Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your RD 1 2018 line up

OldPanther

Fox sport predicted line ups(they totally forgot Katoa exists):

https://coupler.foxsports.com.au/ap...87ae459d79060067f46?__twitter_impression=true

Panthers

1. Dylan Edwards

2. Dean Whare

3. Tyrone Peachey

4. Waqa Blake

5. Josh Mansour

6. James Maloney

7. Nathan Cleary

8. James Tamou

9. Peter Wallace

10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard

11. Corey Harawira-Naera

12. Isaah Yeo

13. Trent Merrin

14. Wayde Egan

15. James Fisher-Harris

16. Tim Browne

17. Viliame Kikau

franklin2323

Fox sport predicted line ups(they totally forgot Katoa exists):

https://coupler.foxsports.com.au/ap...87ae459d79060067f46?__twitter_impression=true

Panthers

1. Dylan Edwards

2. Dean Whare

3. Tyrone Peachey

4. Waqa Blake

5. Josh Mansour

6. James Maloney

7. Nathan Cleary

8. James Tamou

9. Peter Wallace

10. Reagan Campbell-Gillard

11. Corey Harawira-Naera

12. Isaah Yeo

13. Trent Merrin

14. Wayde Egan

15. James Fisher-Harris

16. Tim Browne

17. Viliame Kikau

I think Katoa for Egan.

The bench seems locked in besides which prop takes that last spot. Unless Browne and RCG are going to switch before kickoff. I'd go Leota

I think Griffin would love a team of 11 props, one half, and a fullback. Just barge the ball over the line, kick if you don't make it, and have someone at the back to cover the opposition's kicks.

Tbh under Cleary the footy was terrible to watch. I reckon under Hook its more exciting.
Cleary plays the grinding boring footy. Watch the tigers be the worse attacking side in nrl in 2018.

Whino

Tbh under Cleary the footy was terrible to watch. I reckon under Hook its more exciting.
Cleary plays the grinding boring footy. Watch the tigers be the worse attacking side in nrl in 2018.
The Tigers attack will probably be poor because their line up sucks. 1 -17 looks weak.

Panfa

Tyrone may has to be there before katoa i think can cover hooker backrow 5/8 centre even fullback

Panfa

Edwards mansour whare peachey blake maloney cleary merrin yeo harawira neara tamou wallace campbell gillard mckendry fisher harris kikau may

OldPanther

Egan will be our next hooker however he needs at least half a yr in nsw cup to get him ready for first grade may is a utility

The way I see it Egan will take time to develop so Katoa will have a role to play as second hooker to Wallace. After that Egan becomes full time hooker with either May at 6 or Luai at 6 and May as the utility. Either way Katoa becomes a bit expendable. He can't play as many positions as May either.

franklin2323

Egan will be our next hooker however he needs at least half a yr in nsw cup to get him ready for first grade may is a utility

Atleast half a season in NSW Cup anyway. He needs more then the 20 odd mins he will get off the bench in FG. As Wallace needs a rest more then play him. Katoa and May can play running forward if Wallace plays the 80. I'd give May a few games in NSW Cup when back then go from there

TheEroticGamer

Egan looks like quality but I hope for the sake of being a threat this season our spine stays the same throughout the year.

If Edwards, Maloney, Cleary and Wallace play the whole regular season together, we will be in a great position. If we have another year of throwing in young players, especially into significant positions, then chances are it'll be another 5th-8th finish.

Penrith should be doing everything they can to win the premiership this year. Who are the other main threats? Cowboys, Roosters, Storm? Their fans are satisfied by their recent premierships, their players don't want it as much as us. They don't need a premiership as much as us. We should be more desperate.

Come on Penrith. We should be up there this season.

OldPanther

Egan looks like quality but I hope for the sake of being a threat this season our spine stays the same throughout the year.

If Edwards, Maloney, Cleary and Wallace play the whole regular season together, we will be in a great position. If we have another year of throwing in young players, especially into significant positions, then chances are it'll be another 5th-8th finish.

Penrith should be doing everything they can to win the premiership this year. Who are the other main threats? Cowboys, Roosters, Storm? Their fans are satisfied by their recent premierships, their players don't want it as much as us. They don't need a premiership as much as us. We should be more desperate.

Come on Penrith. We should be up there this season.

It's a mistake to underestimate those teams.

billypilgrimnz

Neither Griffin nor Cleary really care about exciting footy, but Griffin appears to be doubling down on that this season by allowing pretty much most of our sparky players to walk.

I wasn't all that fussed that Cleary got the axe - I think he is overrated - but if I had known that his replacement was going to be Griffin....

Pomoz

I just can't begin to comprehend how you came to this conclusion...
Perhaps because under Cleary we scored less points every year. In four seasons from 2012 to 2015 Cleary's Panther's averaged 452.25 with a low of 399 (2015) and a high of 506 (2014). Hook's two seasons have yielded an average of 533.5 with a high of 563 (2016) and a low of 504 (2017). An eighty point average differential will probably have some impact on the entertainment value.

I make no comment as to who had the better squad, but the simple fact is the team scores more points under Hook. Imagine if we could actually convert our time in the red zone into points?

ACTPanthers

Perhaps because under Cleary we scored less points every year. In four seasons from 2012 to 2015 Cleary's Panther's averaged 452.25 with a low of 399 (2015) and a high of 506 (2014). Hook's two seasons have yielded an average of 533.5 with a high of 563 (2016) and a low of 504 (2017). An eighty point average differential will probably have some impact on the entertainment value.

I make no comment as to who had the better squad, but the simple fact is the team scores more points under Hook. Imagine if we could actually convert our time in the red zone into points?
Great stats, but watching the game, not just looking at overall stats, the style of football we play under griffin is boring to watch - Hence the amazement that someone actually think Griffins style is exciting.

Pomoz

Great stats, but watching the game, not just looking at overall stats, the style of football we play under griffin is boring to watch - Hence the amazement that someone actually think Griffins style is exciting.
I get ya, but I must admit last year with Moylan and Cartwright running the show it was pretty damn exciting to watch. This year not so much. Watching us toil in the red zone for 10 minutes only to watch the other team break away and score points was frustrating to say the least.

In the end, it's the young spine that gets you every time. Even Craig Bellamy would struggle to build a competitive team with a 19 year old halfback, 21 year old 5/8th and fullback. That's why I am so looking forward to seeing what Maloney can do for us. I was never convinced about Moylan as a 5/8th because of his fondness for miracle pays. It was sort of in line with his "natural born genius personality" (I don't need to train hard, I just play footy) and I think being the main man just played on his desire for the big play. I think at Cronulla he is in a bigger pond and will be just another player and that will help him settle down.

franklin2323

You didn't find any of those tries v Bulldogs in the semi last year exciting? Or the Cleary kick to Peachey?

Under both coaches we had our moments but too irregular hence why we are here

OldPanther

You didn't find any of those tries v Bulldogs in the semi last year exciting? Or the Cleary kick to Peachey?

Under both coaches we had our moments but too irregular hence why we are here

This. I think Griffin has simplified things which can be good (Bellamy's supposed best attribute) but he goes a little too far. A few adjustments in attack and we are top 4. A few attacking kicks here a bit of depth in the backline there. Being so close makes it more frustrating.

franklin2323

This. I think Griffin has simplified things which can be good (Bellamy's supposed best attribute) but he goes a little too far. A few adjustments in attack and we are top 4. A few attacking kicks here a bit of depth in the backline there. Being so close makes it more frustrating.

Maloney giving Blake early ball in space will be great viewing. Get Edwards running off a Merrin offload.. Still a place for the flair. Just need the basics right and will be good viewing