Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why Gallop is right on this one

Dogs Of War

As others have mentioned, gamblers will find a way to exploit this system so it will not achieve what it is setting out to do - meaning you are destroying registered clubs who already pay a pokie tax as well as give to the community.

If anything, a club will find it much more easier to implement, as the majority of patrons require membership to the club anyway. Just means the casual visitors who live outside of the 5km will either join up the club to get a pokie card, or don't play on that visit. It's pubs that will be impacted more.

If pokies is this great cost to society - then what is the point of adding to this cost by implementing a response that won't work.
Who says this won't work, obviously the clubs realise it will work in reducing how much they can get from each patron, which is why they are fighting so hard to stop it.

I agree, if they stopped this before it began it would be fantastic - but it hasn't happened, and to implement this now would be severely damaging to many more peoples lives and then not even address this issue of problem gambling.
It just means clubs need to diversy there income streams a little more, and allow for the drop off in reliance on pokie machine income. In clubs that don't react, they will cause people to lose jobs, but you can't just put some people's livehood ahead of others because you think it's too hard.

This is a flawed argument... Because they pay management they should come up with other ways to maintain revenue? That has nothing to do with the benefits clubs give to the community. The first response of any business is to cut costs - and benefits to the community will be the first to go.
Ah, so the point of clubs to benefit the community will be the first to go. Are you really using that argument to justify your position? Clubs just need to work out how to get more money off these ex-problem gamblers when they enter the premises by providing more varied entertainment to draw the patrons in.

Problem gamblers will gamble however they can. This is the sad truth - and as others have already conceded - problem gamblers will be able to exploit this system further.
Not quite the truth their. Most pokie problem gamblers have been shown not to go to other gambling forms (obviously there are others than have a gambling problem that is more far reaching). Maybe you might want to do some research into problem gambling and the effects on family units, or even individuals.

The old ladies that throw their money in the machines are also less likely to be problem gamblers. There isn't less chance of peoples lives being ruined - because they will bet else where and exploit the flawed system.
The old ladies will probably just participate in Bingo and other forms of entertainment, entertainment which is much more sociable, and would provide them with a better level of living. And still spend there money down the club, just on different things.

I do find it amusing though that everyone has also forgot about the ATM limits too... Pity about those who want to spend money in the club that isn't on gaming...
Hmm, getting money out before you go to a club is too hard?

I think any obstacles that can be put in the way of problem gamblers, and more importantly, POTENTIAL problem gamblers, is a good thing. Current options do not work.

Homework assignment for you tonight, have a look at when Gamblers Anonymous sessions are on.
Have a look at what hours gambling counsellors work.
Ring the gambling hotline and have a discussion with these guys (pretend you are a problem gambler), and see what horrible suggestions they give you.
Go down to a pub and request you be banned from the pokie machines, and then go down a week later and play them and see what happens.

At that point you will understand why something like this needs to be in place. The current ones are just not practical or available to the majority of people in this position.

Ice Ice Brady

Frailty, if this doesn't work to stop problem gamblers like you claim then clubs should have no concern about revenue. Your argument is flawed.

Also on job losses, if these well paid management/directors are worth what they are paid they would find othe ways to use these people.

Personal responsibility means shit anymore. I will just say I have a problem and then wait for the government to help me out.

yeh I agree, i mean who doesn't want to get wrecked and drive home at 150kmh? Damn these nanny govt's and their pesky laws to protect people!

clarency

The entire argument of the anti-reforms side is based on the false assumption of free-will.

Poker machines are a social disease. Unfortunately it's difficult to notice when people aren't looking with both eyes.

No, it doesn't and for the reasons mentioned earlier.

Now try and maintain your composure here because I know you're a bit upset and all, but as has been pointed out this will not stop problem gamblers from gambling. That's why it's referred to as a 'problem'. Amazing concept, yeah?
It will help stop casual gamblers become problem gamblers though. This is good - yeah?

It will, however, stop the more casual user that doesn't really want to go through the hassle of getting a card etc. This is based on stats from the government itself, mind you, who estimate that revenue will drop by around 30%.
So it will stop the lazy and stupid. Rugby League is doomed.

