Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your 3 darkhorses for season 2018

Panthers regressed last year. Hook's 2nd year as coach and he has them playing an unrecognisable game plan (as in, no one could call what they were doing a gameplan) and players stubbornly left out of their best positions.
They string a few flukey wins together when Moylan throws the "plan" out and plays some decent footy, and he gets punted for it, with Gus' media mates putting out a few hit pieces to make the guy seem like he's not interested in playing.

ACTPanthers

Panthers regressed last year. Hook's 2nd year as coach and he has them playing an unrecognisable game plan (as in, no one could call what they were doing a gameplan) and players stubbornly left out of their best positions.
They string a few flukey wins together when Moylan throws the "plan" out and plays some decent footy, and he gets punted for it, with Gus' media mates putting out a few hit pieces to make the guy seem like he's not interested in playing.
Really? I'm no fan of Griffin, or Gus for that matter, but I really don't think that Moyza was 'punted' because he 'throws the "plan" out'

I 100% agree on the lack of game plan though, that shits me to tears

Really? I'm no fan of Griffin, or Gus for that matter, but I really don't think that Moyza was 'punted' because he 'throws the "plan" out'

Obviously I'm joining a few dots here as to why he was let go.. but I think it's pretty clear he didn't get along with the dud coach. And Panthers seemed to play their best footy when they went away from whatever their plan was supposed to be and played more off-the-cuff. Moylan was usually at the forefront of that.
Doesn't seem like a stretch to suspect there were "creative differences" and Gus backed his man Hook.

ACTPanthers

Obviously I'm joining a few dots here as to why he was let go.. but I think it's pretty clear he didn't get along with the dud coach. And Panthers seemed to play their best footy when they went away from whatever their plan was supposed to be and played more off-the-cuff. Moylan was usually at the forefront of that.
Doesn't seem like a stretch to suspect there were "creative differences" and Gus backed his man Hook.

Don't get wrong, I do personally think there were issues between Hook and Moyza, I just don't think that was the crux of it - I think Moylan went off Hook when he was stood down for breaking the club rules and went out on the drink and it all descended from there.

POPEYE

Maloney is all class in attack
However
Geeze he can undo a lot of his good work when it comes to defence.
Penalties galore
Missed tackles galore
Very frustrating to watch.

He’ll put in a great kick that gets the opposition pinned down in their own half.
Then he’ll hold down a bloke on the 5 th tackle and give away a penalty ... more penalties that Gallen at his peak.
and your mob wouldn't have drank from the cup without him. Cops, priests, lawyers, morticians, car salesmen, estate agents and Maloney . . . such is f**king life

Oh and what a drink it was!

To beat them was the greatest thing rugby league has ever seen.
To see Smith make his pathetic losers speech was the cherry on top.

POPEYE

Oh and what a drink it was!

To beat them was the greatest thing rugby league has ever seen.
To see Smith make his pathetic losers speech was the cherry on top.
Wow, a little testy ol' mate, no need to get nasty because Maloney was a necessary evil
. . . and if the greatest thing in RL every year is beating Melbourne that'll do me

tumbidragon

ISIS, Socialism and Jones town. Yeah they haven't had a great last few years with dying,genocide starvation and stuff. But think if they try it just one more time, they can create Utopia... Should have a real STRONK season.

Someguy

What about the game plan of putting up a bomb on the last regardless of field position, was against sharks from memory that game was painful to watch

flippikat

Warriors.

Kearney is such a pussy, i reckon BSmith will be running the joint. Ive always thought he was a perfect fit for the Warriors.

If BSmith does actually get a good rein over the playing group, i think they could do quite well.

Good point.

Brian Smith is the perfect example of a "turnaround coach". He has a history of taking mediocre sides, kicking some sh!t & getting them into regular playoff footy.

His only failing is that once his teams get into September, they can't seal the deal & win a grand final. But as far as getting improvement to the club's regular season performances, he's a good signing.

Wow, a little testy ol' mate, no need to get nasty because Maloney was a necessary evil
. . . and if the greatest thing in RL every year is beating Melbourne that'll do me

Ha

Beating a scam smith lead Melbourne in the grand final was.
The cheating motherf**ker rambled like anyone gave a f**k about his little feelings.
We didn’t.

The only speech anyone wanted to hear was King Gals
Greatest grand final speech in in any code ever.

You mean the speech that made the sharks look like the dicks that they are. Smith came out of that looking great, Sharks not so much

The one that went for 5 mins too long
The one where he told us how to enjoy winning a grand final?
He sounded like a complete merkin...probably because he is.

POPEYE

Ha

Beating a scam smith lead Melbourne in the grand final was.
The cheating motherf**ker rambled like anyone gave a f**k about his little feelings.
We didn’t.

The only speech anyone wanted to hear was King Gals
Greatest grand final speech in in any code ever.
Crikey, now I know which of your legs you don't like getting pulled ol' mate

I appreciate the way Smith The Great has to be worked into everything RL but it's getting a little too much . . . methinks your 'we' and TB's 'us' should get a room . . . don't go getting too easy, I'm on your side, I wished the Sharks to win the cup

Crikey, now I know which of your legs you don't like getting pulled ol' mate

I appreciate the way Smith The Great has to be worked into everything RL but it's getting a little too much . . . methinks your 'we' and TB's 'us' should get a room . . . don't go getting too easy, I'm on your side, I wished the Sharks to win the cup
Did ya?

I had a dream

One small step for man, but one giant leap for mankind

You can turn your porch lights off
Because we’re coming home with the trophy

ACTPanthers

This is like watching 2 old drunks argue at the pub as they progressively get more pissed...

238cy5