Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WHo's going to the pre AGM damage control meeting on Monday?

dosnt seem to be an idea that the board has entertained.
This part also has me concerned. The board does not have a mandate on this despite leaking information to the contrary.
They were not voted in to keep teh Sharks in the Shire. They were voted in to save the Sharks in whatever way possible. That includes looking at all options. Has a serious relocation assessment been done or just automatically discarded?
Does anybody know what the value of the land is to a developer who wont have to work around a stadium or relic of a club? As i was unable to attend the meetings i do not know if these questions were asked. I would have. But i see no reports available anywhere on the feasability of relocation & total development of the area either in partnership or outright.

Stuff

From memory the current chairman stated in the election blurb prior to the last elections that his aim was to keep the sharks where they are. Or something to that effect. Can anyone else remember?

newman

He sure did stuff. That was his election platform.

Relocation (mainly to gosford) was discussed at length by the previous board and semi approved. The current board see it as too unpopular, particularly now there is no cash reward on offer from the NRL.

This board explored the idea of leveling the entire stadium and club, and redeveloping the entire site to brand new, and moving to the sfs in the meantime (5-7 years). It was discarded in favour of the current model. I guess 7 years in the wilderness was seen as too long. Selling the car park land to cost-co for their new store was also explored and rejected.

Reefy, the club will be brown bread if the part 3a is not approved. Gone.

Get on board or stay as part of the problem.

Spider, I am not convinced, perhaps we should have a beer and discuss it, but my perception is that you are bitter about something and you're running an agenda.

Newman, keep it up bro, you're doing a great job and you should be trusted as a great source of info as you have been thorough in the search for facts unlike some.

The time for Sharks to unite is now. Get onboard of f**k off.

he did stand on the stay in the shire platform.

in any case, march seems to be the planning approval/not approval decision time.

so....yep.

in regards to get onboard...im sure we all support whatever keeps the club alive longer. however theres no harm in questioning the decisions made and discussing all options available etc.
times are desperate here.
given that we are heading into the down period that is October-March..with no games...what is the club doing to keep things ticking over in the mean time?

another wall of support drive? can i renew mine? is the club still doing it?

etc

im directing this at the inner tubers.whats the offseason gameplan?

This board explored the idea of leveling the entire stadium and club, and redeveloping the entire site to brand new, and moving to the sfs in the meantime (5-7 years).

That was not what I asked. I asked if the club looked at redeveloping the entire site to new. Sans stadium, sans club.
From what I have heard, it was not considered because anything that included the Sharks moving from Woolaware was automatically discarded.

So, in my opinion, any quite a few others opinions, not all options were explored. If they were, i would love to see the summary of figures on what price the land as a total unoccupied allotment would yield & what its developed potential would yield.

There is not one person I speak to, except for a select group on here, who , think woolaware is a good spot for a league stadium. In fact, if Sydney was a blank canvas & you had to build 20 stadiums, Woolaware would be up there with Bundeena as 2 highest ranked places where you wouldnt build.

AS for the get on or get f**ked line, well, it wont matter what i think. Nobody forwarded a motion to allow proxy votes at last meeting so articles have not changed, which means i cant vote anyway. If I could, I would vote for the least worst option. Which in this case is selling of the majority of the development for next to little, then getting drip fed a pittance, until we eventually die anyway , because we are now assetless.

The club stays where it is, then we are dead. the development is just delaying the inevitable.
The founding fathers PHarrked up big time by choosing woolaware. The current fathers are following in their footsteps.

Ausguy

Agree reefy. In it's current state we will become the laughing stock in 5 years. There will be a development that still didn't save us.

It's like delaying going to the dentist with a black tooth. It's gonna come out eventually.

I'm happy to die now if that's the case.

And im serious.

With respect RCB, I disagree.

The time for questioning decisions and dicussing options is over. We've had over 40 years to discuss and question.

We are in dire times. We are on the brink of extinction.

We've decided on the option, it's been lodged. It's about to go on public display where it will depend on positive feedback from people that want to see the Sharks survive.

I have no doubt most here are in that category.

If you are in that category, then the nay saying and pointing out of the bleedingly obvious negatives of our club should no longer be in your purview. It's all or nothing time. Time to unite in a common voice for the survival of the Sharks.

Call me fluffy if you want. Tell me I have a vested interest because my mate is the chairman. Call me whatever. I have only one focus. The survival of our club.

Ausguy

To be honest I'm quite dirty on the whole situation and reckon this was the plan from the start.

It was a chance of a NO vote if we knew the truth. Not to mention much more push back from the members at both info nights and the vote.

Conspiracy? Maybe.

To be honest I'm quite dirty on the whole situation and reckon this was the plan from the start.

It was a chance of a NO vote if we knew the truth. Not to mention much more push back from the members at both info nights and the vote.

Conspiracy? Maybe.

Absolute rubbish. Were you at the info night on monday? The truth has been given. Right from the horses mouth, continually. Choosing not to listen to it doesn't make it a conspiracy.

Megalodon

Amusing when someone defines himself as a "realist" but then puts forward a pretty outlandish conspiracy theory.

I think the word "realist" is being confused here with the word "pessimist"

Nothing ever worthwhile is ever accomplished with statements like "I can't" or "I won't"

Ausguy

Absolute rubbish. Were you at the info night on monday? The truth has been given. Right from the horses mouth, continually. Choosing not to listen to it doesn't make it a conspiracy.

The truth has changed considerably.

The changes in my opinion won't save the club.

Just slow the bleeding.

Ausguy

Selective quoting. Nice.

One of us is right.

I hope it's you.

Make another forum comeback in 5 years and we will see

Since 73

We go to SFS for a decade & invest wisely.
Set up a deal with Tradies or something in Sutho.
Yep.

But our foward thinkers are facing the wrong direction.
Global financial uncertainty is getting worse before it (if ever) gets better.

If we're fair dinkum about survival someone needs to get in the driver's seat who. ain't blinded by "But, it's always done this way" thinking.
We are the Cronulla Sharks and therefore must play out of Cronull because we always have.
Yep - keep doing what we've always done because that been proven to be the most successsful model in NRL history.
More of the same please.
Because anything that breeds more of last saturday night is good for supporters.

I touted the pub idea a couple years ago after hearing the Wok lay it on the radio.
Leagues clubs are dead. Anybody who disputes that needs to jump off the bandwagon right here because they will take this club to the grave.

Buy a pub, lower the overheads, cater to the pissheads and riffraff and take a larger slice of a decreasing pie.
Play out of the SFS get paid to do so.

Play in front of 10 000 people at Shark park for little profit? Or play in front of 10 000 people for 100K?

We have the opportunity to create a model that other clubs will follow in the future.

And by the way, declaring you are in the know with the boffins who run this place impresses no-one. Might as well say you've got your own bench at Moore park because the bloke who cleans the shite cans in the public loo lives next door.

And anyone who ain't impressed has an agenda.
Fugg me.

Newman, keep it up bro, you're doing a great job and you should be trusted as a great source of info as you have been thorough in the search for facts unlike some.

Get onboard of f**k off.
I dreamt that post, right?

Nobody really speaks like that outside of Vin Diesel.

Surely.

newman

Lovin how many people on here are thinking they have better ideas or could have done a better job.... I just love it.....