The argument that you don't like poker machines or that clubs used to get by without them is idiotic and pointless. They do exist and they're not going anywhere, so let's deal with the issues at hand instead.
They can go, all it takes is legislation and they can be banned

BTW, this IS dealing with the issues at hand.
Given that, here's the other thing. Poker machines are not evil. They're just, well, machines. It always has been and always will be up to the individual to control or look after themselves.
No - it aint the guns fault either. But no guns - no people getting shot. Geddit?

But hey, problem gamblers will find a zillion ways to get multiple cards, which is a massive hassle for everyone else and send clubs broke. Now, take the time to clear your head and then ask yourself - How the f*ck does that make sense?????

And that's where this policy is flawed - without any shadow of a doubt, the impact will be felt by those other than the ones it is aimed at. Problem gamblers don't let small obstacles get in their way. Completely pointless. Costly, but pointless.
So getting the card is only a small obstacle now? I thought it was a massive one that was going to send NRL clubs into ruin?

Why should I when I don't need one for on line gambling etc?
Law, doofus. You need a drivers licence to drive a car, but can drive online without a licence.

Frailty

If anything, a club will find it much more easier to implement, as the majority of patrons require membership to the club anyway. Just means the casual visitors who live outside of the 5km will either join up the club to get a pokie card, or don't play on that visit. It's pubs that will be impacted more.

This is a good idea in theory, but most people will not join a club if they don't have to. And what is it 'easier' to implement? There is very little detail about how these cards will work - is it all going to be the one card? How is the information stored? Who maintains security of the information? Will this be the club's role? If so, guess what - more cost to the club with less revenue coming in.

Who says this won't work, obviously the clubs realise it will work in reducing how much they can get from each patron, which is why they are fighting so hard to stop it.

Because it is restricting it from people who don't have gambling problems. It is the equivalent of limiting amount of alcohol that can be bought from a bottleshop - it's not going to stop alcoholics... But it will mean bottleshops will lose a lot of business.

It just means clubs need to diversy there income streams a little more, and allow for the drop off in reliance on pokie machine income. In clubs that don't react, they will cause people to lose jobs, but you can't just put some people's livehood ahead of others because you think it's too hard.

Most clubs have already diversified due to increases in pokie taxes, the new smoking laws, etc. This is another downward pressure on the club industry. You argue you can't just put someone's livelihood ahead of others - but then what is the point of this policy? Putting the issues of the VAST minority of Australian ahead of everyone else.

I think jobs are important as a reduced socio-economic status generally leads to higher drug and alcohol abuse as well as - guess what? - gambling.

Ah, so the point of clubs to benefit the community will be the first to go. Are you really using that argument to justify your position? Clubs just need to work out how to get more money off these ex-problem gamblers when they enter the premises by providing more varied entertainment to draw the patrons in.

My point was that the funding to the community would be the first to go to ensure clubs have more time to make any changes.

Perhaps we should be aiming to mean that problem gamblers don't go into any establishment.

Have you been into any club recently? What more varied entertainment do you want? Most clubs offer an abundance of entertainment - but on top of the pokie card patrons have a limit of $250 at an ATM... That's great for other areas of the business too!

Not quite the truth their. Most pokie problem gamblers have been shown not to go to other gambling forms (obviously there are others than have a gambling problem that is more far reaching). Maybe you might want to do some research into problem gambling and the effects on family units, or even individuals.

I am well aware of the affects of problem gambling, and have had this issue in the family. Do not dictate to me that this will work when it clearly won't. Problem gamblers will find their way around this sad excuse for policy quite easily - because they need to gamble to satisfy their urges. It is the equivalent of a 2 drink max at a bar to prevent alcoholism - it is a dumb idea.

The old ladies will probably just participate in Bingo and other forms of entertainment, entertainment which is much more sociable, and would provide them with a better level of living. And still spend there money down the club, just on different things.

Bingo is still gambling - and then again clubs already run these and don't make money from it. So then it is likely that they raise the costs, meaning these old ladies are gambling even more of their money.

