Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Barcelona FC Ventila el Hilo

salivor

pennywisealfie said:
i reckon we should play thierry from the start against man u. he dominated english teams for years...

Yeah I don't get why they didn't start him, he was the only one who looked like scoring when he came on. If you want a bloke who knows how to score against and beat English teams, particularly Man U then Henry is your man.

eto'o, im a huge huge eto'o fan and i never liked the henry signing that much coz i dont think he is anything compared to eto'o, but if there is one game to utilize henry, this is it.

Abz

11 hours to go boys
nailbiting.gif
I'm packing it sideways :lol:

Abz

NEWS:

http://www.fcbarcelona.com/web/english/noticies/futbol/temporada07-08/04/n080427102256.html
Few changes from the first leg

www.fcbarcelona.cat

Barça will face the return leg of the Champions League semi-final with only two changes from the game in the Camp Nou. These will be Puyol for a suspended Márquez and Edmilson for Giovani.

Carles Puyol-having completed suspensión for yellow cards-, instead of the suspended Rafa Márquez, is the main change in the list of call ups to travel to Manchester for the return leg of the semi-final of the Champions League. Edmilson will also be there – he missed the game in the Camp Nou through some back trouble-, in place of Giovani

Apart from the injured Ronaldinho and Jorquera, the other absentees from the list are Oleguer and Ezquerro, on the manager’s decision.

Training behind closed doors

270408training1_x19x.jpg
Barça trained today, Sunday at midday in the Mini Stadium, behind closed doors. It was the last session before travelling to Manchester, where they will play on Tuesday the return leg of the Champions League semi-final. Oier, the youth team goalkeeper was also present.

Touré Yaya did not appear on the pitch as he received a heavy bruise to his right ankle in the Riazor. The Ivory Coast player recived treatment in the changing room and has been included in the selection without any complications.

The Team:

Valdés, Pinto, Zambrotta, Thuram, Puyol, Milito, Abidal, Sylvinho, Edmílson, Touré Yaya, Deco, Iniesta, Xavi, Gudjohnsen, Bojan, Eto’o, Henry and Messi.

Abz

You can't be really surprised by the result - I mean if we couldn't score at home the chances of scoring at OT were even lower. I saw the clean strike by PS and it hit the target. Valdes knew he had no chance of getting it halfway through the leap. Again, Barca dominated possession but couldn't find the net. We'll have something to work on in the offseason.

Better luck next year and good luck to United next week in the final against Chelsea/Liverpool.

As apposed to usual, when you're getting packed sideways?

josh?

so now we are out of the champions league its very safe to say that this has been a VERY disapointing season. we became way too much like real madrid and their galacticos sh*t and we suffered. time to sign some hardcore defenders!

Dragooner

Swap Puyol for Senderos?

or if you think that Sendo is too good for Puyol and you don't want to rip us off, we'll gladly to

Milito for Senderos?

No worries. Call Arsene.

Abz

josh?

so now we are out of the champions league its very safe to say that this has been a VERY disapointing season. we became way too much like real madrid and their galacticos sh*t and we suffered. time to sign some hardcore defenders!
It has been a very disappointing season mate. I guess that we should just believe in what Barca have done in the passed and that is rise from a disappointing season and follow it up with a stormer the following year. Bring on the 08/09 season. Fresh start :cool:

Abz

I know it doesn't really matter now but we've got Valencia tomorrow night at Nou Camp (Monday morning our time). How do you all think we'll go?

weasel

Well, you don't have much left to play for. How about going easy on us so we can put some space between us and the relegation zone?

Abz

We'll soon find out mate :)

Like I said earlier, it doesn't really matter... just playing for pride at the moment. Maybe a few wins at the back end of this season will work well towards next season.

Abz

FFS - Madrid got out of jail against Osasuna... they were down 1-0 with 3 mins to go and managed to score 2 goals in that time :(

41956480yn2.jpg

Abz

How about a return to pride like this :D

Thumping victory with pride (6-0)

Roger Bogunyà
FC Barcelona brought together the pride and character shown in Manchester with great attacking flair to achieve an historic winning margin against Valencia. Messi, Xavi, Henry (2) and Bojan (2) scored the six goals.
After a week which saw them knocked out of Europe, the azulgranas faced a difficult test against Valencia with only four league games remaining. And Rijkaard’s side came through with flying colours. They showed the necessary unity, pride and professionalism and swept Valencia aside with some crushing, yet sublime, football.

With three goals in each half, Barça paid a small tribute to the Conde de Godó trophy, which was played for this week in Barcelona, and completely whitewashed the team which knocked them out of the cup. The goals were shared by Messi, Xavi, Henry (2) and Bojan (2).

Three goals in the first 15 mins

The Nou Camp witnessed the best start to a game all season. In fifteen minutes Barça had recovered from the blows suffered during the last four games. Firstly, Messi converted the penalty he himself had won. Almost immediately, in the 7th minute, Xavi finished off a counter attack with a powerful shot from the right. And in the 14th minute Henry scored from an Eto’o assist; game over via the fast lane – three chances and three goals.

More chances

Valencia, who looked as though they weren’t playing for anything, were just watching as Barça played neat little triangles for fun in the Valencia half. Messi was everywhere, interchanging positions with Henry, and both, along with Eto’o, could have added a fourth on various occasions. Rijkaard’s players were vastly superior.

More goals after the restart

Nothing changed in the second half. Barça moved the ball with ease but also at speed and were getting into the Valencia are with relative ease. With the attacking dynamic in their favour, the fourth goal finally arrived courtesy of Henry again, this time shooting home from the edge of the box (57 min). On the other hand, Valencia’s first shot on goal came in the 70th minute from Joaquin, which Valdes knocked away for a corner.

Bojan’s turn

Just before this, in the 65th minute, Rijkaard sent Bojan on for Eto’o and he quickly joined the goal scoring party with two killer goals. The first came from a Deco pass and the second from a Gudjohnsen assist, which was his first touch of the game. Goal, set and match.

The Goals

1-0, Messi (pen, min 5)
2-0, Xavi (min 8)
3-0, Henry (min 14)
4-0, Henry (min 58)
5-0, Bojan (min 72)
6-0, Bojan (min 79)