Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will Kyle Flanagan be a good #6 or #9 for the Dragons?

Victoire

You sound like his manager. You needed to pass all that info onto the Bulldogs.
He fell off a cliff there?
There was another brilliant piece of analysis by Mike Meahall Wood from the Roar that may explain somewhat why Flanagan fell off the proverbial cliff at the Bulldogs. In a nutshell: he was pushed off by Trent Barrett. The coach had no idea how to get his halves good ball.

Slippery Morris

Kyle had lots of competition in the Chooks with Hutch, Lam and Walker. Walker had a super start to his career and kept Kyle out. Lam when to England and killed it. Hutch stayed as the utility and Kyle unfortunately went to the Dogs and instead of having a partner in the halves of Keary, he had Wakeman, a young Averillo or Burton. He simply went from good coaches to poor coaches. Chooks were loaded in good young halves and had to stick with one such as were the Saints with Amone and Sullivan and chose the guy that had criminal charges hanging over his head which we will never understand. It was only his 2nd season in the Chooks and I think his stats were pretty good for a youngster.

I really hope Kyle and Averillo have outstanding seasons as they were treated poorly. These boys will be pumped to show what they have and prove they are good enough for the NRL.

Dragon David

Kyle had lots of competition in the Chooks with Hutch, Lam and Walker. Walker had a super start to his career and kept Kyle out. Lam when to England and killed it. Hutch stayed as the utility and Kyle unfortunately went to the Dogs and instead of having a partner in the halves of Keary, he had Wakeman, a young Averillo or Burton. He simply went from good coaches to poor coaches. Chooks were loaded in good young halves and had to stick with one such as were the Saints with Amone and Sullivan and chose the guy that had criminal charges hanging over his head which we will never understand. It was only his 2nd season in the Chooks and I think his stats were pretty good for a youngster.

I really hope Kyle and Averillo have outstanding seasons as they were treated poorly. These boys will be pumped to show what they have and prove they are good enough for the NRL.
I honestly think that both Kyle and Jake will kill it for the Dragons and Dolphins respectively.

I want both to succeed so that the Dogs will see how they lost out by getting rid of them.

kit66

There was another brilliant piece of analysis by Mike Meahall Wood from the Roar that may explain somewhat why Flanagan fell off the proverbial cliff at the Bulldogs. In a nutshell: he was pushed off by Trent Barrett. The coach had no idea how to get his halves good ball.

Excellent article, a bit of research and fine analysis is a breath of fresh air. Barrett played some great footy for us but no-one ever called him a "smart" footballer, a great running 5/8 with a sublime passing game but not smart, more dumb and frustrating than anything and it translated to his abysmal coaching. The Dogs signed some great talent but it was totally misused and wasted by Barrett.
I reckon we'll finish ahead of the dogs this year despite their undeserved roster.

Slippery Morris

Trent not much different than Ciraldo imo. I will cut Ciraldo some slack though as he does have Gus looking over his shoulder. Would like to see how he goes away from Gus. Webster on the other hand looks like the better ex-Penrith Assistant Coach by far. Dogs had 2 out of 3 to pick from and got the wrong one. Well played Warriors.

Dragon David

Trent not much different than Ciraldo imo. I will cut Ciraldo some slack though as he does have Gus looking over his shoulder. Would like to see how he goes away from Gus. Webster on the other hand looks like the better ex-Penrith Assistant Coach by far. Dogs had 2 out of 3 to pick from and got the wrong one. Well played Warriors.
Both Barrett and Ciraldo had/has Gusto applying plenty of pressure on them. Barrett took the easy way out and quit while Ciraldo is getting greyer everyday having Gusto pushing him along.

Webster did not have Gould breathing down his back and so was able to coach his way at the Warriors last year with plenty of success and most probably will be winning a fair share of the games this year if Shaun Johnson stays fit.

kit66

I wonder if it was Gus picking a different halves combo every second week.
The Dogs started the year pretty well with Burton and Flanagan in the halves but a couple of losses and Ciraldo lost his nerve and started experimenting. Ended up using about 10 different combos for the year.

Slippery Morris

As long as Ciraldo and Benji are coaching their teams, Saints have a big chance of avoiding the spoon. Interested to see Benji this year without Sheens in the background. I thought the Tigers improved once Sheens was gone and were not getting smashed every week. Jason Taylor joined Ciraldo and may make a difference as well but out of Saints, Dogs and Tigers I feel Saints have the better coach and I am hoping Flanno's experience will at least get Saints wins over Tigers and Dogs to take precious points off them as points will be at a premium for these 3 sides. They will need all they can get.

getsmarty

I wonder if it was Gus picking a different halves combo every second week.
The Dogs started the year pretty well with Burton and Flanagan in the halves but a couple of losses and Ciraldo lost his nerve and started experimenting. Ended up using about 10 different combos for the year.

Exactly.