Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will Isaac Luke get suspended ?

will he be suspended from the GF ?

• Yes

Votes: 65 52.0%
  • No

Votes: 60 48.0%

Tommy Smith

So again, in summary, yes it's definitely worth a week because that's been the precedent all year. But hey let's just all hold hands and let poor widdle Wukey off because it's a GF!

Sounds like a legit argument. I hope they use it at the judiciary.

AlwaysGreen

Of course he should be suspended. Bloke's like Luke who play at the edge of the rules will always be caught out in the end. Don't lift in tackles and you won't be suspended.

Swarzey

Poor bait mate.

Souths haven't had any success yet. Need to be more subtle with your trolling efforts.

Fiddy

Poor bait mate.

Souths haven't had any success yet. Need to be more subtle with your trolling efforts.

Not trolling anyone. Not my fault i am proud of South Sydney - Sorry that i am not joining the 1% in the awful trolling of the two greatest clubs in sports today. The other being Sydney City Roosters. Rivalry aside they are a great great club.

Whoops - i mean 3.. the 3rd being Liverpool F.C

Swarzey

Not trolling anyone. Not my fault i am proud of South Sydney - Sorry that i am not joining the 1% in the awful trolling of the two greatest clubs in sports today. The other being Sydney City Roosters. Rivalry aside they are a great great club.

Whoops - i mean 3.. the 3rd being Liverpool F.C

You say Souths are successful.

They are not.

You be trolling.

Manly>Souths.

t-ba

Shithouse trolls like this will only become worse once they win.

My hatred of Des is almost overruled by the prospect of the hell about to be unleashed on the interwebs if this happens.

Nice Beaver

Where are they at the moment? Last time i checked was not playing footy this weekend :crazy:

:lol::lol:

Yeah mate - you guys are top of the hill.....for 5 minutes.

Stay up there for 6 or 7 years then come back. Idiot.

As much as I HATE Hasler, I am starting to hope they pull a heist on you mob.

Lambretta

Been here all along - just thought i would come and join in the celebration of the greatest club in the league.

I am sitting here with a puncable smile that i am sure you envision. Eat it up mates. The pride of the league is here.

I always thought it was Pride cometh before a fall, not a fool

Enjoy your success, goodness knows long term Souths fans deserve some success after years of suffering. I really wish your team and it's wonderful players all the best on Sunday. They've been the best team all year and I hope on behalf of all the decent Souths fans that they finally get there.

But don't try and tell supporters of other teams that your team means more to Rugby League than any of the other teams that participate.

Terms such as Pride of the League, or greatest club in the league make you sound like a wanker. Funny, because some of your other posts tell me otherwise.

You haven't been great for almost half a century and everyone knows it.

Apologies if this comes across as some sort of anti Souths rant, because it's nothing of the sort. I really wish your team well on the weekend - even if I'm going to be cheering for the Dogs. If you do get up and win it, I'll stand and applaud because your team will deserve it on the day.

Bumble

I always thought it was Pride cometh before a fall, not a fool

Enjoy your success, goodness knows long term Souths fans deserve some success after years of suffering. I really wish your team and it's wonderful players all the best on Sunday. They've been the best team all year and I hope on behalf of all the decent Souths fans that they finally get there.

But don't try and tell supporters of other teams that your team means more to Rugby League than any of the other teams that participate.

Terms such as Pride of the League, or greatest club in the league make you sound like a wanker. Funny, because some of your other posts tell me otherwise.

You haven't been great for almost half a century and everyone knows it.

Apologies if this comes across as some sort of anti Souths rant, because it's nothing of the sort. I really wish your team well on the weekend - even if I'm going to be cheering for the Dogs. If you do get up and win it, I'll stand and applaud because your team will deserve it on the day.

Nah, this is spot on. Nobody likes arrogant Souths fans.

I saw some Souths fans giving it to the Roosters supporters on the way out, which is never called for and especially not if they're the defending champs and we haven't won anything since colour TV was a thing...

AlwaysGreen

It's the pride of the league thing that shits me. That term was placed on them by their own supporters in the 1920s FFS. They've done nothing for forty years yet their supporters strut around as if they dominate the competition.

I wish their down to earth supporters good luck but the f**ksticks who bang on about glory glory to South Sydney can get a wrench up em.

Yeah agree

Guys like bumble and bran etc are pretty reasonable. You can tell they are passionate about their team but don't have the high and mighty complex like a lot of souths fans on here. You wish the good fans success on Sunday, god knows they deserve to enjoy it more then most.

Every team has the dickhead fans. Since souths have been successful the last 3 years it appears they have more then most. This is probably due to the fact that they've had precious little to crow about over the last 15-43 years so are getting it all out.

Stand up for Alex? What would be really significant from the Alex injury would be if the league clamped down properly on lifting tackles. All these people calling for leniency because it is the GF seem to have very short memories about the potential outcome of these types of tackles.

GongPanther

As a neutral,he certainly deserves suspension.

The word here is consistency.And if consistency is not applied,and if Luke gets off,the best bomb shelter won't protect the NRL from the ensuing fallout.

souths_pride

Stand up for Alex? What would be really significant from the Alex injury would be if the league clamped down properly on lifting tackles. All these people calling for leniency because it is the GF seem to have very short memories about the potential outcome of these types of tackles.
This is arguably the biggest thing I'm expecting to see changed in the off-season - lifting tackles. I'm not sure what they are going to implement or how they are going to go about doing it but I can't see it staying as it is. Correct me if I'm wrong but I think in the English Super League they have the rule that as soon as a defender lifts an attacking players leg off the ground it's called held. It wouldn't surprise me if we introduced something similar in the NRL.

Danish

Nah, this is spot on. Nobody likes arrogant Souths fans.

I saw some Souths fans giving it to the Roosters supporters on the way out, which is never called for and especially not if they're the defending champs and we haven't won anything since colour TV was a thing...

Had plenty giving it do us as we walked out, but nothing vile or with any venom. Just the playful clapping us out type stuff.

Manly fans rule the roost when it comes to carrying on like dickheads after a win TBH

souths_pride

Luke was charged with the lowest charge and should he miss a GF for that? Debatable, I don't think so but he has only himself to blame. I regard Sterlo's opinion very highly and if he states he should play in the GF than it must have some weight. I'm not sure how his suggestion of suspended sentences would work out. I would suggest that if it is a grade 1 charge then suspended sentences could be utilised. If any other charge then they cop it sweet. if Luke's tackle was a higher grade than he would have no case to answer for..
Jackson got off on a chicken wing a few weeks ago. That grub Reynolds knee to the Panthers player simply got ignored as did his throw on Tate in the SOO. Williams' shoulder charge etc. They have also set some precedents here with players in high profile games.
I just don't think for a Grade 1 charge a player should get rubbed out for a GF, I don't care who he plays for.
I'm of the simple view that no player should miss the grand final, simple as that. What I would do is have all players charged and found quality of misconduct in the qualifying finals serve their suspension the following season. If they commit an act of foul play, serving 5-7 weeks will hurt a team just as much the following season as it would having them miss the Grand Final. What you could also do is introduce a 'loading' penalty. For instance, if a player commits an act of foul play they should have a mandatory extra 20% (or rounded up to the nearest whole game) of their suspension added on to the suspension already handed down by the judiciary in exchange for playing in the grand final.