Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Y.N.W.A. Thread (Liverpool fans thread) II

Jack_Napier

Migs, Can and Sakho were good in the second half. Still have to watch the first half as I was out last night. From what I have read we pressed and worked our asses off the first 30 minutes.
Obviously more time with Klopp will bring an even better performance. We looked like we ran out of steam a little bit.

Loved watching our pressing game in action again as well. The little triggers like slight mis control and then watching 3-4 of our guys press reminded me of the 13-14 season. Klopp still has plenty of work to do tho, mainly getting rid of Skrtel, but last night was encouraging.

cb4

It's all well and good pressing, and forcing turnovers, but we had zero creativity. Apart from Origi's header we created no chances.

I was at cheers bar and someone said to me that we have spent 300 million and don't have a corner or free kick specialist. I answered with, 300 million and we don't have a midfield.

That game showed me that a lot of Rodgers signings will be weeded out. Lallana and Milner are the first 2. Skrtel, although not a Rodgers signing, is surely another.

A UK pundit, name escapes me, said Klopp will have to spend 200 million more to get this team competing and Carragher went nuts. But old mate was right.

We need a new LB, a RCB, fullback cover, a DM, a creative midfielder, a winger, and probably another striker because I can't see Benteke lasting in Klopps system.

I didn't mention goalkeeper, because I think Migs will be outstanding if we get the defense right.

Foz

Skrtel looked like he was drunk in the first half.
The second half he went back to the Melbourne Storm type defence.( the wrestle)
A penalty waiting to happen.
I'll keep saying we need central defenders.
Sakho,s the only one I'd keep.

why are our strikers always injured?
Something in the water?

thorson1987

Skrtel looked like he was drunk in the first half.
The second half he went back to the Melbourne Storm type defence.( the wrestle)
A penalty waiting to happen.
I'll keep saying we need central defenders.
Sakho,s the only one I'd keep.

why are our strikers always injured?
Something in the water?

we signed the Panthers strength and conditioning team.

cb4

Sakho is a top 3 CB in the league. He needs a calm RCB next to him, one that can organise a high line and is very disciplined. Howedes is the man for that role, should go all out to sign him.

I think we need a defense first left back. That way we could play Moreno as a winger, he has all the energy and attacking mind to play that role.

saint.nick

It's all well and good pressing, and forcing turnovers, but we had zero creativity. Apart from Origi's header we created no chances.

I was at cheers bar and someone said to me that we have spent 300 million and don't have a corner or free kick specialist. I answered with, 300 million and we don't have a midfield.

That game showed me that a lot of Rodgers signings will be weeded out. Lallana and Milner are the first 2. Skrtel, although not a Rodgers signing, is surely another.

A UK pundit, name escapes me, said Klopp will have to spend 200 million more to get this team competing and Carragher went nuts. But old mate was right.

We need a new LB, a RCB, fullback cover, a DM, a creative midfielder, a winger, and probably another striker because I can't see Benteke lasting in Klopps system.

I didn't mention goalkeeper, because I think Migs will be outstanding if we get the defense right.

It was robbie savage. We need better players but given klopps fantastic recruitment record on the cheap it might not need to take 200 million.

Agree about creativity though. My mate tried convincing me that Milner was doing a great job. Lol, what?! Sure he ran hard but f**k they call him boring James Milner for a reason. He had zero positive attacking impact. We partly relied on him to provide creativity but there was nothing, not to mention he was wearing steel capped boots because his touch was all over the place.

Coitinho needs to grow balls and try be consistent for once.

Not sure about migs under any coach. His skill with the ball at feet and distribution is terrible.

But yeah agree totally about the midfield. They either need to massively improve or we need new players.

Hate the people defending skrtel. He's fkn useless but they let stats with zero context such as 'headers won' cloud their judgement. Biggest example is that wanker jamie kanwar on Liverpool-kop. According to him he's our best defender :lol::lol:

cb4

Anyone saying Sakho is our best defender is deluded. Milner offers nothing in attack but presses hard. I suggest anyone with a smart phone, download the Anfield Index app, and listen to the latest podcast.
Gags deciphered the pressing stats, took him 6 hours, but it makes for fantastic listening.
He did it the opening rounds, and they have just been smashed.

There is a rumour floating around that Klopp will be given anywhere between 30-50mil in January. He can be very creative with that but there are urgent needs. A boss DM, and fullback cover. I don't want to waste money on a CB without having a red hot crack at Howedes or even Sokratis, but that goes against the moral or raiding BvB.

