Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Willie Mason: Players Should Strike for More Money - "Without us, there is no game"

fourplay

butchmcdick said:
If the players don't feel the earn enough playing footy they could retire and do something else to earn a living. As i said previously, 100k for a reserve grader seems a bit rich to me.
ToiletDuck said:
I thought they just raised it recently to around 60K? In which case the minimum salary is still a LOT higher than what the majority of Australians earn per year.

You guys are missing the point. Do you think NFL or NBA players should only get 100k a year instead of 10 million because the average wage is only 40k ?

The problem is the money exists to RAISE the cap but it is being spent elsewhere as the players are a last priority. Look how much the game is making, with the salary cap only 4 million where is the rest of the money going ? The salary cap was $3.25 million when the TV and sponsership deals were peanuts... now they have massive deals, even though the NRL ripped themselves and the players off again for their own and News Ltd's interests, yet they barely raised the salary cap, so where is all this money going ? Its unfair to the players.

badav

GC_Gladiator said:
Gasnier made a good comment and point on this on the Sunday footy show.

He said something along the lines suggesting that the nrl puts restrictions on third party deals for player because these deals could potentially conflict with the sponsorship deals the NRL signs. His point was that if they cant earn this extra money from third party arrangements because the nrl has signed its own, then the players should get a share of the NRL's deals. He was also asking for more transparency in the NRL's books because he felt that the money the NRL was earning was not being used appropriately.. ie grass roots.

This is coming from someone who milked the NRL for money by dragging his contract negotiations through the media for months on end. get f**ked.

Some of these league guys need to understand. If it wasnt for rugby league, they would be sh*tkickers earning minimum wage and working their arses off like everybody else. Yet they complain about about earning 6 figures?? No way in hell fringe first graders should be getting 100k. that is ridiculous.

Dont believe for a second that Willy mason has anybody elses interests at heart here. This is someone who made it very clear he was chasing the NFL contract purely so he could make more money.

LESStar58

brokendigit said:
http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/willie-mason/time-to-strike-for-our-rights/2007/03/24/1174597948259.html

Fairfax Publications: 25/03/07 - Willie Mason

"IT'S TIME for the players to make a stand about the salary cap, and if that means going on strike, well, I'm in. And to really make a point, I vote we strike during the State of Origin series.
I don't say that lightly. My frustration is shared by other players. We're filthy that some of our best players - Timana Tahu is the latest - are being lost to rugby union while our sport's up-and-comers are being paid bugger all even though they train as hard as professionals.
This isn't about player greed. I know I'm well paid but I am prepared to make a stand that may benefit a future generation of players.
What really gets to me is the fact rugby league has rarely been in a stronger position. The NRL has just signed a $90 million sponsorship deal with Telstra and it makes millions from the State of Origin and electronic media rights - and yet the salary cap has barely moved over the past few years.
It is about time we saw exactly how much the game earns and we received a bigger slice of the action.
The Rugby League Professionals Association, our players union, is weak and does nothing for the players. Yet, how can we expect the RLPA to represent our best interests when it is partially funded by the NRL? That money has compromised our union . . . how can we expect 100 per cent support?
I saw how strong the NFL players' union was when I went to New York for a trial last year. It put the players first, down to the number of hours they could train each day. The AFL players association also has a good say in the running of their game.
The RLPA's relationship with the NRL leaves us with one weapon - to strike. A players' strike during origin would send a clear and powerful message. It would show we can't be walked over. If it takes a giant stand for the greater good, for the next generation, I'm prepared to do it and I know the players would support me.
Guys like Darren Lockyer and Andrew Johns are near the end of their careers. They have tried for years to do something about this and have got nowhere. I want results.
There needs to be more money for up-and-coming players because the minimum wage is too low. It's wrong that there are blokes who train as hard as I do at the Bulldogs but they get paid stuff all for their hard work. While I acknowledge the effort is worth it for the opportunities a great club like Canterbury can provide, the pay is unfair if you're a fringe first-grader or you play premier league.
We must stop rugby union from poaching our best talent. How can the NRL consider it good business to allow the best players to go to rugby? Rugby union was a game no one gave a toss about until Lote Tuqiri, Wendell Sailor and Mat Rogers were allowed to defect.
Now rugby has recruited Timana Tahu, one of the best athletes I've seen, at his absolute peak and it hasn't done a thing to develop him.
Rugby has hit the panic button because it doesn't have anyone coming through the ranks.
A strike wouldn't be good for the game and I stress it's a last resort. But to do it when it would hurt the game most - during origin - is the only way the players can be heard.
It would prove that without us there is no game."

I see where he is coming from but I think striking is a bit harsh...

Mr Saab said:
They are not role models...

Exactly but the way the media paints them makes them seem as if they are...what a joke !!!.

