Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WHo's going to the pre AGM damage control meeting on Monday?

taipan

Look at it another way,the beached whale is on the sand being tended by concerned citizens.if they can only get the bugger out to sea,all will be OK.
We are lying on the sand ATM for another 6-7months .the 3A agreement is the final push into the ocean.
We just have to get sand kicked in our faces til early next year,and cop the usual bagging.
I intend when the time is appropriate to write to the council and the govt dept,just to show there are people out there who want this to go ahead,and George (vanishing man) Capsis is not the view of the silent majority.The more positive submissions these bodies get,the better.One day wouldn't mind a unit there,and not worry about parking at the game.
I can see more grey hairs appear and more furrows in my brows in the meantime.

Geez after all this crap,we deserve to win a premiership,before I cark it.

spider

Yep currently Tradie and others are doing OK.Should the poker machine restrictions come in,it will be a different scenario,
bit more than 'doing ok' - the club has almost $10m in cash at bank and since renovating the entire interior again all that is left to do is gold plate the stools

they have achieved growth to the point they are trading above pre July 07 figures when smoking was prohibited

pre-committment wont come in, if it does it will be a watered dow version whereby the punter will have the choice to enter the scheme voluntarily as opposed to the federal govt jamming it down peoples throats becasue one independant used it as leverage

The reason the club is going down this development path,it sees itself a community asset and poker machines will be well down the pecking order,for monetary reliance.

they took $9m net revenue from poker machines last year - what do you suggest will bump this revenue stream 'well down the pecking order'?

spider

The leagues club hasn't given financial assistance to the footy club for ages.

why do you think that?

because there is no figure inserted against grant?

snippet from the financial report -

(q) Going Concern (continued)

The Leagues Club has provided the Football Club a letter of support indicating, subject to the Restructured Finance Facility which
requires Bank approval for distributions to the Football Club from the Leagues Club in excess of the budgeted $2.35m, that it will
continue to provide financial support to the Football Club to enable it to continue as a Going Concern, for at least twelve months
from the date of signing of this Financial Report. The letter of support also indicates the Leagues Club will not call the $3,827,546
loan payable by the Football Club, referred to in Notes 10 and 14, at least for a period not less than twelve months from the date of

this financial report.

Why are you campaigning against this Spider?

I am all for calling a spade a spade but you appear to have a vested interest.

Lucky Roy

Wow... both of the bold statements are total BS if you ask me... how can the footy team survive without the leagues club... geez what a stupid thing to say.

Will be incredibly hard for Cronulla, but Souths haven't had any Leagues club money for yonks. Mind you, they have had to go the private ownership route but their financial success, so far, is built on an iconic brand and an inner city location. Cronulla is not really in either situation, no matter how you slice it. At any rate, the good old days of leagues clubs being buckets of money are probably gone forever. And I don't count News Ltd clubs without LCs as being comparable, ie Melbourne and Gold Coast.

Cronulla's best (only?) chance is to get the approval through and somehow retain a good share of ownership, because selling will only be using your final bandaid. I'm not sure how ownership of the project happens given the current loan situation but for all your sakes, thats what has to happen. The next best thing will be Adelaide or Perth because, in my opinion, the Bears are the only option for the Central Coast.

Anyway, good luck with it all because something has to happen and happen soon. But you know all of that.

spider

im discussing facts macca, far from campaigning against, and more than likely why there is no rebuttal to the point

i dont apologise if my view is perceived as dim as opposed to a fluffy take on this and wont prep myself until we actually hear 'its approved'

i would support relocation to 'anywhere' be it sydney, coast or wherever, if it meant the BWB still played each week as opposed to not playing at all, so hoepfully that clears up my campaign view - i just want survival

in saying that, the thing that worries me is the onerous conditions placed upon the club - they are extremely easy to break and if the institution wishes to call, then its over in a heart beat - there is no fluffy take on that

the report stated there were creditors (other than the bank) outside due - what if they feel nervous and start putting pressure on

for some it may be hard to comprehend how onerous and dangerous that 'war & peace' section on the club as a going concern really is, in all truth it worries the shit out of me when you cross it with C / NC liabilities, who the payables maybe and the amount that is current when looking at the cash flow activity

Rexxy

And yet you dont question the impartiality of the drunk and the giddy. The cognoscenti Illuminati of the inner tube who refer to the Domed One as .... "Damo"

Rexxy

They showed artists projections on how it would look. It didn't look too bad. I believe it's the developers intentions to make the place as attractive as possible.

well that will help sell it to the public. Because goodwill to the footy team wont.

Good urban design principles, sustainability, medium density housing and environment guardianship are of interest to everyone who lives in the Shire.

is that OK with you Coolum?

spider

one would think an hour is a close time frame

also depends if they open the floor for general questions during general business

questions regarding the accounts cant be asked unless forwarded to the club prior to the AGM

Megalodon

one would think an hour is a close time frame

also depends if they open the floor for general questions during general business

questions regarding the accounts cant be asked unless forwarded to the club prior to the AGM

Clearly you've got a whole host of questions and concerns about the financial situation of the Club.

Have you sent in a request for clarification of any of those financial issues to the Sharks CFO?

Is it your intention to voice your concerns and questions at the appropriate time at the AGM?

And, if so, have you submitted your intention to ask those questions publicly at the AGM to the Club?

well that will help sell it to the public. Because goodwill to the footy team wont.

Good urban design principles, sustainability, medium density housing and environment guardianship are of interest to everyone who lives in the Shire.

is that OK with you Coolum?

Get the f**k out you pompous wanker :lol: Did you close your eyes when you typed that out NIMBY?

spider

Clearly you've got a whole host of questions and concerns about the financial situation of the Club.
concerns yes - sepcifically on the new covenants

questions no - i understand the statements

Have you sent in a request for clarification of any of those financial issues to the Sharks CFO?

Is it your intention to voice your concerns and questions at the appropriate time at the AGM?

And, if so, have you submitted your intention to ask those questions publicly at the AGM to the Club?
i dont require clarification, as i said, i understand the statements and accompanying notes to the accounts

tell me megalodon, what is your view on the newly imposed covenants, and how do you feel they will adversely affect the on-going strategic direction of both businesses in the short and long term?