I would honestly like a versatile FB, a DM, CM and a winger.

And I disagree about Migs. He is young, but is the best shot stopper in the L. His distribution and the ball at his feet is terrible yes, but there is a lot to work with, especially if Klopp sorts the defense out.

saint.nick

ha don't you mean to say Skrtel?

Let's see if that transfer funding rumour comes true. The dude on the site that Jack and I read says that we will need to sell to buy if we want to avoid risking sanctions.

Out of all those strengthening requirements right now, I think DM and CM are our most pressing needs. We definitely need an upgrade on Lucas, and definitely need someone who can anchor the midfield and keep the tempo ticking with some meaningful creative contribution too.

saint.nick

That Kanwar dude said, 'Skrtel completed 15 blocks/clearances/interceptions/tackles, more than any other player'.

FFS, shit like that with absolutely no contextual background is just irritating.

lolesi

No doubt nick but klopp and the likes will see through that.

100% agree about the Milner comments. He is a toiler at best. Really doesn't add anything and in a game like the Spurs one, Milner will never be the one to turn it into 1-0.

Positive signs though and will look to see how we are going in about a month to make more of a comment about that.

saint.nick

I think everyone is getting a little too Carried away with the pressing though. Yeah, it was great to see them quickly buy into his philosophy, which i kinda expected, but pressing alone will not win us games. I don't care if we're the first team to outrun Spurs, on the balance of Chances they still looked better anyway.

cb4

The pressing was good, we just didn't have the cattle available to capitilise on the hard work.

Jack_Napier

Plus I dont think it's a matter of getting too carried away. The pressing showed to me that our players give a shit again. the work rate put out to me showed a team who wanted to be out there and having a go. I haven't seen that at all this season and for most of last season.

One of the most important aspects to me is attitude and workrate and defence are good signs of this and it's something I like seeing in sides. Klopps has had us for 3 training sessions and already our attitude and commitment have lifted, and IMO will continue to get better.

Haffa

Also showed the different kind of pressure a new manager brings, I imagine a lot of them know they're playing for their Liverpool careers.

saint.nick

Plus I dont think it's a matter of getting too carried away. The pressing showed to me that our players give a shit again. the work rate put out to me showed a team who wanted to be out there and having a go. I haven't seen that at all this season and for most of last season.

One of the most important aspects to me is attitude and workrate and defence are good signs of this and it's something I like seeing in sides. Klopps has had us for 3 training sessions and already our attitude and commitment have lifted, and IMO will continue to get better.

We certainly are pressing a lot more than we did with Rodgers, but is that reflective of player attitude, or just Rodgers' game plan? I reckon it's about 5:95. I think what we saw would have happened under any new manager (if told to do so), but with Klopp, yeah, it definitely won't be temporary.

I just think some fans are getting carried away with using the pressing stats as some kind of massive performance indicator. Those metres are the least we should expect under Klopp, and we always knew that's what we would see.

cb4

He was ok, not the best. Sakho was easily the best on ground, followed by Can.

Milner on the flip, was rat shit. As was Phil. Both are in a ridiculous form slump.

saint.nick

He was ok, not the best. Sakho was easily the best on ground, followed by Can.

Milner on the flip, was rat shit. As was Phil. Both are in a ridiculous form slump.

Is Milner in a form slump or merely just average? I never watched him at City that much, so can't tell.

Some journo, I think Andy Kelly, gave Lallana 8/10. What the f**k did he do to earn 8/10?! He had NO positive impact on the game that resulted in clear cut chances or goals. The guy is still up to his usual habits; dawdling on the ball, not being direct enough, not providing the finishing touch. He really needs to watch some clips of Lampard and take a leaf out of his book.

Sakho was by far out best player. HE should be the vice captain. In fact, I think he'd make a better captain than Henderson. He never got that chance at a look-in because Rodgers in all his wisdom never rated in him.

Phil needs to harden up a bit. Not mentally weak, but not mentally strong enough either. Leaning a bit more towards the weak side.

Pretty shit defending by Clyne and Skrtel for that goal. It was their FIRST chance the whole game and they scored...typical.

Klopp has heaps of work to do. The team is unbalanced as f**k. Needs more width and needs a better central midfielder, someone who knows how to pull strings.