Most clubs offer all of this alternative entertainment - to claim they don't is naive and daft.

Hmm, getting money out before you go to a club is too hard?

Because there is always an ATM on the way to a local club - or if you forget, you will need to leave the club and find an ATM else where to return to the club? Most people aren't that desperate...

... But then again problem gamblers are!

I think any obstacles that can be put in the way of problem gamblers, and more importantly, POTENTIAL problem gamblers, is a good thing. Current options do not work.

And neither will this one. But I bet you support limiting alcoholic beverages to 2 per person, and banning smoking anywhere, and limiting car engines to 60kmh, etc. At what point are people going to be responsible for themselves.

Homework assignment for you tonight, have a look at when Gamblers Anonymous sessions are on.
Have a look at what hours gambling counsellors work.
Ring the gambling hotline and have a discussion with these guys (pretend you are a problem gambler), and see what horrible suggestions they give you.
Go down to a pub and request you be banned from the pokie machines, and then go down a week later and play them and see what happens.

I have dealt with these groups before as previously mentioned due to a family member. The only thing to stop a problem gambler is themselves - no one else. I know for a fact Club's work hard at their self exclusion policies and actively monitor it and refusing entry to persons on it.

At that point you will understand why something like this needs to be in place. The current ones are just not practical or available to the majority of people in this position.

That is absolute nonsense! Not available? Are you kidding me?

As an expert on problem gambling you would know that the only person who can stop a problem gambler is themselves!

Frailty

yeh I agree, i mean who doesn't want to get wrecked and drive home at 150kmh? Damn these nanny govt's and their pesky laws to protect people!

Wow.... That's a real adequate and relevant response.

We better ban the f**king internet because pedophiles use it and are grooming our kiddies.

We should make car engines only go 50kmh max to prevent speeding, in fact let's ban cars all together and any motor vehicle - they are death traps.

Frailty

Frailty, if this doesn't work to stop problem gamblers like you claim then clubs should have no concern about revenue. Your argument is flawed.

What is the aim of the policy? To prevent problem gamblers from gambling. Will it achieve this? NO.

It will prevent casual gamblers having a flutter - thus reducing revenue from pokies but not actually achieving it's purpose.

If the purpose is to prevent people gambling on pokie machines - then the most effective way would be to ban them.

Also on job losses, if these well paid management/directors are worth what they are paid they would find othe ways to use these people.

Because the business world is full of executives cutting their pay checks to keep staff... No. generally they earn their money by cost-cutting - i.e. Staff.

Mader45

I spent a few years in the industry working at 2 major clubs in Sydney. These are simple things that I learnt/experienced which contradict what you've said.

Most clubs have already diversified due to increases in pokie taxes, the new smoking laws, etc.

They diversified by moving poker machines to outdoor areas or opening up areas so that they were considered outdoors. They didn't diversify. They just moved the poker machines 20 feet.

My point was that the funding to the community would be the first to go to ensure clubs have more time to make any changes.

The funding to the community would have gone if the clubs could have done it 20 years ago. Most clubs in Sydney are run by non-university graduates who worked their way up by pouring beers over 30 years. Most directors of clubs are alcoholic degenerates who hang out at the club constantly getting pissed. They are not savvy businessman. Just lucky people who were in the right place when the golden goose came along.

Have you been into any club recently? What more varied entertainment do you want? Most clubs offer an abundance of entertainment

Chook raffles, bingo, cover bands performing out-dated hits, member draws, bridge nights, 50's rock and roll or square dancing lessons, blue light discos for teens, hackneyed comedians, illusionists and hypnotists.

If this is your idea of entertainment heaven then I hate to tell you this but the 1980's ended over 20 years ago. If it wasn't for cheap alcohol, nearly anyone under the age of 35 would have no interest in a club nowadays.

Bingo is still gambling - and then again clubs already run these and don't make money from it.............Most clubs offer all of this alternative entertainment - to claim they don't is naive and daft.

This type of entertainment is completely based around getting you in the door to gamble and nothing more. Clubs have spent millions of dollars assessing the best ways to manipulate people into giving their money over to poker machines. I remember the breaks during bingo being mental. It was like pamplona ......if the bulls were pissed up bitchy old women hell bent on getting on their lucky poker machine.

