Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WHo's going to the pre AGM damage control meeting on Monday?

Megalodon

Reefy,

Getting late and I'm a tad weary so I'll respond to the other stuff at some stage tomorrow. However, the following comment...

I couldnt give a f**k what Shire people want. I only care what the members want. Right now the club is pandering to shire members only, as absentee voting or proxy voting is not allowed. I would say there are many non local members & many local members who see the sanity in getting the f**k out of woolaware.

Firstly, if you don't cater to the needs of the Shire you're not going to survive. I'll explain...

It's ridiculous to say "I couldnt give a f**k what Shire people want." because you HAVE TO CARE what they want because without their say-so you can't do anything.

We're not talking about assets owned by the Football Club here which has it's Membership spread far and wide. The land in question is owned by the LEAGUES CLUB. We're talking about assets owned by a Leagues Club membership that is hugely weighted towards Shire folk. You piss off the Shire membership of the Sharks and you're dead in the water. Period.

You will be happy to know however that Sharks Chairman, Damian Irvine, did say at the meeting the other night that once this immediate pressure was settled, one of the desired focuses of the Board was to look at the Club's constitution and see whether there were ways to try to try restructure the constitution of the Club to be more responsive to the needs of the Club's business and membership.

I agree that would be an awesome outcome but you've got to admit that there are far greater priorities they face than that.

spider

Oh poor poppet, I gave you a response to your trolling question. I'll re-post it again for your benefit and edification:
that was a piss-take yeah?

here is your answer (which you reposted yourself)..

Megaldon said:
however I see that we really have no choice about the matter so there isn't a lot to be discussed or debated.
your answer is not to discuss it but you turn around and ask me my own question after that poor repsonse - come on, im all for a bit of banter and jostling, but that is really poor

im gobsmacked

So in your mind, being an active Member of the Club, going to the meetings, voicing concerns and asking questions through appropriate channels is a bad thing?
i challenge you to point out where i said that?

spider

Spider, I am not convinced, perhaps we should have a beer and discuss it, but my perception is that you are bitter about something and you're running an agenda.
your perception is off Macca

im sweet and all for the beer, sounds like a plan

spider

Then why are Tradies involved with other clubs in having the idea repealed,if they are laughing.
its an expression - been a terrible day to use them...

i know all clubs are against it, but im saying if it was introduced, the tradies would not die as a result

He won''t need anyone's advice if he gets screwed on poker machine limits.He turned the club around because of poker machines .
he just got approval to increase his entitlements to fill the massive extension he is building - dont forget the entitlements he has down the road either whereby he doesnt forfeit 1 in 3 due to proximity

if you think the possible regulations are not going to hurt the clubs you are kidding.
i never said they wouldnt, i believe the big clubs would survive at the peril of the others
Gambling of another kind will come in,and it wont be in the clubs or pubs.
if your suggesting black market then that is the very place that will boom selling counterfeit pre-committment cards if big red is silly enough to introduce it

taipan

its an expression - been a terrible day to use them...

i know all clubs are against it, but im saying if it was introduced, the tradies would not die as a result

he just got approval to increase his entitlements to fill the massive extension he is building - dont forget the entitlements he has down the road either whereby he doesnt forfeit 1 in 3 due to proximity

i never said they wouldnt, i believe the big clubs would survive at the peril of the others

if your suggesting black market then that is the very place that will boom selling counterfeit pre-committment cards if big red is silly enough to introduce it

I didn't suggest tradies would die,but they would have to pull their horns in regardless of having money in the bank,and perhaps cut back on staff and other activities.
Strange the St George head honco not exactly a small club,has stated quite openly he would have to shut the doors.
No I am not suggesting back market.On line betting for starters .
Of course if Red Sonja introduces it,there will be ways and means around it.
BTW I have attended every flipping meeting this year re the development,listened to the pros and con ,seen the layout,design of the shebang.Unless someone can offer a better alternative(which Peter Gow agrees with BTW)I am all ears.
But all I see and hear are knockers unable to offer any kind of alternative solution.I sure as hell can't.
The football club will survive thanks to grants re Tv contracts.The emphasis has to be on getting the 3A home and hosed.

The Popper

BTW I have attended every flipping meeting this year re the development,listened to the pros and con ,seen the layout,design of the shebang.Unless someone can offer a better alternative(which Peter Gow agrees with BTW)I am all ears.
But all I see and hear are knockers unable to offer any kind of alternative solution.I sure as hell can't.
The football club will survive thanks to grants re Tv contracts.The emphasis has to be on getting the 3A home and hosed.

Ditto.

:clap:

your perception is off Macca

im sweet and all for the beer, sounds like a plan

I'll text ya when I get back from Queensland.

In the meantime. Try to be more positive mate.

I love the Dubai idea, although it would probably cost the same amount in promotion (inittially) to get it off the ground.

Just a quick idea...

Offer life membership for punters who live outside of Sydney Metro for an amount like 5k that can be paid off. If you get 200 people thats 1 mill. There are plenty of people (like me) that would do it to try and help save the Sharks in the short term, I only attend 2 or 3 games a year so the benifets would outweigh they cost of forever having a seat at Shark park.

