Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your starting lineup for 2011

Pika

Since when do you expect me to make sense? haha.

Mark T likely to drop off for Kyle/Patto.

I was very close to starting LTonga over Doogs as well.

Spot On

Also like the look of Pika's team. Love the pack. Don't care who gets the start out of KOD and Pato. Very happy to see McManus left out. Just wondering if Likiliki would be a chance to replace him on the wing??? I know nothing about the kid, never seen him play. Opinions????

Joker's Wild

Nice team Pika. I'd start Pato and put O'Donnell on the bench in Taufua's spot. Houston can either come on and play front row or Hilder can go into lock and Costigan moves into the prop rotation. There's several different ways Stone could go about it, looking forward to see what he does.

This is how I see things going. Nev was just too good in the front row for the Dragons last year to not at least play him there a bit.

Adsy

This what I would like to see. It will not happen though!

1 Gidley
2 Uate
3 Doogs (Tonga to step straight in when the old legs go)
4 Sau
5 Niquama (K)
6 Henry
7 Mullen
8 Tui
9 Degois
10 Kafusi
11 KOD or Patto (tough to split them right now)
12 Zeb
13 Costigan

14 Fuss
15 Mark T
16 House
17 Hilder

That team would get me very excited for round 1!

roopy

Kev Naiqama has freakish speed and step - maybe even better than Uate (never thought i'd see that so soon) - but he'll never be the full package that Uate is.
People also forget he was a decent fullback originally.

Allstar Knights

After seeing the trials and with the solid performance from some players, this could possibly be a good lineup for Round 1 (Not the team I'd pick though though)

1. Gidley
2. Uate
3. Sau
4. MacDougall
5. McManus
6. Henry
7. Mullen
8. Edwards - I think Edwards played really well. Makes fairly good metres and is a rock in defence. Was considering Tui here too, but I don't see Edwards as the impact type.
9. De Gois
10. Costigan
11. Paterson
12. Taia
13. Hilder

14. Tetevano/O'Donnell - Would have Tetevano ahead of him just at the moment.
15. Houston
16. Fa'aoso
17. Tuimavave

Then there's players like Adams who could cover for De Gois, Cook who could earn himself a bench spot if Tetevano/O'Donnel don't perform, Ailaomai could earn himself a spot if he reaches that potential and also Kev if he fixes those defensive reads, but he still has a long way to take McManus' spot IMO

Adsy

After seeing the trials and with the solid performance from some players, this could possibly be a good lineup for Round 1 (Not the team I'd pick though though)

1. Gidley
2. Uate
3. Sau
4. MacDougall
5. McManus
6. Henry
7. Rogers
8. Edwards - I think Edwards played really well. Makes fairly good metres and is a rock in defence. Was considering Tui here too, but I don't see Edwards as the impact type.
9. De Gois
10. Costigan
11. Paterson
12. Taia
13. Hilder

14. Tetevano/O'Donnell - Would have Tetevano ahead of him just at the moment.
15. Houston
16. Fa'aoso
17. Tuimavave

Then there's players like Adams who could cover for De Gois, Cook who could earn himself a bench spot if Tetevano/O'Donnel don't perform, Ailaomai could earn himself a spot if he reaches that potential and also Kev if he fixes those defensive reads, but he still has a long way to take McManus' spot IMO

Did Mullo root your missus, mate?

i'm going to call it now. having seen the first 2 trials - i reckon this is our round 1 team:

1. Gidley
2. Uate
3. Sau
4. McDougall
5. McManus
6. Mullen
7. Henry
8. Kaufusi
9. De Gois
10. Tuimavave
11. Taia
11. Paterson
13. Costigan

14. Hilder
15. Houston
16. Fa'aoso
17. Tetevano

O'Donnell will need to explode in the next 2 trials to feature in round 1. i haven't seen enough from him to suggest he's first grade ready. Tetevano and Edwards have both staked their claims for first grade and they would be filling the spot that Mika and co filled last year. i went with Tetevano as my one smokey. he is putting his hand up as high as anyone who has trialled so far. he's gotta be in front of O'Donnell at this stage. Edwards is unlucky to miss out. i guess Mika is still a shot to upstage both of them, but to be honest i just dont rate Mika that highly. House looks good to go, but i think he will be on the bench round 1 and it will be up to him to force a start somewhere.

after seeing him in a glorified 80 minute training run i'm prepared to put my full weight behind Henry. he has all the skills, reads the game well and can sum up a situation, was a very good talker on the field. they might begin with Mullen in the 7... i don't know... but i think Beau is more than capable as a half, he has the right attributes. he had his stand out NYC season as a 7. i can't see him missing out on a spot round 1. Roberts has been excellent in the trials thus far too, but i just think they will let Roberts mature a little more in NYC. we bought Henry in to play first grade and from what limited i've seen so far he looks ready to do just that. if we only had Roberts and Rogers to choose from i'd almost be saying throw Roberts in and see what happens, though.

macavity

i'm going to call it now. having seen the first 2 trials - i reckon this is our round 1 team:

1. Gidley
2. Uate
3. Sau
4. McDougall
5. McManus
6. Mullen
7. Henry
8. Kaufusi
9. De Gois
10. Tuimavave
11. Taia
11. Paterson
13. Costigan

14. Hilder
15. Houston
16. Fa'aoso
17. Tetevano

Have to agree that it is fairly settled, however I would have Taufua in for Tetavano, and I think they will have 7 on Mullo's back.

Spot On

I think you've nailed it Perverse. Personally I wonder, after Costigan's role at the Drags, where he is best suited - prop or lock??? It will be interesting to watch him play in this line-up. I'd love to see Patto improve his attacking game this year. I want to see some damaging running and quality offloading on a regular basis. The bench looks very good. I'd also like to see a more dangerous attacking player on J. Mac's wing. However, you can't have everything. Fingers crossed Henry gets a run to start the year and holds his own or better. The forwards need to help out and really rip in for him.

