Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WHo's going to the pre AGM damage control meeting on Monday?

Stuff

Buy a club, lower the overheads, cater to the pissheads and riffraff and take a larger slice of a decreasing pie.
Play out of the SFS get paid to do so.

Where would this pub be? And with what money would it be purchased? Considering at present the debt is more than the value of the land.

Megalodon

Lovin how many people on here are thinking they have better ideas or could have done a better job.... I just love it.....

newman,

I have to say that there aren't too many here who have actually come up with anything that is financially sound, within corporate governance or achievable.

I'd love to be proven wrong and if anyone here has some actual well thought out and financially responsible plans, strategies and initiatives then I'm more than willing to listen.

I'm not talking about plans that are focused on self-interest or other agendas - I'm talking about solid business plans and strategies aimed at getting the Sharks out of their current situation.

In fact, I'll go so far as to say that I'll personally go and present them to the Board on your behalf.

If anyone has anything to contribute other than "We're all pharked!" I'm keen to listen.

fizman

I quite like the concept of selling the asset, pay off as much of the debt as possible and play out of the SFS.

I could live without a Leagues Club if I had the football team to support.

Is it possible to have a football team without the Leagues Club?

I understand that our situation is far more complicated than that, but I would be happy with that model.

With respect RCB, I disagree.

The time for questioning decisions and dicussing options is over. We've had over 40 years to discuss and question.

We are in dire times. We are on the brink of extinction.

We've decided on the option, it's been lodged. It's about to go on public display where it will depend on positive feedback from people that want to see the Sharks survive.

I have no doubt most here are in that category.

If you are in that category, then the nay saying and pointing out of the bleedingly obvious negatives of our club should no longer be in your purview. It's all or nothing time. Time to unite in a common voice for the survival of the Sharks.

Call me fluffy if you want. Tell me I have a vested interest because my mate is the chairman. Call me whatever. I have only one focus. The survival of our club.

well.

i like to question things. im inquisitive by nature. in any case

i agree that a united front is needed. this is the direction. get behind it or thats it.

Yep.

But our foward thinkers are facing the wrong direction.
Global financial uncertainty is getting worse before it (if ever) gets better.

If we're fair dinkum about survival someone needs to get in the driver's seat who. ain't blinded by "But, it's always done this way" thinking.
We are the Cronulla Sharks and therefore must play out of Cronull because we always have.
Yep - keep doing what we've always done because that been proven to be the most successsful model in NRL history.
More of the same please.
Because anything that breeds more of last saturday night is good for supporters.

I touted the pub idea a couple years ago after hearing the Wok lay it on the radio.
Leagues clubs are dead. Anybody who disputes that needs to jump off the bandwagon right here because they will take this club to the grave.

Buy a pub, lower the overheads, cater to the pissheads and riffraff and take a larger slice of a decreasing pie.
Play out of the SFS get paid to do so.

Play in front of 10 000 people at Shark park for little profit? Or play in front of 10 000 people for 100K?

We have the opportunity to create a model that other clubs will follow in the future.

And by the way, declaring you are in the know with the boffins who run this place impresses no-one. Might as well say you've got your own bench at Moore park because the bloke who cleans the shite cans in the public loo lives next door.

And anyone who ain't impressed has an agenda.
Fugg me.

that said i reckon this direction wouldnt have been/ wouldnt be a failure.

always have a contingency

Special K

I really don't see the NRL being keen on us playing out of the SFS. The NRL would prefer to see us risk it to get the biscuit from the shire imo. If we fail it gives them a chance to use the license in a non growth area(ie the expansion bid that doesnt go to the CC or a 2nd Brisbane team).

I'm all for the development. I've just had my heart broken by the sharks so often I refuse to get excited about it...

SadShark

Just some ideas:

Champion a computer software development company to create a playable Rugby League game (preferably an app?). Players have input & act as advisors & game testers in their ample spare time.

Get Shannon Noll to do a duets CD with good artists & coerce him to donate a % of the cut to the Sharks - the team he loves.

Market the team in Dubai. Do training sessions, involve their children & promote fitness, strength & team spirit to this wealthy sector. Propose NRL support & see what interest comes back. Hand out Sharks merchandise & promote the game to them. V8 Supercars did it - crazy I know but hey.........

Market the team in Dubai. Do training sessions, involve their children & promote fitness, strength & team spirit to this wealthy sector. Propose NRL support & see what interest comes back. Hand out Sharks merchandise & promote the game to them. V8 Supercars did it - crazy I know but hey........

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

in any case

we should be looking at all angles, contingencies and avenues.

newman,

I have to say that there aren't too many here who have actually come up with anything that is financially sound, within corporate governance or achievable.

I'd love to be proven wrong and if anyone here has some actual well thought out and financially responsible plans, strategies and initiatives then I'm more than willing to listen.

