Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why do we suck? #emothread

Part of the reason we suck is that we have 2 Captains. Gidley needs to take a player role only and let Mullen lead the team in all ways.
I recall one incident where Gidley was going to question the ref but Mullen did and Gidley looked surprised.

Gidley will be in the team but needs to be just a "regular" player.

We are much better organised with Clydesdale at dummy-half. Players don't seem to know what to expect from Gidley at times which is the usual.

We also need someone out wide to make up for Gagai being a bit light. He need a bit of protection and someone to make a bust and feed him into some clean air so he can get going and use his step. Often Gagai, despite trying, is smothered by 3 defenders. Play ends and no feed to the winger. Houston doesn't work out there. Scott is better in a bit tighter but still wide of the ruck. Alex could have done it.

We need a 2nd rower that came from the centers.

We have 2 captains - one with the C next to his name - and the bloke that actually is the leader of the team. You see the players in interviews trot out the lines they've been fed from Wayne... he's our captain, need to have him, class player, etc. What you see on the field talks volumes, though. Gids can bust his gut all game, but it doesn't lift the team.

I can't remember Gids making 1 single play since Bennett got here that lifted us even 5%. Mullen, Scott, Mason... last year Smith - these are the leaders at the club now. Gids hasn't played enough footy in the past few years to really be a leader in the team for mine... the playing group moved on without him.

Of course, I could be completely wrong and all the players may think the world of Gids... but if they do - they don't show it on the field too much. This contrived charade that the club plays making Gids out to be a champion player sadly does fool a great many fans (and rep selectors...) - I don't think it fools the players, though.

Gids will go down in Knights history as a club legend - and that's fair enough, he's given a lot to the club and did carry us for a period there... but he should have never been elevated beyond a great clubman, and now we're in this position.

Nuffy

I'm wondering whether I am indicative of the average Knights fan in that I don't really have the energy anymore to even rant about the team with any great passion which I know is surprising to many here.

A decade of dramas, mediocrity and maladministration has worn me down.

Let me tell you a story, 6 of us wouldn't miss a game from the beginning, even when 3 of us moved to Sydney, about 7-8 years ago we started getting season tickets and now are in the Western stand but the number has dwindled to 3 and even then its only because I cajoled the other two into getting tickets the last couple of years. But even now the other two guys are talking about this being their last year and I understand the feeling, I don't have the energy or inclination to talk them around.

You want to know why crowds are down and the stadium lacks atmosphere, the fans aren't optimistic anymore, they are apprehensive about what is about to unfold on the field.

I'm not sure how much the club expects the average fan to bear before they lose them, not as a generic supporter but a true fan.

You want 20,000 members and 25,000 average home crowds, have a competitive team that doesn't miss the 8 more often than not.

Clubs reinvigorate themselves, the Roosters went from 12th to 1st in a year, the Titans are leading the comp after several years in the wilderness, the West Tigers have bounced back, Parra is coming back, Cleary has done an amazing job at Penrith in several short years and look at the difference at Souths in 3 years.

We are heading in the opposite direction at a time when we are supposed to be better shape than ever before and the best coach in our history.

We haven't been a genuine contender for a decade and two miracle weeks last September paper over what was otherwise an average year yet again. Instead of building on last years success, we've regressed significantly.

I've often said that we are unlucky and 2014 is example number 365 of that but I also genuinely believe that we are getting much of the luck we deserve. Poor decisions get poor results and we have been in that space for a decade.

Its not meant to be a rant but rather a lament. Its a tough club to support most of the time and I think its slowing killing the passion of the supporters.

Zoidberg

^ amen. We are becoming one of these clubs that won't have success for a very long time.

broncos2010

I'm wondering whether I am indicative of the average Knights fan in that I don't really have the energy anymore to even rant about the team with any great passion which I know is surprising to many here.

Let me tell you a story, 6 of us wouldn't miss a game from the beginning, even when 3 of us moved to Sydney, about 7-8 years ago we started getting season tickets and now are in the Western stand but the number has dwindled to 3 and even then its only because I cajoled the other two into getting tickets the last couple of years. But even now the other two guys are talking about this being their last year and I understand the feeling, I don't have the energy or inclination to talk them around.

