What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby League Live 2

What sort of tackle should I be attempting when the winger is 1 on 1 with the opposite winger 10m out?

I ALWAYS get fended off and they score, it's how I concede 95% of the tries against me.
I just use circle tackle most of the time, but I'm still learning better strategies, the game is so deep, I've actually experimented a bit more on amateur and found just playing with manual defence and using your l1 and r1 to select along your line a few wide from the ruck and try to anticipate the pass or use the player like an umbrella d to force the attack the other way.

Also use your defensive tactics, it compresses your line either middle, left or right and allows you to select a defender about two wide of the ball carrier and bring him around the back of the defensive line as a sweeper or cover defender.

I'm in day four and still discovering so many strategies and ideas for attacking and defensive play, this game is so deep it is incredible.

I also learnt how to do cross field kicks on the fifth tackle today, I buzzed out, what you do is when near the oppositions goal line about ten out, you will see your playmaker about two wide to either side indicated by the playmaker marker underneath him, you then simply pass the ball to him using the pass option indicators buttons and press and hold the chip or field goal button down and push the stick towards the nearest side corner and release, your centre and or winger will chase the kick and be in contention for a realistic looking cross kick contested try.