I know for a fact Club's work hard at their self exclusion policies and actively monitor it and refusing entry to persons on it.

Where I worked.....For the pokies, the duty manager would be called over, they'd advise the patron about their exclusion, the patron would bitch and moan and the duty manager would just walk off.

Though the alcohol exclusion was always far poorly handled. It was always frustrating arguing with a guy who could barely stand, speak or see that he had had enough.

But then to always have your managers come over and say the standard line of 'oh just 1 more, he's a regular' showed complete disdain for their roles, my role or their responsibility to the member.

Rockin Ronny

Rugby league is fast becoming full of more bullshit than most politicians.

The game has survived on a "business" - poker machines - which are basically contraptions set up to rort players and steal their money. All of this is masked as a community option with low price drinks etc plus the 'we give to the community' crap. Leagues clubs justify it as "democracy' - we should let people gamble and smoke if they want to. Pure exploitation.

The game is owned by a media giant who is exploiting its popularity, depriving it of much needed funding - and who is now trying to lock in its monopoly for decades to come. And just like the ignorant cowards who handed the game over to News and Packer in the 90's, they're doing the same again.

The game is now a slave to online betting - even stadiums are named after them. What a joke. And ray warren - for an admitted problem gambler, the constant talking up of gambling during broadcasts is pathetic.

Rugby league is best representetd by our current "scrums". They look like a scrum - referees pretend to regulate them like scrums - but they are just bullshit.

This game desperately needs to get rid of News Limited, cut the reliance on poker machine blood money - and get some genuine indepedent business people to run the game properly.

Ice Ice Brady

I think Mader45's post is excellent.

Particularly the point about director's at clubs and the "entertainment" available at clubs.

The other thing to consider is that if clubs cannot survive without pokies, then they are basically a softcore casino. That is not a sustainable business and if some clubs need to be shut, then so be it. I'm sure that the funding void left will be plugged through other means. For example, it's been proven that the existence of pokies revenue has no effect whatsoever on junior sports participation.

Because it is restricting it from people who don't have gambling problems. It is the equivalent of limiting amount of alcohol that can be bought from a bottleshop - it's not going to stop alcoholics... But it will mean bottleshops will lose a lot of business.

No it's not. If we are to sue a bottle shop example then it would be like an alcoholic walking into a bottle shop and saying beforehand, I will only buy 2 six packs of XXXX and the bottle shop refusing to sell him any more.

I have dealt with these groups before as previously mentioned due to a family member. The only thing to stop a problem gambler is themselves - no one else. I know for a fact Club's work hard at their self exclusion policies and actively monitor it and refusing entry to persons on it.

I'm sorry to hear about your personal experience. I have my own and I have to say it is opposite to you in that the club did very little to help me or her.

What is the aim of the policy? To prevent problem gamblers from gambling. Will it achieve this? NO.

Once again you're wrong.

You yourself admitted that action is the responsibility of those that have problems.

The aim of this policy is 2 fold:

1) It minimises the impact on problem gamblers. Especially on those that are financially dependent. If someone has to commit to only losing $500 a day and is used to $1000 (and in my experience, they can lose up to $3000-$4000 in one day), then they are losing half their money.

2) As an added measure to allow problem gamblers to realise they have a problem. At this stage, the only way people can work out they have a problem is:

- they suddenly wake up out of the addiction
- they hit rock bottom

And don't give me this crap about ATM machines or signage. The signage is barely effective and some clubs have multiple ATM machines or ATM machines nearby.

Ice Ice Brady

But this topic really shouldn't be about the issue of problem gambling. It should be about the NRL's stance on this.

I can understand Gallop coming out supporting ClubsNSW/Australia as he is left with little alternative, such has been the lack of creativity and business skills in the NRL and in its clubs (besides Souths as far as I know).

Maybe now, clubs need to come up with new ways to invest, get people to come to games and buy merchandise or to manage their clubs in a sustainable way.

