Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Worst halfback in NRL 2011

Worst halfback?

boxhead

maybe you should think before you calling other people a dribbler

hornby has retired from rep footy :)

Pearce has been in the nrl for 4 years now, he always been halfback thats the only position he plays.

Come on lets be fair about this
soward wasnt given 4 years or more to learn his trade and remain in the nrl he was given stints into lower grades, how many other players at halfback or any other important position be given this long and still havent shown much like pearce.

Every finals game the roosters played pearce has done little in , same with state of origin

you eels fans are complaining about your halves already

I'll ignore the rest of your post (because it is useless tripe) and focus on the bolded part; regarding Soward, do you think Pearce might have been kept in first-grade all this time and Soward given stints in the lower grades because of the fact that Pearce quite obviously is a very good halfback and did so well for someone so young?

You are as blind as you come. Also, regarding the finals games and State of Origin, you must have missed SOO Game 3 of 2010 when Pearce put in a great performance and also the game against the Tigers where he and Carney proved their quality.

Noname36

So, on that basis, this is how I have it;

1) Thurston
2) Prince
3) Cronk
4) Pearce
5) Orford
6) Hornby
7) Gidley
8) Walsh
9) Moltzen
10) Sandow
11) Lui
12) Wallace
13) Mullen
14) Hodkinson
15) Seymour
16) McRone
17) Keating.
18) Smith
19) Robson
20) Mortimer
n/a) Cherry Evans
n/a2) Henry.

When I first read this I realised that you must have never watched a game of football involving Newcastle in your life. I'm a Knight's supporter, and I'll usually go out of my way to defend Gids and the crap he gets around here, but really, he's an awful, awful halfback. He played well as a 2nd receiver to Mullen at the end of the year, but he was absolutely terrible at halfback in the games Mullen was injured and he was forced to lead the team in a halfback role. Heck, Mullen is a natural 5/8, but he has more halfback talent in his finger than Gids unfortunately has in his entire body.

Then I saw this little gem:

Mullen is still an opion at half so I've included him. More erratic than perhaps anyone on this list, including Seymour. And unlike Sandow, he will give up a line break or 3. I'm surprised his name didn't come up more often in discussion.

...and I realised that you must be a souffs supporter.

Nobody does, gaba is on a personal crusade. The list speaks for itself.
i was actually talking about NAS' list... my brain passively blocks Gaba out.

we'll find Mullen in the #7 jersey next year, whether he's playing with Henry or Rogers. Gidley is unlikely to come into the equation unless injury forces our hand again. given that Henry has missed most of the pre-season with an injury, that may yet be the case. either way, Mullen will make a bloody good fist of it with a better pack in front of him. he probably could have been a better 5/8th - more immediately given it's his god given natural position, but he will get there as a halfback.

fowlster

no offence but there is no way pearce is ranked in the top 10,

hornby has not been outplayed by many halfbacks, and hornby wasnt a fulltime halfback like pearce, etc

no 1 halfback in nsw is hornby

2 - daylight

thats how poor the halfbacks in nsw are at the moment, there isnt any competition to hornby

I used to almost sorta feel sorry for you Gaba. You're definitely not the full quid.

But now I know you're just a dickhead.

If you truly believe this, you need to start following some other sport. You have no understanding of this game.

Qld-Sharkie

I think this sums it all up
Final round 2010 Tim Smith

0 Runs, 0 Metres, 0 L/Break, 0 L/Break Assist, 0 Try Assist

CMUX

no offence but there is no way pearce is ranked in the top 10,

hornby has not been outplayed by many halfbacks, and hornby wasnt a fulltime halfback like pearce, etc

no 1 halfback in nsw is hornby

2 - daylight

thats how poor the halfbacks in nsw are at the moment, there isnt any competition to hornby

Gaba, why do you edit every single post you make?

If the above is the edited and “improved” edition, I hate to see the dribble you originally posted.

ANTiLAG

In all seriousness CMUX - suggesting Hornby is the best NSW halfback, then pointing out that Hornby is a late comer to boot to the position thus amplify the seriousness of NSW's current halfback woes, is probably the MOST credible 'idea' that Gaba has had. Generally his posts are far far worse.

Packy

Tim Smith easily.

If forced to have 1 of these guys in your team, most would come home with Mortimer and a few with Sandow.

Smith would be waiting for his mum to pick him up.

:lol: How would you have gone in a game of one on one with MJ?

What's one on one got to do with anything? We're talking about a team game here.

Does winning a premiership make a player the best at his position? Does it even stop him being below average at his position?

There's a salary cap mate. All teams have to carry ordinary players to save money.

What a ridiculous post

Only if you can't read and think at the same time.

Every finals game the roosters played pearce has done little in , same with state of origin

What are you on about? Pearce was excellent against Penrith and the Titans. He only sucked when his forwards were monstered.

The only game where Hornby was above average was the grand final, where his forwards were dominating. Likewise Soward's only good game in the finals was against Manly.

regarding Soward, do you think Pearce might have been kept in first-grade all this time and Soward given stints in the lower grades because of the fact that Pearce quite obviously is a very good halfback and did so well for someone so young?

I think he's upset that Soward was cut by the Chooks because Pearce had more talent.

Pearce and Carney took a very ordinary side to the grand final last year; Hornby and Soward were carried to one by theirs.

hellteam

I'd take Sandow and Smith before Mortimer.

Mortimer has the ball playing skills of John Morris

Plus Mortimer is a five eight

He plays wherever the coach puts him. He never wore 6 much before first grade. In NYC he mostly wore 7 and he got loads of LBAs and TAs.

Here's his numbers over a season and a half in NYC:

Mortimer NYC 2008-'09
App: 32
Try: 16
LB: 15
LBA: 22
TA: 35

Here's his numbers for first grade:

Mortimer NRL 2009-'10
App: 39
Try: 12
LB: 15
LBA: 5
TA: 14

His linebreak assists are pretty poor, but they'll come with time. He's shown consistent playmaking skills in the juniors as well as sporadically in first grade.