Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your RD 1 2018 line up

franklin2323

I get ya, but I must admit last year with Moylan and Cartwright running the show it was pretty damn exciting to watch. This year not so much. Watching us toil in the red zone for 10 minutes only to watch the other team break away and score points was frustrating to say the least.

In the end, it's the young spine that gets you every time. Even Craig Bellamy would struggle to build a competitive team with a 19 year old halfback, 21 year old 5/8th and fullback. That's why I am so looking forward to seeing what Maloney can do for us. I was never convinced about Moylan as a 5/8th because of his fondness for miracle pays. It was sort of in line with his "natural born genius personality" (I don't need to train hard, I just play footy) and I think being the main man just played on his desire for the big play. I think at Cronulla he is in a bigger pond and will be just another player and that will help him settle down.

Agree with that. Moylan you want to get the ball on a the halfway line with a retreating defence. He will tear them up. Inside the 20 with a set defence is when he loses his head.

Interestingly Ivan wanted him as a FB when he was going so I guess we will see how long he wears 6 for

franklin2323

Perhaps because under Cleary we scored less points every year. In four seasons from 2012 to 2015 Cleary's Panther's averaged 452.25 with a low of 399 (2015) and a high of 506 (2014). Hook's two seasons have yielded an average of 533.5 with a high of 563 (2016) and a low of 504 (2017). An eighty point average differential will probably have some impact on the entertainment value.

I make no comment as to who had the better squad, but the simple fact is the team scores more points under Hook. Imagine if we could actually convert our time in the red zone into points?

This is what I mean about how it all goes negative. We were treading water imo under Ivan is he better then Griffin quite possibly the stats say otherwise though. Maybe it was the poor way the sacking and signing was handled that brought the hate. Maybe having such talent we had our expectations high but we are a better team in almost every way now... Just need that final step

OldPanther

That was a problem last season: Edwards was always in support but almost never got the ball. Griffin doesn't seem to value offloads up the middle.

I can't see Merrin not offloading this year. It's in his nature. Same with Maloney and repeat sets. Cleary is more susceptible to being coached out of habits because he's younger but these guys are veteran's of successful teams.

kinghippo

Egan will be our next hooker however he needs at least half a yr in nsw cup to get him ready for first grade may is a utility
I think if Egan is better than Katoa in the trials we should run with him.
If Egan is the one lined up to take over from Wallace we should blood him now because there is only going to be a limited opportunity baring injuries for first grade time until may comes back.
Loads of teams start with a rookie, may as well give him a shot now rather than mess with hopefully a winning team later.
It could help keep Wallace in better shape before the pointy end of the season when we will probably need a 80 minute hooker

kinghippo

I
That was a problem last season: Edwards was always in support but almost never got the ball. Griffin doesn't seem to value offloads up the middle.
I am really hoping Edwards grabs a few tries this season and that he will play the ball and take the line on in the opposition 20.
He didn’t get much attacking ball at all, whether that was him finding his feet or the halves deliberately picking other options it needs to change this year.

kinghippo

He
I can't see Merrin not offloading this year. It's in his nature. Same with Maloney and repeat sets. Cleary is more susceptible to being coached out of habits because he's younger but these guys are veteran's of successful teams.
Merrin is locked into my SuperCoach team, I reckon he’s in for a big season.
Looking at my SuperCoach a lot of panthers have snuck their way in there again.
Does this forum run a SuperCoach code?

franklin2323

I

I am really hoping Edwards grabs a few tries this season and that he will play the ball and take the line on in the opposition 20.
He didn’t get much attacking ball at all, whether that was him finding his feet or the halves deliberately picking other options it needs to change this year.

I can't think of a player to come into FG and straight into FB. He had 2 games on the wing then was FB. Was always going to take time the pre season will help heaps

OldPanther

He

Merrin is locked into my SuperCoach team, I reckon he’s in for a big season.
Looking at my SuperCoach a lot of panthers have snuck their way in there again.
Does this forum run a SuperCoach code?

No idea but it would be cool.

Devilous

With Dallin out for the first few weeks does anyone know what the likely right side combo will be?

Are we going back to Whare or Blake on the wing or have we got a Winger/Fullback going around in Reserve grade who could step in? Cause I'm a big fan of a specialist 'winger' taking the position than forcing out centres to try and cover.

Also has Kikau managed to get himself a bench spot after his world cup run? He could be our big impact player this year I feel.

Panfa

With Dallin out for the first few weeks does anyone know what the likely right side combo will be?

Are we going back to Whare or Blake on the wing or have we got a Winger/Fullback going around in Reserve grade who could step in? Cause I'm a big fan of a specialist 'winger' taking the position than forcing out centres to try and cover.

Also has Kikau managed to get himself a bench spot after his world cup run? He could be our big impact player this year I feel.
We have bought a winger from the bulldogs called tyrone phillips hr coupd fill in for dallin if we dont wanna move blake

Fairly certain it’ll be Blake with Peachey in the centres.

OldPanther

I heard from a decent source that Kikau will be in our 17 from Rnd 1, & he’s even been training on an edge. This maybe because CHN is still injured but good signs.

So what happens to our back row if Kikau hits peak form running on an edge? As much as it sucks losing players in some positions we have an abundance.

Devilous

We have bought a winger from the bulldogs called tyrone phillips hr coupd fill in for dallin if we dont wanna move blake
Sounds like that could have been a good option if he hadn't got injured.

Fairly certain it’ll be Blake with Peachey in the centres.
Hmm, I would have preferred leaving Blake in the centres but if we don't have any other options I guess that would be the plan. I just remember Blake/Whare being fish out of water when playing wing. :(

I heard from a decent source that Kikau will be in our 17 from Rnd 1, & he’s even been training on an edge. This maybe because CHN is still injured but good signs.
That's good news! We have plenty of workhorses and need an impact player. Watching him reminded me of both Waqa and Peachy playing in reserve grade, way too good to be there and just waiting for it to click and become a real good first grader.

Guess all will be revealed soon with our first trial coming up. Be interesting to see how they perform with all the off-season drama!