If they'd prefer to spend millions of dollars on a campaign that will lose, then it shows that the current management are not up to the task. When clubs are on the brink of closing down, maybe then will this period of social thievery will be history,

Rockin Ronny

I spent a few years in the industry working at 2 major clubs in Sydney. These are simple things that I learnt/experienced which contradict what you've said.

They diversified by moving poker machines to outdoor areas or opening up areas so that they were considered outdoors. They didn't diversify. They just moved the poker machines 20 feet.

The funding to the community would have gone if the clubs could have done it 20 years ago. Most clubs in Sydney are run by non-university graduates who worked their way up by pouring beers over 30 years. Most directors of clubs are alcoholic degenerates who hang out at the club constantly getting pissed. They are not savvy businessman. Just lucky people who were in the right place when the golden goose came along.

Chook raffles, bingo, cover bands performing out-dated hits, member draws, bridge nights, 50's rock and roll or square dancing lessons, blue light discos for teens, hackneyed comedians, illusionists and hypnotists.

If this is your idea of entertainment heaven then I hate to tell you this but the 1980's ended over 20 years ago. If it wasn't for cheap alcohol, nearly anyone under the age of 35 would have no interest in a club nowadays.

This type of entertainment is completely based around getting you in the door to gamble and nothing more. Clubs have spent millions of dollars assessing the best ways to manipulate people into giving their money over to poker machines. I remember the breaks during bingo being mental. It was like pamplona ......if the bulls were pissed up bitchy old women hell bent on getting on their lucky poker machine.

Where I worked.....For the pokies, the duty manager would be called over, they'd advise the patron about their exclusion, the patron would bitch and moan and the duty manager would just walk off.

Though the alcohol exclusion was always far poorly handled. It was always frustrating arguing with a guy who could barely stand, speak or see that he had had enough.

But then to always have your managers come over and say the standard line of 'oh just 1 more, he's a regular' showed complete disdain for their roles, my role or their responsibility to the member.

This is an excellent summation of the clubs industry.

There not progressive places - they are there using cheap grog to encourage people to gamble.

The typical club board are ex-nobody pissheads who simply rubber stamp whatever the CEO wants to do - then gets an expenses-paid trip to Las Vegas for a gaming conference.

It's similar to having a News Limited employee as NRL CEO. he wears a suits and mutters the usual banalities about "our game" - but everyone knows what he's really there for.

Last year WC Eagles made a profit of $2.7mill, gave a grant payment to the WAFL to fund jnr and grass roots for $5mill and had a turn over of around $45.5mill. All without pokie income. The problem for our game lies in the lack of management eskill at club and code level. Gallop backing this is just showing how weak our game is.

KiamaSaint

And for the record Cleary, I will never support any policy that impinges upon personal liberties no matter who proposes it.

Sorry if this has already been said, but I couldn't be bother reading all 8 pages, I got bored.

I have never used pokies but I am a league fan so I sort of sit on the fence with this one, although Bunniesman has almost convinced me to support the government on this one. He has that effect on people.

I just wanted to make the point that there are laws that impinge upon our personal liberty all the time to look after those that can't look after themselves. For example, around schools I have to drive at 40 km/hour. In fact almost every law when you think about it impinges on our personal liberties.

I am not suggesting that this legislation will work, like I said I really haven't looked into because it doesn't impact me, but the argument that it hurts my personal liberties and the "Nanny State" argument are well and truly overdone in my opinion.

bobmar28

Sorry if this has already been said, but I couldn't be bother reading all 8 pages, I got bored.

I have never used pokies but I am a league fan so I sort of sit on the fence with this one, although Bunniesman has almost convinced me to support the government on this one. He has that effect on people.

I just wanted to make the point that there are laws that impinge upon our personal liberty all the time to look after those that can't look after themselves. For example, around schools I have to drive at 40 km/hour. In fact almost every law when you think about it impinges on our personal liberties.

I am not suggesting that this legislation will work, like I said I really haven't looked into because it doesn't impact me, but the argument that it hurts my personal liberties and the "Nanny State" argument are well and truly overdone in my opinion.

That's ridiculous, you can't kill a child by putting ten bucks in a poker machine.