Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your team for 2016

BrotherJim05

Would be awesome to see Addo Carr tear it up outside of Simona. I remeber when Simona and Korobete had a few games together on the left they started looking very dangerous.

Naiqama is going to have to try and lock down the right centre spot. I would be surprised if he wasn't the front runner for it.

1. Tedesco
2. Addo-Carr
3. Simona
4. Naiqama
5. Nofoaluma
6. Moses
7. Brooks

If Addo-Carr is a weapon that is a potentially really good backline. Naiqama to me has to be in the centres as he gets caught out on the wing with the high ball. Still Nofo and Naiqama are going to have some tries scored down their side especially when bombs go up.

Geez we need some players to kick on though. Tedesco and Simona will perform well in the top grade. Nofo and Naiqama can definitely perform but they both have holes in their game. Moses and Brooks need to improve. Who knows how Addo-Carr will go.

There is potential in that backline but potential doesn't win games.

BuffaloRules

More worried about the forwards and bench... This ultimately win you games, not the Backs..

Remember the let down that would always happen last year when the starting props got subbed?

More worried about the forwards and bench... This ultimately win you games, not the Backs..

Remember the let down that would always happen last year when the starting props got subbed?

We've also lost Galloway and Taupau. I'm worried about our forwards as well.

I think our go forward will be better then last year. Galloway was a passenger and Taupau wouldn't touch the ball unless we were in the opposition 20. Sue and Ava will get bigger minutes and be better than both of them (except Taupau in the red zone). Griffin, McConnachie and Dallas Graham will all be better than Galloway and Buchanan (who played 12 games last year ffs).

Lawrence made a home on the edge, the other edge will be where somewhere needs to step up.

If ado-carr played left wing this year he would have scored 25 tries. Would probably have let in more but it would nice to have a winger on the left who could finish off the multiple chances that teddy and Simona set up.

Vic - I hope you are right with regards to our forwards. I think one of our biggest issues last year was Richards being way too slow for the NRL.

Maybe and its a big maybe our forwards will get us going forward and they will stop us getting rolled over the top off. Then we need our halves to kill it and most of our outside backs to play consistent high quality footy. I'm not worried about Tedesco and SImona as I reckon they will consistently kill it.

I reckon we have too many question marks over us. There is a chance we could really perform above expectations but a lot has to go our way.

I think we also have to recognise that we have a coach who has the ability to stuff us up.

BrotherJim05

I didn't think our issue was in the middle last year. We had a pretty solid rotation and could hold our own. Our problem was on the edges. Opposition back row was always miles better than ours and our backs got constantly toweled, leading to points.

I reckon Lawrence will develop into a solid 2nd rower and help act as a minder for Brooks/Moses but im not confident that Sironen can handle the defensive workload caused by their defensive issues. Maybe Halutau would be better suited. I could live with Lawrence/Halutau starting and Sironen coming off the bench

macnaz

Moses looks as though he has put on a bit more size , im sure it will help his defence . I believe he tries hard but his stature and lack of support hasnt helped. Same for Brookes to I guess. Anyway they are already better defenders than Maloney who is a highly paid veteran , so im sure improvement will come.

Moses and brooks are much better defenders than Maloney and josh Reynolds. The other two just have better defenders next to them and better system.

Tigers Tale

Moses and brooks are much better defenders than Maloney and josh Reynolds. The other two just have better defenders next to them and better system.

I sometimes think Brooks particularly loses confidence throughout a game when he misses a few tackles. His head goes down and so does his attack. Better players beside him to help cover his defence will help his attack IMHO.

These systems you talk of Vic, we need them in place sooner rather than later.

Tigers Tale

Dale Copley...any chance?

Rate him pretty high and he could be that centre we have been taking about. Don't know how much he'd cost but he would certainly strengthen the back line.

That is a good point Vic,our halves have been let down horribly by some of their team mates assistance in defence,many halves have struggled in defence on entry into the top grade, Lockyer was a perfect example, but he had good players around him who helped cover his deficiencies for his game to prosper,Brooks and Mosses need the same support to kick on.

