate his rugby league career despite their brief partnership in Wollongong.
"I called him straight away," Marshall said once news filtered through of his sacking.
"He had his phone off for a few days, but I got in touch with him to thank him for fighting to get me here.
"It's a sad situation and a tough, results-driven business. He [Price] wants the best for the club and I really believe that Mary is the right man for the job [now].
"He's only had a couple of games, but from what I've seen he can be great."
Perhaps the biggest stumbling block in the immediate path of Marshall and the Dragons is in-form Penrith pivot Jamie Soward, who credits McGregor with presiding over the most enjoyable fortnight of his career.
Soward spent time with McGregor and the Illawarra Cutters last year before his messy split from the Dragons.
Marshall and halves partner Gareth Widdop will be involved in a fascinating battle with Soward and Panthers halfback Peter Wallace when their two sides clash at the foot of the mountains on Saturday night.
Marshall, who, like Soward, has attracted his fair share of scrutiny over the past couple of years, says the Dragons' former pin-up boy deserves all the success that he's enjoying at Penrith.
"He's just a passionate guy who loves playing footy and some people can't handle that," Marshall said. "I think 'good on him'.
"He's probably played almost 10 years now. Most people don't even make five to eight years.
"He wears his heart on his sleeve, he's playing his hardest and he's reaping the rewards now," Marshall said.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/...ong-term-dragons-coach-benji-marshall/?cs=302

Or Maybe

http://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nrl...ches-for-a-coach/story-fn2mcuj6-1226951215241

Benji Marshall backs Tim Sheens reunion as St George Illawarra searches for a coach

THERE is one man who knows how to get the most out of Benji Marshall.

His name is Tim Sheens.

And a reunion could be on the cards with Marshall on Wednesday recommending his former Wests Tigers coach for the top job at St George Illawarra should current caretaker Paul McGregor be overlooked. Sheens, who spent nine years as Marshall’s mentor, is being considered for the role along with Neil Henry, Tony Smith, Trent Barrett, and Wayne Bennett.

In a recommendation that will carry weight with those officials desperate to avoid being left red faced by Marshall’s $1.1 million, 30-month deal, the Kiwi playmaker said Sheens would be able to help resurrect the beleaguered club.

“I think Tim would be great for the club,’’ Marshall said. “Especially with the younger guys. He has the knack of developing the young guys and teaching those fundamentals you need. He would bring that attacking style too which would be great for the club.’’

Marshall also said current caretaker coach McGregor “had what it took’’ to continue next year.

Heading into the fourth match of his NRL return after a failed stint in rugby union, the 2005 premiership winner revealed he turned to YouTube after having doubts about his comeback. He also admitted his good performance against the Sharks meant little given Cronulla’s injury woes.

It gave me some confidence,’’ Marshall said.

“I needed a good game and we needed a win. But I am under no illusions. They had their best 10 players out. I have a long way to go and I am working hard every week. Maybe I was trying too hard to be great straight away.”

Marshall turned back the clock and studied old footage online in a bid to spark his attack.

“I wanted to see what used to work for me,’’ Marshall said. “So I went to YouTube because I really didn’t know how else to find them. There were a couple of things put up by Tigers fans and I had a look. I had a few doubts the first couple of weeks and I thought it would help to look what I was good at.

“And it was simple. I was good at running to the line and committing defenders. I did that on the weekend. I ran to the line and committed defenders and opened up space for others.’’

Marshall biggest rugby league weapon was his speed. His ability to dart through the line created mass defensive confusion. Benji Marshall admitted he has slowed down over the years, forcing him to become a ball player. “I struggled with a toe injury and it held me back with the speed stuff,’’ Marshall said.

“But this year I have gotten a bit quicker but I think you just loss a bit with age. That was my biggest weapon and I have had to change my game to accommodate the things I am lacking. But I still have the pace to get through holes and get away. I am just not as quick as I used to be.’’

Marshall denied being overweight at 91kg and will be looking to play safe as he finds his form. “I am just trying to stop my errors,’’ “I am limiting those (high risk) plays.’’

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...ches-for-a-coach/story-fni3g9a3-1226951215241

I think Sheens will be our next head coach and it certainly seems things are pointing that way.

hazzbeen

I almost dont care if he gets us into the 8 this year. For me, his appointment is symbolic of everything that is wrong with the club. He has no credentials, had an average couple of years coaching park football, and by all reports he went out of his way to undermine Price and come close to stabbing him in the back to get the job. He is where he is due to a relationship with Doust and the board, no other reason.

I can handle him as a caretaker coach because its difficult to find someone to come in mid-season. But giving him the fulltime gig next year would be an insult to the fans.

Benny you are spot on mate . They need someone from outside this club someone that will stand up to Doust Young ......