Half of these guys would be on their asses if they did not make the grade or play league.

fourplay

kia ora storm said:
Half of these guys would be on their asses if they did not make the grade or play league.

So ? Bill Gates would be on his ass if he wasn't good at coding and Donald Trump would be on his ass if he wasn't a good building contractor.

greenhat

all other issues aside, striking during origin is the worst idea i have ever heard

It would go a long way towards completely destroying the passion of origin if the fans knew the players were willing to give up representing their state over some financial issue.
It could kill origin in one single stupid move, i reckon.

Also I think aside from taking so much passion out, it would hugely piss off fans.
Whether you think its justified or not, most fans would be having flashbacks to the bad old days of the super league war.
With the presence AFL, Union and Soccer have now, I think -a lot- of League fans would leave and never come back.

Nathan B

fourplay said:
So ? Bill Gates would be on his ass if he wasn't good at coding and Donald Trump would be on his ass if he wasn't a good building contractor.

Well said.

I get as frustrated as the next bloke when I see nurses and teachers around the world earning $50k a year, and fat-arse basketball players getting $50 million a year.

But guess what? Tough f*cking sh*t. These guys are lucky that they're talented at something that earns them a lot of money. The guys in the US get a nice share of the games takings. As far as I know the NRL players do not. They want more, and, as unfair as it might be, they deserve more.

Get over it, people.

Willie is talking strike not because he wants to strike, but because it's the only leg the players can stand on. This talk is as much about wanting the players union to get it's act together than it is about actually refusing to play football.

But it's Willie Mason who says it, so league fans can't help frothing at the mouth and playing the man, NOT THE BALL.

Nathan B

greenhat said:
all other issues aside, striking during origin is the worst idea i have ever heard

It would go a long way towards completely destroying the passion of origin if the fans knew the players were willing to give up representing their state over some financial issue.

Also I think aside from taking so much passion out, it would hugely piss off fans.
Whether you think its justified or not, most fans would be having flashbacks to the bad old days of the super league war.
With the presence AFL, Union and Soccer have now, I think -a lot- of League fans would leave and never come back.

The strike talk is a threat. Do you get how threats work?

Do you want Willie to come out and say that the players should refuse to play league games during December?

Yeah, they'll go far doing that.

Willie would be stupid if he started threatening this. Talking threat during origin is the smart ploy.

brokendigit

fourplay said:
You guys are missing the point. Do you think NFL or NBA players should only get 100k a year instead of 10 million because the average wage is only 40k ?

fourplay said:
Its unfair to the players.

Understand the point you are making, but a couple of questions:
Are you seriously asking us to compare RL in Australia to either the NFL or NBA. Why not compare South Sydney with Chelsea whilst you're at it? Your are talking about a sport with a two-city centric population of what? 9 million people? against a market-saturated population of 250 million plus?!
It's a bit like comparing Microsoft & Alf's Electrical Repair Shop.

No matter how many clubs turn their players out in Armani suits, or drive Humvees, this is still a tiny market in which the NRL operate.

It's unfair to the players? Why not consider where players are today (money & opportunity-wise) compared with 20 years ago? Do you honestly think a single player (International or Reserve Grader) would swap places with a player from 1987?

The game is working through a period of growth - some say too slowly, but growth none the less. And the beauty about the popularity of RL is not dependant on seasonal, or uncontrollable factors. How popular is RU at club level anytime other than a Workd Cup year? How many people will be heading out to see the Waratahs play their Super 14s matches when they fail to win a game this year? And how popular will AFL be in Sydney if the Swans go through a lean spell for a few seasons?

The NRL are promoting sustainable growth. Something that can't necessarily be said about the other codes in Australia - & it's about time the Willie's of the world realised it.

butchmcdick

fourplay said:

The problem is the money exists to RAISE the cap but it is being spent elsewhere as the players are a last priority. Look how much the game is making, with the salary cap only 4 million where is the rest of the money going ? The salary cap was $3.25 million when the TV and sponsership deals were peanuts... now they have massive deals, even though the NRL ripped themselves and the players off again for their own and News Ltd's interests, yet they barely raised the salary cap, so where is all this money going ? Its unfair to the players.

If it so unfair then the players who are so upset can retire. There is a perception that the NRL board go to sleep each night on a pile of money whilst the poor fringe grader is lining up at the salvation army soup kitchen begging for a feed. I just don't think the scott mintos of the world are worth 100k.

If fact why havn't a current affair or today tonight done a story on how fringe first graders are living in poverty while those greedy NRL fatcats slurp cavair from hookers titties whilst wiping thier arses with $100 notes. Yeah you got my sympathy willie, strike son, society is with you mate. We all feel your pain. In fact things are so tough i think world vision will be taking your case to the untied nations next week. I can see the headlines now ' league players strike to fight unjust profit sharing scheme'

meltiger

legend said:
If Rugby and AFL players can earn upwards of 800kper year, then why not League players? With more money coming from nine, Telstra, TAB, why shouldn't the players benefit?

