What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why is there little interest in the Kiwis in this forum?

Matua

Bench
Since joining this forum I've been bemused as to the lack of support/following for the Kiwis (@Philip_Smith007 excluded as he always posts the Kiwis). In fact I actually joined because it's a NZRL forum. But, in all honesty a rugby forum I go to has more discussion about the Kiwis than on here.

But, it genuinely disappoints me how little engagement the Kiwis get in this forum. I'm country before club. I grew up watching the Kiwis through the 80s and 90s, they're the reason I started playing league. Olsen Filipaina, Dean Bell, Clayton Friend, James Leuluai, Kevin Iro etc are the my old heroes. When the Warriors have lots of Australian players I find my interest wanes a lot quicker when they have dud seasons.

I'm not angling for a shitfight. I'm just wondering why there is so little interest in the Kiwis on here. If you prefer club over country that's your choice.

SpaceMonkey

Immortal
I just can’t muster the enthusiasm I used to- just doesn’t feel like the Kiwis are the elite side they used to be.
I was watching a replay of a 90s test the other day, and the lineup was ridiculous, Jobes, both Paul bros, Wiki at centre, Joe Vagana, Vainikolo, Richie Barnett etc etc

Beavers Headgear

First Grade
I think it is mainly the time of year and all tests being played this late sees interest wane

A complete lack of commitment and desire from many of the current day players doesn’t help either, Johnson has a huge year for the first time in a while, and announces he needs a rest doesn’t draw people in like it would have if he had the mettle of Foran/Fisher-Harris

Matua

Bench