Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why didn't we "deserve" to win?

oldmancraigy

What's up with all this "we didn't deserve to win" talk?

Why not?

We scored 4 tries, they scored 4, we played poorly in the first half, they played poorly in the second.
We gave away dumb penalties, they gave away dumb penalties.
We dropped the ball 13 times to 10, but we took a few more chances
Our defence was probably better overall (only being down 14 after being stuck in our own half for the first 42 minutes).

Oh that's right, we scored a try from a forward pass - therefore we "didn't deserve to win"

Just hang on one second - I'll grant that the pass was AT LEAST 4m forward (possibly 5?) - however, Manly had been shredded, and the only way that try was NOT going to happen was if someone made a stupid mistake (take a bow K Keating, yet again). The ref didn't call that one, and we got a try.
However, the try did NOT result directly from a refereeing mistake. The try resulted from a combination of our good attack, and their inability to close the game out - we sliced them open, the ONLY thing Keating had to do was pass the ball to a completely unmarked Reddy. That the ball went forward is of little consequence in the deserving nature of the try, it did not make the try and easier, it did not make the try any better, it was the exact same result as if Keating was coordinated enough to pass the ball backwards.

Why am I saying this?

Because Matt Ballin passes the ball FORWARD from dummy half at least 4 times per match, on average, and never gets called. "But they don't result in tries" howl the Manly supporters!
Neither did Keatings pass - the try was ON, the forward pass did not LEAD to the try, it was just poor skill in delivering the final pass - it did NOT change the result.

So we DID deserve to win, that pass was inconsequential (although personally I would like to see referees/ touchies actually CALLING forward passes forward - especially those from dummy half) because it didn't change the result of what was playing out.
In fact, it changed the result of that try far LESS than a forward pass from dummy half changes the result of a hitup and a set of 6. A forward pass from dummy half means the forward is rampaging, further ahead in meter gain, and far more likely to get a quick play the ball and lead to further attacking opportunity.
A pass CALLED forward from dummy half means that a team does NOT get to their 6, and their opposition gets to start a set of 6 from a nice attacking position.

Complain all you want about the Keating pass to Reddy (and it was a shocker - I haven't seen passes that far forward being allowed to 'play on' since Johns got away with whatever he threw) - but if you complain about it, you ought to complain FAR MORE about the shonky dummy half service of so many players (Cam Smith is a big time offender, Matt Ballin perhaps second in line). Those calls would be the ones which affected a footy game in a greater way.

I clearly remember losing to both the Dragons & Sea Eagles in the last few years off a crucial and blatant forward pass. Karma.

fish eel

also, who is to say if the pass gets called up, Manly make an error in the set resulting from the scrum and we score?

Parra Steve

We let manly into the game in the first half through bad handling and poor kicks, 2 that went out on the full. once we got those sorted we were able to score.

If i was Hasler id be questioning why they've let 2 near 20 point leads in the last 2 weeks slip from them.

well said .... (except the bagging of KK - yeah he may have thrown that one forward but he was a big part of the spark that got us home)

forward pass

That match reminds me of the Raiders one at Parra in Round 3 last year where we were terrible for most of the game but pulled the game out of the hat with 2 late tries - an intercept to Hayne and I think Grothe scored off a Hayne pass for the last one?

Parra Steve

and im pretty sure one of their tries came off a questionable 6 again ruling 10 metres our from our line.

PJ Marshal

i just think shayne hayne was sending tony archcer a message, dont be such a wanker when you ref parra