I'm not talking about plans that are focused on self-interest or other agendas - I'm talking about solid business plans and strategies aimed at getting the Sharks out of their current situation.

In fact, I'll go so far as to say that I'll personally go and present them to the Board on your behalf.

If anyone has anything to contribute other than "We're all pharked!" I'm keen to listen.

Well you keep avoiding my reasoning. If everybody just sat back & really thought about the Problem of Cronulla Sharks footy club, they would see one thing. A small population that basically arent interested. That small population is being eroded year by year because we are now landlocked by a bigger better winning club that is stealing the hearts & minds of people in our very own demographic. The development is not the long term solution to that problem.
Its about market share. The only way to recover lost ground in market share is to block the land lock at Sutherland, Engadine, Heathcoate or wherever & capture new markets. REbuild the core demographic, improve the brand & expand into/build new markets. Think of Superleague on a smaller scale.
I have alwyas been against the sale of our assetts. I am against this because it will be wasted on footballers. Vaganas, Kimmorleys, Andersons et al.
I am not opposing the development. I can see that if it doesn't happen the Sharks are dead.
I am not a financial professional or an expert. I struggle with my own books. So i wont be doing a feasability study for this forum on my proposed plan.
But mark my words if you doubt my passion for the Sharks. If I won 20 mil in lotto this week, I would buy out the debt. I would also buy the chairmanship. & I would put my plan to the members(all members, not just shire residents) & it would win & it would work for the long term.

Reefy, I think your long term strategy has merit but unless you win lotto, we'll never get that far.

The development is the be all and end all for right now. As you say,

Reefy said:
I am not opposing the development. I can see that if it doesn't happen the Sharks are dead.

The development needs your support, whether it is on comments on news sites, in papers, in e-mails to politicians or simply on here. Get behind it mate.

TheOx

Well you keep avoiding my reasoning. If everybody just sat back & really thought about the Problem of Cronulla Sharks footy club, they would see one thing. A small population that basically arent interested.

Except when we're winning. Cronulla seem to have no real problem getting bums on seats when we're winning.

That small population is being eroded year by year because we are now landlocked by a bigger better winning club that is stealing the hearts & minds of people in our very own demographic.

Agreed and it's f@#!n aweful.

The development is not the long term solution to that problem.

Agree

Its about market share. The only way to recover lost ground in market share is to block the land lock at Sutherland, Engadine, Heathcoate or wherever & capture new markets. REbuild the core demographic, improve the brand & expand into/build new markets. Think of Superleague on a smaller scale.

Nearly all of the above achieved by winning and genuinely contesting the eight...every season....and preferably attractively.

I have alwyas been against the sale of our assetts. I am against this because it will be wasted on footballers. Vaganas, Kimmorleys, Andersons et al.

Agreed.

Clearly.

I am not a financial professional or an expert. I struggle with my own books. So i wont be doing a feasability study for this forum on my proposed plan.
But mark my words if you doubt my passion for the Sharks. If I won 20 mil in lotto this week, I would buy out the debt. I would also buy the chairmanship. & I would put my plan to the members(all members, not just shire residents) & it would win & it would work for the long term.

Whatever doubts there are about you Reefy...passion certainly isn't one of them.

Ausguy

IM behind it as im sure all sharks fans are.....

I do my bit to defend us everytime we are smacked about...

Thing is i am concerned it wont be enough...

time will tell.

Megalodon

Well you keep avoiding my reasoning. If everybody just sat back & really thought about the Problem of Cronulla Sharks footy club, they would see one thing. A small population that basically arent interested. That small population is being eroded year by year because we are now landlocked by a bigger better winning club that is stealing the hearts & minds of people in our very own demographic. The development is not the long term solution to that problem.

So to summarise, your idea of a sound financial plan is that we sponsor you to buy lots of lotto tickets? Should one of these win, you'll fix our debt situation with a cash injection on the condition that you have stewardship of the Club.

Within your "plan" you intend to level the whole of the Sharks's land holdings and develop them with scant disregard for the Sharks Membership or the Sutherland Shire community's wishes and then relocate the Sharks to the SFS, explore new markets by investing huge amounts of capital in marketing and engagement programs.

... and you accuse other's of "fluffiness?" Sheeeesh!

No, the Development is NOT the sole solution to the Sharks challenges. However, it is a big part of putting it into a position where it has an opportunity to seek new business revenues.

Isn't it obvious to you that every bit of "profit" we currently make goes directly to service our debt and that none of those funds are available for the Club to invest or re-invest.

Keep in mind that the "assets" you talk about that we currently own are not really our's. They have been loaned against by previous Boards and the Bank has greater equity in the Sharks tangible assets than anyone else.