Vin Fizz

I think everyone has summed up the problem pretty well. However BTR has used a critical word ”Brand”. I am not sure we have one. What we do have is a small very passionate group of die hard members, and a small geographical fan base that despite history have supported the club and kept it alive to some degree. Agree it is being eroded. The only tangible assets of value to someone else at the moment is the land. So we flog it to reduce debt to survive. Now we will have to carve out a new asset that is self perpetuating. I think that is what Reefy is getting at (well all of us I guess) and it makes complete sense.
In the recent past we have tried to relocate games to generate new support and get a few “money for jam” dollars. I get that, great move. But we need something cleverer than that though. We need a brand that is portable yet draws on the clubs geographical heart. We have plenty of people on this forum with business and smart ideas and (unless I am mistaken), the ear of a heavy hitter at the club (Megaladon). The Storm this year have associated themselves with utter professionalism and from my understanding local corporate Vic are hopping on board. Cowboys draw on their frontier location, Brisbane think they are QLD SOO, Manly love that they are hated. Apple = innovation, Qantas = saftey. So what do Sharks stand for? Dare I say it should we change the name? Time to get creative!

Shit I need coffee!!!!

Ram Dass

For what it is worth,

Reefy likes to throw random ideas and beliefs without being able to come up with tangible, effective solutions.

He never, ever likes to think along with popular opinion on this forum.

Take no notice of him.

Sell the assets, get the cash, wipe the debt and start again.

The whole involvement under the Barry Pierce regime was and still is an unmitigated disaster.

That fat, selfish old taker merrily tried to kill our club.
He is the real culprit in all of this. Lets not forget his other directors who knew the club was on its knees and kept their bountiful bar tabs running.

I have not met Irvine personally but by crikey he has tried his guts out to save the club.

No money for his efforts.
No praise for his efforts.
Nothing but a true passion to save the club.

Hang your head in shame the Pierce family.

Dare I say it should we change the name? Time to get creative!

Coastal Sharks ? Start playing games on the North Coast, Port Macquarie, Coffs Harbour, Grafton, Ballina, Lismore. I know Coffs has quite a nice ground.

Move the Titans & Cows games up there, and maybe the Warriors.

For what it is worth,

Reefy likes to throw random ideas and beliefs without being able to come up with tangible, effective solutions.

He never, ever likes to think along with popular opinion on this forum.

Take no notice of him.

Sell the assets, get the cash, wipe the debt and start again.

The whole involvement under the Barry Pierce regime was and still is an unmitigated disaster.

That fat, selfish old taker merrily tried to kill our club.
He is the real culprit in all of this. Lets not forget his other directors who knew the club was on its knees and kept their bountiful bar tabs running.

I have not met Irvine personally but by crikey he has tried his guts out to save the club.

No money for his efforts.
No praise for his efforts.
Nothing but a true passion to save the club.

Hang your head in shame the Pierce family.

Think what you like about Reef, but he has passion and despite your claims does try and offer ideas. Whether they are think tank, brain storming off the cuff attempts or not is largely irrelevant.

It's also interesting to note that your "tangible" idea is so well thought out.

Sell the assets, wipe the slate clean and start again.

Touche. Thanks scoop.

For those that were there last Saturday you will appreciate why the joint at Woolooware is on life support. I hate the thought of moving from Shark Park... but it has merit. The dilemma is, have we over committed in recent times to that ground and can we let that go?

spider

I didn't suggest tradies would die,but they would have to pull their horns in regardless of having money in the bank,and perhaps cut back on staff and other activities.
i didnt say you did - we are on the same page here

can you point out where i have not backed the development?

iv'e been an advocate

people discuss the teams poor performance each week, they discuss pommeroy's selection in the side, they question gardner being dropped, question tatau's selection, they even question the coach etc, etc etc - it doesnt mean they want the team gone, they are trolling or arn't supporters if cant they cant attend games

some people get quite emotional over it all, yet i leave out the insults and discuss the topic at hand and some think i am against the development

i think the team has played crap recently so the same train of thought see's me wanting them gone as well

iv'e met quite a lot of people from this forum - and im as passionate of the team as each of them are

its no different discussing and questioning the financial perforamnce of the club - look at the discussion and passion its generated in this thread alone.

the coaching staff dont look to next week without analysing past performance, its no different to the business outlook

the club has selected the path of the development - at this point in the club(s) time, its the most viable option from their efforts and research, to which i advocate

as gregos stated - its neccessary to ensure ongoing survival - who wouldnt support it

jimmee007

guys, as a rugby league follower this interests me about the future of the sharks. What I want to know is if the development doesnt get the green light. What is plan B?

spider

Has to be sell all thing leagues club to ensure the team plays on

Thats not a mandate, only my opinion

jimmee007

Is relocation a possibilty after selling all assets? I assume sharks supporters would support say the perth sharks or central QLD sharks before losing there team forever

Ram Dass

Think what you like about Reef, but he has passion and despite your claims does try and offer ideas. Whether they are think tank, brain storming off the cuff attempts or not is largely irrelevant.

It's also interesting to note that your "tangible" idea is so well thought out.

Sell the assets, wipe the slate clean and start again.

Touche. Thanks scoop.

For those that were there last Saturday you will appreciate why the joint at Woolooware is on life support. I hate the thought of moving from Shark Park... but it has merit. The dilemma is, have we over committed in recent times to that ground and can we let that go?

Where in my statement does it mention that BTR does not have passion??
He has passion and ego in truckloads.
Therein lies not the problem.

The problem is his constant need to rub "against the grain."
It is infantile.

I do not understand you cynicism towards the obvious.
Perhaps your misguided logic is either out of
a)your loyalty towards a mate, in which case..fine.
b)your anger towards me for pointing out the moronic thief who steered the club into this position. In which case I take massive issue towards. Are you a previous board member?