You want to know why crowds are down and the stadium lacks atmosphere, the fans aren't optimistic anymore, they are apprehensive about what is about to unfold on the field.

I'm not sure how much the club expects the average fan to bear before they lose them, not as a generic supporter but a true fan.

You want 20,000 members and 25,000 average home crowds, have a competitive team that doesn't miss the 8 more often than not.

Clubs reinvigorate themselves, the Roosters went from 12th to 1st in a year, the Titans are leading the comp after several years in the wilderness, the West Tigers have bounced back, Parra is coming back, Cleary has done an amazing job at Penrith in several short years and look at the difference at Souths in 3 years.

We are heading in the opposite direction at a time when we are supposed to be better shape than ever before and the best coach in our history.

We haven't been a genuine contender for a decade and two miracle weeks last September paper over what was otherwise an average year yet again. Instead of building on last years success, we've regressed significantly.

I've often said that we are unlucky and 2014 is example number 365 of that but I also genuinely believe that we are getting much of the luck we deserve. Poor decisions get poor results and we have been in that space for a decade.

Its not meant to be a rant but rather a lament. Its a tough club to support most of the time and I think its slowing killing the passion of the supporters.

Your supposed to stick with your team through good and bad, not jump ship when times get tough.

Nuffy

Your supposed to stick with your team through good and bad, not jump ship when times get tough.

This coming from a group of supporters who's club has been gifted any amount of advantage over the years and heads for the torches and pitchforks because you missed the 8 once in 20 years.

broncos2010

This coming from a group of supporters who's club has been gifted any amount of advantage over the years and heads for the torches and pitchforks because you missed the 8 once in 20 years.

Oh here we go again broncos this broncos that, broncos have all of qld bla bla bla :roll:

eozsmiles

Oh here we go again broncos this broncos that, broncos have all of qld bla bla bla :roll:

Who gives a s**t about how much of QLD they have? They've been owned by the group that owned the game which has resulted in them being a protected species. Plus they are handed a supportive broadcast schedule each year, which only helps the Broncos and their good friends at Nein. All of this to the detriment of the overall sport.

If New LTD can stand accused of nearly murdering the game, then Lachlan's Broncos would be charged with aiding and abetting.

That is why the Broncos have never done it tough. Because the company that owned the club made the rules to suit themselves.

Unfortunately, unless we ever get another Joey I doubt another premiership will go our way. History suggests we have never been competitive without Joey.

Bring it home Knights

It's been a while. Aren't you that moron who used to come to the knights forum like an obsessed stalker? Also weren't you the halfwit who claimed that the knights were your second favourite team, yet you constantly bagged them out and said the Broncos were heaps better? It's safe to say that no one missed your lack of posting on here...

Card Shark

You guys are going through some tough times but it ain't as bad as you make out - just frustrating after a successful year last year, I'd say.

Don't underestimate the off season dramas having a negative impact - people think it doesn't make a difference but it does.

Then the wretched luck with injury - it's no coincidence the teams with the worst injury toll (yours & mine) are on the bottom. With the comp so close, injuries are a huge factor.

I haven't given up on making the 8, nor should the Knights.

Apey

I was being emo a few weeks ago. Was hoping (and still am) I was wrong as usual.

Jobdog

Over the years your pessimism has worn thin on many people, myself included, but I find it difficult to disagree with anything you've said here mate.

THE CHAMP

What would a Broncos fan know about tough times?

Ill tell you.
Buying tickets to a game at lang park and having to settle for a shit spot because they've already sold 45000 tickets. Also getting home after the game with that many other people can be tough.

How's that merkin?

Knight Vision

This?.and I cannot stand then Broncos because of it. Easily the number 1 club I love to hate followed closely by the cheating Storm :crazy:

Frederick

Ill tell you.
Buying tickets to a game at lang park and having to settle for a shit spot because they've already sold 45000 tickets. Also getting home after the game with that many other people can be tough.

How's that merkin?

Buy tickets earlier then? :?