The ONLY way forward is to release ourselves from the stranglehold of the Bank and to try to claw our way back through sound financial management and diligence to a position where we have a chance to build from the ground up.

taipan

well i wouldnt be crying with $8m in the bank

they will be laughing because no club within 10 km of them will be able to afford the integration required to format pre-committment, therfore decreased revenue will be propped up by extra revenue

i agree on incresaing and providing new revenue streams, but to suggest (and you didnt answer) that new streams will 'bump pokie revenue down the order', then they will be repaing tens of millions to do that on alternate streams

lol - im sure macaleer could benefit from your advice, he turned that club from a shit heap into a mutli million dollar profitable business

and yes, difference being macaleer is a licensed club ceo - doust is a football ceo

danny robinson isnt veering away from pokie revenue either and i would be surprised if doust is not supporting his every strategy

they said no-smoking would kill the pokie industry - its bigger than before it was introduced

two things will always reap - alcohol and gambling, no matter what regualtions are implemented, who'd of thought they would put machines outside...

Then why are Tradies involved with other clubs in having the idea repealed,if they are laughing.

He won''t need anyone's advice if he gets screwed on poker machine limits.He turned the club around because of poker machines .

Because I simply stated the additonal blowout covers the revenue stream loss.Thought that was obvious.
Well the smoking industry is just about stuffed and good riddance,and if you think the possible regulations are not going to hurt the clubs you are kidding.
Gambling of another kind will come in,and it wont be in the clubs or pubs.

TheOx

Point taken Ausguy...I'll try again

Well you keep avoiding my reasoning. If everybody just sat back & really thought about the Problem of Cronulla Sharks footy club, they would see one thing. A small population that basically arent interested.

Except when we're winning. Cronulla seem to have no real problem getting bums on seats when we're winning.

That small population is being eroded year by year because we are now landlocked by a bigger better winning club that is stealing the hearts & minds of people in our very own demographic.

Agreed and it's f@#!n aweful.

The development is not the long term solution to that problem.

Agree

Nearly all of the above achieved by winning and genuinely contesting the eight...every season....and preferably attractively.

Agreed.

Clearly.

Whatever doubts there are about you Reefy...passion certainly isn't one of them.

So to summarise, your idea of a sound financial plan is that we sponsor you to buy lots of lotto tickets? Should one of these win, you'll fix our debt situation with a cash injection on the condition that you have stewardship of the Club.
Russel Crowe only had to come up with 3.5mil to buy the rabbits. A far superior brand. If somebody took over the debt, 2 things could happen. 1. The sharks service it, no probs. 2. Sharks dont service it. I own it. I like that idea. It makes me the chairman. Chairman of my own board. I would very much like to own that land for 13.5 million. Your new members seats will be undercovered seating in section c, row K seats 645-650. SFS. Your seats will be cheaper but we will make more money out of you. Win/Win. next time you drive down eyesore drive at woolaware through the gridlock, & see the 2000 recently built units & retail centre occupying the old Sharks site, that just paid for teams premiership victory, you will say to yourself "WTF were we ever thinking putting a ground & team here"

Within your "plan" you intend to level the whole of the Sharks's land holdings and develop them with scant disregard for the Sharks Membership or the Sutherland Shire community's wishes and then relocate the Sharks to the SFS, explore new markets
Yes Holdsworthy to liverpool should be & could be the Sharks
by investing huge amounts of capital in marketing and engagement programs.
huge compared to what? The appollo missions? or my crack habit?

.. and you accuse other's of "fluffiness?" Sheeeesh!
Do i?
No, the Development is NOT the sole solution to the Sharks challenges. However, it is a big part of putting it into a position where it has an opportunity to seek new business revenues.
Big expensive seeking?
Isn't it obvious to you that every bit of "profit" we currently make goes directly to service our debt and that none of those funds are available for the Club to invest or re-invest.
That is not the problem.
Keep in mind that the "assets" you talk about that we currently own are not really our's. They have been loaned against by previous Boards and the Bank has greater equity in the Sharks tangible assets than anyone else.
you dont know what you are talking about there.
lets face it, 13.5 million cant buy you a house in Mosman. its nothing. But 13 million can buy you a 2000 unit developments site 1 km from the ocean. f**k me I wish i had the money!!! I would buy the debt & forclose within days!!
The ONLY way forward is to release ourselves from the stranglehold of the Bank and to try to claw our way back through sound financial management and diligence to a position where we have a chance to build from the ground up.
Drip drip drip

You still avoid the issue of location.
Just slow down & think for a second. Why do you think it is, we have never prospered as a club in 40 years? Its location. its a dog. will always be a dog, no matter what coat it is wearing. Worst thing to ever happen for the Sharks was to include the name Cronulla & to leave Sutherland.
I couldnt give a f**k what Shire people want. I only care what the members want. Right now the club is pandering to shire members only, as absentee voting or proxy voting is not allowed. I would say there are many non local members & many local members who see the sanity in getting the f**k out of woolaware.