Exactly. Look at round 26 this year. Josh Dugan runs 20m cross field, pin points Moses, makes a bee line for him, breaks the tackle and scores. This was 5m from our line. Moses hadn't been isolated by a ball player with options either side of him, he had been picked out and forced to make a one on one tackle that he shouldn't have to make. Sure you'd like him to be able to make it but not many halves in the NRL would, it's just that the others wouldn't have been left stranded one on one with one of the best ball runners in the game.

Nuts

Exactly. Look at round 26 this year. Josh Dugan runs 20m cross field, pin points Moses, makes a bee line for him, breaks the tackle and scores. This was 5m from our line. Moses hadn't been isolated by a ball player with options either side of him, he had been picked out and forced to make a one on one tackle that he shouldn't have to make. Sure you'd like him to be able to make it but not many halves in the NRL would, it's just that the others wouldn't have been left stranded one on one with one of the best ball runners in the game.

100% agree.
I was only talking about this to a mate the other day. I can recall watching games and the opposition where able to isolate Brooks or Moses by tackle 3 of their set and have a 120kg back rower running at them with no help. How does this happen!! Quite often the support from the defenders on the inside was no existent, and I believe that is where a lot of problems with their defense stems from.

BrotherJim05

100% agree.
I was only talking about this to a mate the other day. I can recall watching games and the opposition where able to isolate Brooks or Moses by tackle 3 of their set and have a 120kg back rower running at them with no help. How does this happen!! Quite often the support from the defenders on the inside was no existent, and I believe that is where a lot of problems with their defense stems from.

This makes me wonder whether we will be more likely to see Edwards playing 2nd Row rather than lock. We really need WH defenders either side of Brooks and Moses. Perhaps we will see in round 1:

1. Tedesco
2. Nofo
3. Naiqama
4. Simona
5. Addo-Carr
6. Moses
7. Rankin (Brooks to replace after suspension)
8. Woods
9. Farah
10. Sue
11. Lawrence
12. Edwards
13. Sironen

14. Cherrington
15. Grant (rumours are very strong he will be in Tigers colours 2016)
16. Ava
17. Up for grabs (Halutau to replace after suspension)

Magpies Forever

When I look at these potential line ups I really see Sironen as a player that has to start living up to 'potential' very quickly or he will be on the outer. I'll give Taylor his due, for the first time, for many years there is pressure for players to perform with depth players able to get a shot.

It will also be interesting to see who gets the shot at halfback with Brooks to miss the first game.

Nuts

When I look at these potential line ups I really see Sironen as a player that has to start living up to 'potential' very quickly or he will be on the outer. I'll give Taylor his due, for the first time, for many years there is pressure for players to perform with depth players able to get a shot.

I think he is the key. I agree, he really needs to start doing something to justify his position in the team. How long does he get to dine out on the "potential" tag?? He has hands like feet and his lateral defense is borderline at best - making it an impossible task for a halfback to defend outside him. He really needs to work his butt off in the preseason on his weaknesses. It doesn't help when you have people in the media (ie. Gordon Tallis) saying he should be picked for Australia :crazy::crazy:

Nuts

This makes me wonder whether we will be more likely to see Edwards playing 2nd Row rather than lock. We really need WH defenders either side of Brooks and Moses. Perhaps we will see in round 1:

1. Tedesco
2. Nofo
3. Naiqama
4. Simona
5. Addo-Carr
6. Moses
7. Rankin (Brooks to replace after suspension)
8. Woods
9. Farah
10. Sue
11. Lawrence
12. Edwards
13. Sironen

14. Cherrington
15. Grant (rumours are very strong he will be in Tigers colours 2016)
16. Ava
17. Up for grabs (Halutau to replace after suspension)

I like they way you are thinking, but at the same time I really think we need a bloke in the middle that can hurt the opposition forwards with a big hit and put them on their backs, thus slowing the play the ball down. I think this is also a contributing factor as to why the edge defenders are more inclined to come into the middle in an effort to help out, and thus exposing our halves. I guess we will just have to wait and see what JT does.