There is only 3 players in Aussie Rules earning that kind of money. The AFL has a distinctly higher salary cap than the NRL does, but remember, under the NRL cap, you're only taking into account your top 25 players, the AFL cap takes into account a minimum of 36-37 players.

You are right though, if the game is generating the money to support the cap being raised to 5 million dollars in the short term, then there is no reason it shouldn't be & the increase should be funded by the League, their ability to generate 100's of millions of dollars in tv rights is only made possible by the players and clubs.

People sledging Mason do forget he is right, without these players (Who we have forced to become full time professionals to increase the quality of the sport), there would be no game to watch.

Striking would be the worst possible thing to happen to the game and to call for that is extreme, but forgetting that threat, he is right in principle. I do wonder what peoples opinions would be if he hadn't of mentioned striking.

meltiger

butchmcdick said:
If it so unfair then the players who are so upset can retire. There is a perception that the NRL board go to sleep each night on a pile of money whilst the poor fringe grader is lining up at the salvation army soup kitchen begging for a feed. I just don't think the scott mintos of the world are worth 100k.

If fact why havn't a current affair or today tonight done a story on how fringe first graders are living in poverty while those greedy NRL fatcats slurp cavair from hookers titties whilst wiping thier arses with $100 notes. Yeah you got my sympathy willie, strike son, society is with you mate. We all feel your pain. In fact things are so tough i think world vision will be taking your case to the untied nations next week. I can see the headlines now ' league players strike to fight unjust profit sharing scheme'

:lol: What a rant!

We live in a society where we ae able to ask our employers to pay what we are worth.

If the game is generating 100's of millions of dollars, why shouldn't the players, who are the prime reason the game is able to generate that kind of money, reap the rewards of their hard work?

God-King Dean

I am at a loss for words. He is just... so... dumb.

I'm frustrated trying to figure out how a person can be so geniused without having a disability.

drake

Whether you like Willie or not, the NRL is the worst sports administration kicking 'round. AwFuL's administration is light years ahead in every aspect. They have a pasion for their sport and don't care who they piss off to push AFL for their players, and most of all, their fans benefit.
Whilst News Limited is involved, the NRL will be a stunted and geniused competition.

brokendigit

drake said:
Whether you like Willie or not, the NRL is the worst sports administration kicking 'round. AwFuL's administration is light years ahead in every aspect. They have a pasion for their sport and don't care who they piss off to push AFL for their players, and most of all, their fans benefit.

I'd like to hear more.
Please show me how the current AFL Administration is light-years ahead?
Whilst you're at it - the ARU as well?

ouwet

greenhat said:

What passion? NSW Has NO Passion for origin at all! I'm willing to say MOST people in NSW who give a f**k are people with no NRL interest at all (Inner West & North Shore people) because it's a night out.

Sydney fail to sellout two origin games (When two are played in Sydney).
In all honesty... Would you rather your team won during those weeks in origin or NSW??????

To what Willie Mason said i don't agree with a strike but i agree with him 100% AND most of you people are bagging him down without thinking or because his Willie Mason... If Andrew John's wrote it you would take notice!
We need to make sure our player's are paid and treated right! RL cannot (As much as Gallop says otherwise) afford to let talent like Tahu, Tquiri, Roger's, Barnes and all those NRL stars going to ESL, go so easily.

RL Makes MILLIONS upon millions and what happens? The salary cap is only 3.5million.
The competition might be closer but the great teams will never be seen again, the standard as dropped! Close games aren't good games... Every competition needs that 3-4 top tier teams that the rest strive to catch...

ouwet

Immortal said:
D*ckheeeeeead.

Fans often emulate players... You're in the Willie mould.

Oh that's right i forgot Passion in RL is TV ratings and not bumps on seats:roll: .
Your in the Barrett mouldd won origin but sweet f**k all. Tell him which one he'd rather.

Oh When The Saints... CHOOOOOKE.
Oh When The Saints... CHOOOOOOOOOKE

They haven't Won Since '79
They haven't won in our life time:lol:

There's a reason WHY a game got taken to Melbourne during the yr 2 games are played in NSW mate... You figured it out yet:roll: ?

God-King Dean

LebaneseForces said:
Oh that's right i forgot Passion in RL is TV ratings and not bumps on seats:roll: .
Your in the Barrett mouldd won origin but sweet f**k all. Tell him which one he'd rather.

Oh When The Saints... CHOOOOOKE.
Oh When The Saints... CHOOOOOOOOOKE

They haven't Won Since '79
They haven't won in our life time:lol:

There's a reason WHY a game got taken to Melbourne during the yr 2 games are played in NSW mate... You figured it out yet:roll: ?

:lol: Looks like I struck a nerve with the little girl.

D*ck head cuzzy brooo.