Allstar Knights

A decision between Tetevano and Taufua for that bench spot is a tough one. Tetevano is an absolute monster and can provide some serious impact off the bench and even though he's a backrower, he could easily make the transition to prop. Then theirs Taufua, who can play both too. He may not have the kamikaze runs Tetevano has, but his defence is top notch. He's one of the best defenders we have, just needs a higher work rate which comes down to fitness.

House and Fa'aoso are props in that rotation, with Tetevano and probably Hilder at times playing in the back row. it's a balanced bench, Hilder and House the solid dependable guys and Fa'aoso and Tetevano the impact guys. it's unfortunate that it wastes Hilder and House's petrol tanks.

Mark T would fill Tetevano's position fine, too. he didn't really factor into my thinking, but i'm sure T will be there or there abouts. however the position that Tetevano has in my team, and the configuration of Henry and Mullen are the only 2 question marks i have.

House is also a very good chance to jag a starting prop position as the season progresses i'd say. Shifting Costigan to prop and slipping House in the starting back row is also an option.

Johns Magic

The Warriors trial dampened my expectations of KOD somewhat. He has a few footy basics to master before he can be a great player IMO. That's not to say I don't rate him as a future prospect, I just don't think he'll be an instant boom as we were hoping.

On the other hand, the Warriors trial added to my fear that Likiliki will struggle to dominate the open-age NRL as much as he did the juniors. He may have been targeted in that game, but his defence was poor and he seemed to resort to a running style that would only work on physically inferior opposition. I'm very much hoping I've got it wrong on Liki(because I've only see him play a few games and one open-age), but I have a bad feeling about him taking it to the next level. A rather ill-informed fear mind you.

Beau I didn't get to watch, but from all reports was very encouraging, albeit against a joke of an opposition. If we want any of the trio to fire it's Beau, so I'm pretty excited about the match report. Apparently showed all the necessary signs in terms of confidence and being vocal, which is important. I think he'll be the only one of the trio in the team in Round 1.

macavity

House and Fa'aoso are props in that rotation, with Tetevano and probably Hilder at times playing in the back row. it's a balanced bench, Hilder and House the solid dependable guys and Fa'aoso and Tetevano the impact guys. it's unfortunate that it wastes Hilder and House's petrol tanks.

Mark T would fill Tetevano's position fine, too. he didn't really factor into my thinking, but i'm sure T will be there or there abouts. however the position that Tetevano has in my team, and the configuration of Henry and Mullen are the only 2 question marks i have.

House is also a very good chance to jag a starting prop position as the season progresses i'd say. Shifting Costigan to prop and slipping House in the starting back row is also an option.

I think House is probably a bit too light to make an impact as a regular prop at the moment, and by all accounts Taufua is training the house down and is a physical monster now.

I would run with Faas and Taufua as props, House swing and Hilder lock/hooker. As Costo can cover all positions in the pack except hooker, that is a great balance IMO.

Tets will get a shot soon.

Method

My 2011 team:

1. Kidley
2. Uate
3. Sau
4. Mcdougall / Lulia (When Doogs is injured... we all know its gunna happen. Dont think Tonga is up to nrl standard just yet. Lulia been going well in trials, I know a lot of people dont rate him, but when he has played he never let the team down.)
5. McManus
6. Mullen
7. Henry - Havent seen him play but from the wraps he gets he should be given a shot.
8. Kafusi
9. Degois
10. Tui
11. Pato
12. Costigan
13. Taia

14. Hilder
15. Faas
16. Edwards/Houston (Maybe Houston after a few rounds, Still some rust there)
17. Taufua

Love the depth we have at the moment, almost every spot has players contending with each other which can only mean better results.

Spot On

I think House is probably a bit too light to make an impact as a regular prop at the moment, and by all accounts Taufua is training the house down and is a physical monster now.

I would run with Faas and Taufua as props, House swing and Hilder lock/hooker. As Costo can cover all positions in the pack except hooker, that is a great balance IMO.

Tets will get a shot soon.

Geez, I thought he was a beast before the off season. Packed on the bulk has he??? Out and out prop material now Mac??

roopy

There is no way Henry is being prepared for a start in round one as number 7.
They might be getting him ready for a bench spot, but if you were seriously planing for a rookie who hasn't played with the team before to debut in round one, he would be playing every minute of the next two trials.
Even last trial, he was only supposed to play 20 minutes.

It's pretty clear Stone is thinking Mullen 7, Dodge 6. I don't know what plan B would be.

Gids
Uate
Doogs
Sau
Dodge
Mullo

The forward positions are all still up for grabs and we won't know till the trials are done.

you could be right, roops... but it could easily be interpreted as Stone easing Henry back in due to his injury, or just genuinely giving them all an even crack (bar Mullen, naturally). i guess we will wait and see, but me personally... i would throw him straight in. i think he's ready and the only thing that would make me hold him back would be his physical state. otherwise i dont see the point in beating around the bush with starting him in the 6 or 7. i'd happily have him at 7. 2 more trials to go, we'll just see how he goes i guess. Rogers will definitely partner Mullo if Henry doesn't... and honestly i think Henry will quickly earn his spot. i don't expect Johnathon Thurston of him, but at this stage i don't see any reason why he can't be a Kieran Foran or Trent Hodkinson.

aqua_duck

Zane Tetevano has always been a player that intrigued me, from the 1st time I saw him play in SG Ball. Looked like abit of a beast for a SG Ball player, just real big and athletic. I think with his physical attributes, he'd make be a useful player to have coming off the bench with an idea to the future