Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WiL Round 16 | Knights 38-20 Tigers @ Hunter | Mon 7.00pm

Round 16 result :: Knights vs Tigers

Nuffy

Great game, I knew we'd win as my wife had our first son a week ago and I've been telling everyone that he'd bring us luck.

Full credit to the team, they really showed their mettle after being 14 down.

Frederick

Great game, I knew we'd win as my wife had our first son a week ago and I've been telling everyone that he'd bring us luck.

Congrats!

Nuffy

Cheers Fred, he's already got a swag of knights gear from the family, going to cost me a motza for season tickets when the kids are older.

Yosh

Gagai and Aku shouldn't be broken up. Wes will probably get a run no? Unless he is moved on (hopefully he is).

Hmm... Probably Mata'uatia

chinorocks

F*cking amazing what happens when you run with enthusiasm and hold the ball. Darius and T were sensational.

IanG

Am over the moon with tonight's result.

I have to admit though when the Tigers got to a 14-0 lead I thought it was going to be more of the same.

But to then put on 38 unanswered points was a complete reversal of fortune. Just a bummer that we let that last try in 38-14 would've looked even better but it was still a great result.

Enjoyed the ref bowling over and Beau Ryan being sent to the bin. Tried to get a Beau is a wanker chant going without much luck. Had a couple of Tigers supporters around me who were rubbishing the Knights all night. Hope they're chowing down on humble pie.

that was a comprehensive performance. the best we've seen from us so far this year. Boyd has built on his form of the past month and absolutely destroyed the Tigers right hand defence in sweet conjunction with Tahu. that's what Boyd can do... any doubters take serious note. so brilliant to see T wind the clock back and score some points. the assist for Jimmy at the end was classy, too. to be honest, Tahu has been one of our few good eggs for a very alrge portion of the year... but he was just brilliant tonight.

other notes:

- short ball to Houston worked... and I think it's the second time I've now seen it this year! incredible!
- Mullens long kicking was as sharp as ever, but he's putting too much weight on his short ones. still looking for them, though. I'd like to see Boyd and Roberts alleviate Mullos burden on the short kicking game. Boyds grubbers have been good this year.
- Willie, Kade and Cuthbo (yes, Cuthbo) were great for us. Cuthbo finally starting to earn a spot in the team, has been good his last couple of matches.
- everyone aimed up. aside from that super soft try at full time, our boys aimed up well tonight and played for each other. obviously they earned a rousing applause post-match, versus the booing of the previous 2 home games.

i suppose the question is, have we turned a corner... or is it a false dawn? we were good tonight, and put the Tigers to the sword. the Tigers were very poor at times, but we ensured they stayed that way. we could have easily packed our bags at 14 - 0 down. we were getting great starts earlier in the year and not going on with it. now it seems we like to be pummelled early and fire up a bit later. Wayne will be wondering if this is a real step forward, I'm sure.... but either way it was a win we desperately needed.

just as another side note, too... the ground reported an 18k+ crowd, and i believe it to be honest. great effort for a Monday night with 5 losses on the trot.

Pedge1971

Well the second kick meant the Tigers needed to score more than three tries to win.

It was the first penalty I wasn't sure about.

I thought the same but in hindsight (which is wonderful to have) was the right call. Got down their end, got points and got the ball back. Went back down and did the same thing. Too many points in front, game dead.

In years gone by we have got over excited about the situation, made errors, got the opposition on a roll, and let them back in. Either hung on to win a close one or got rolled.

We went on with it tonight without giving them a sniff which was pleasing. Proud of the boys, but can we back it up?

the thing about taking the 2 that i feel people under-value somewhat is the fact that you also get the ball back. it annoys me when we're up by 14, but it's really hard to argue against it as a general rule to live by as a football team. take 2 or 3 of them and you have an extra try for no work, you've got the ball back each time, and if you're disciplined you get to kick them back down their end, and try to keep them there all over again. if you're on fire and carving them, you're somewhat likely to make a break and punish them again anyway.

docbrown

The secret - slap Snowden in the face at the start of every game.

They all got fired up and were playing like a team that was frankly - sick of f**king losing...

I walked in the door and was told the bad news that Newcastle were 14 points behind.
Just as I sat down to watch the game they scored. From then .......

Completed sets, no mistakes and just enjoying themselves won the game. It helps when you are firing to enjoy yourself but I reckon the attitude was there from the start. In the past I've only seen Willie out there actually enjoying what he was doing.

Great to see Boyd chiming into the backline - that's what we need.

I know Mullen has a great left to right pass but one of his right to left passes that lead to a try was spot on perfect.

Well done to the whole team. Lap it up boys.

Pedge1971

Congrats mate, that's awesome! There are special moments in your life that you will never forget!

Oh, by the way, the birth of the little one must have been nice as well;-)

Nuffy

Thanks Pedge, we are pretty pleased with ourselves.

Knights winning is just cream on top frankly.

Apey

Had a couple of Tigers supporters around me who were rubbishing the Knights all night. Hope they're chowing down on humble pie.

:lol: They were just a bunch of drunkards taking the piss mate. I sit like directly 4 rows in front of you.

Zoidberg

Come on IanG, noones gonna call Beau a wanker, he's great.

Definitely happy to see such a turnaround by the guys.
Hope they can keep up the attitude and keep improving.
Will be very happy if we can squeeze into the 8 after the 1st half of the year we had.