Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WHo's going to the pre AGM damage control meeting on Monday?

Ads

What makes you say that?

Less profit for them i would figure. I cant see 700 units being built but i cant see alot less than that at the same time. The more they make the more cash they make so unless they plan on settling for 314 units and shafting us thats the way i see it going.

newman

I dont want to sound like a dick, but absolutely unfounded and uninformed comments are not helpful. They spread misinformation, feed the opposers and the haters and create unease with supporters.

For the record. Ben Fairfax, who is in charge of Bluestone and project managed the Rhodes development said that the figure of 700 units is not an ambit claim and was based on modelling and restrictions under the part 3a, and he is confident that will be approved.

Ads

Fair enough, I am not meaning to spread any misinformation and should have put a big IMO on the first post. I hope Fairfax is on the money.

The Popper

Bottom Line - we have to support the Board with all we have on this. They're doing their utmost to overcome years of bad financial management that have put us in this position. If we succeed, we could be in a financial position to be envied by most clubs. Should we fail...............well you know the consequences.

SharkShocked

When are we likely to get a decision on whether or not the 3A application is approved?

Someone mentioned November is that the time frame we are looking at?

taipan

one would think it will balloon based on recent revenue, possibly to a point where they may not get it all back

they want there money which is long over due = fly in the oitment...

another lender would not be so naive to not implement strict convenants in lieu of recent public financial history

one of the onerous conditions in the report is that the club is now forced to sell all entitlements not being exercised - ol' mate up the road just keeps rubbing his hands together so much so, now he offers free yum cha to patrons after 11pm

if you compare annual reports from 5 years ago, there was a $30m net gaming revenue pool between tradies and sharks. the break-up was tradies $16m and sharks $14m. recent 12 months trade now show tradies - excess of $20m and sharks $9m

annual reports show the clubs net revenue drops around 10% per year while ol' mate increases, as is the club industry. majority of the industry has recovered post july 07 and continue to experience growth

the revenue stream that seemingly is about 80 - 90% of total revenue should be prioritised

i agree on this being the only way out and it has to happen, but i cant see any current positives that provide light at tunnels end - we still have another trading year on these accounts - have we fallen further behind the debt repayments in this 12 months - is this the reason the bank are saying the debt will blow out to $13.5m?

watching the team get dusted by the cellar dwellars (with such statistics) reflecting on people through the gate makes it hard to see robin hood riding up and over peachey hill sometime soon

They have stated it will blow out hence the $13.5m figure.Yep the meeting noted as did the pamphlet that the club was in contravention of its Banking requirements.If the bank wanted to they could call in the lot and have a fire sale.
the fact the club honchos and the developers in talks with the bank,appeard to set the bank at ease.
Yep currently Tradie and others are doing OK.Should the poker machine restrictions come in,it will be a different scenario,
The reason the club is going down this development path,it sees itself a community asset and poker machines will be well down the pecking order,for monetary reliance.
Your last par,could not agree more.Bums on seats is what the club needs now.
On the matter of another lender.If the 3A received the go ahead ,the retail section would be first cab off the rank,and I can't see the need for the club refurbishment until the retail section was near to or complete,by which time the club's financial positioned would be further strengthened,as they would be entitled to sell the retail development and secure profits therewith.
If they don't get the 3a through it's all hypothetical anyway.

jc155776

We get the 3a, we survive.

From the very start the development under the current board was never going to be a grand saviour meaning we would have millions to spend.

It was however going to be enough to keep us alive long term and short.

Sure we might not be as well off giving up the first 300 units, BUT it means survival and stability.

Stability means the club can plan better, recruit better etc to increase on field success.

The big thing now is as supporters to drown out the vocal minority who want the Development and the Sharks to fail.

Every person on this forum does not want to see the Sharks die.

Also Reefy, I would think that if the Development goes ahead then playing a season or two at the SFS wouldn't be out of the question you would think while work is finished.

The Government wont deny the 3A. 700 units means more housing for people, something desperately needed. Why are people concerned about price drops in surrounding areas? Why should prices be kept artificially high and people priced out because Mr and Mrs Dumbshit see their home as an investment and not a roof to live under.

azzah72

Di on talkin sport at 545pm today as a fyi

Not alot was said but some snippets. I was half listening

-Bank is not Foreclosing, relationship is very good, all rumours.
-No player unrest, disappointment in recent results but not unrest.
-if the development doesn't go through it will be very hard for the "leagues" club to survive, they own the debt, the football club would still survive. Problem is the leagues club owns the ground which would then be owned by the banks, not sure what would happen there but said the cronulla sharks would survive no matter what as a football club.
-very confident of the development going through.

bout all i can remember atm.

Ausguy

Not alot was said but some snippets. I was half listening

-Bank is not Foreclosing, relationship is very good, all rumours.
-No player unrest, disappointment in recent results but not unrest.
-if the development doesn't go through it will be very hard for the "leagues" club to survive, they own the debt, the football club would still survive. Problem is the leagues club owns the ground which would then be owned by the banks, not sure what would happen there but said the cronulla sharks would survive no matter what as a football club.
-very confident of the development going through.

bout all i can remember atm.

Wow... both of the bold statements are total BS if you ask me... how can the footy team survive without the leagues club... geez what a stupid thing to say.

azzah72

he said more about it aus, it kinda made sense, i just can't quite remember what he said.

apparently the footyclub is making small profits this year and more again next year.

The leagues club hasn't given financial assistance to the footy club for ages.

roboshark

said that the leagues club owns the ground and the debt..if development doesnt go through then obviously bank will own the ground, and what happens there is anyones guess. Said the football club could survive without the leagues club, but it would be very difficult
as az said he was confident that dev would go through and said that the talk of bank foreclousre was wrong.also mentioned that working with state transit and gov to improve public transport to area.

said had good relationship with bank and that football club would be out of red soon possibly...he also mentioned about March being a key date from memory

Ronnie Dobbs

said that the leagues club owns the ground and the debt..if development doesnt go through then obviously bank will own the ground, and what happens there is anyones guess. Said the football club could survive without the leagues club, but it would be very difficult
as az said he was confident that dev would go through and said that the talk of bank foreclousre was wrong.also mentioned that working with state transit and gov to improve public transport to area.

said had good relationship with bank and that football club would be out of red soon possibly...he also mentioned about March being a key date from memory

OK. So if it falls through the football club could survive. But the bank would own the ground. Being the bank are not into asset managemnet, they would hold a fire sale or look to develop it themselves in some other way, so the ground would be gone.

Hence, the football club would survive but it would be homeless and no longer Cronulla?

Ausguy

Yeah azz I understand there was more to it. But it smacks of a guy saying what he wants us to hear