Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where in the St.George area are you from?

Acka

A girl from my school married Michael sorridimi.

My Dad went to school with some of Johhny Raper's brothers and one of the more famous St George fans in Bryan Brown at De La Salle Kingsgrove and my mother used to work with Mark Gasnier's mum

TonyTrugett

My Dad went to school with some of Johhny Raper's brothers and one of the more famous St George fans in Bryan Brown at De La Salle Kingsgrove and my mother used to work with Mark Gasnier's mum
My nephew went to school with Mark at peakhurst high( Penshurst?)

At St Joseph's in Newtown I assume? It was funny hearing Chook once telling a story at some book launch about how the Brothers at St Joes were pretty ruthless when caning the students. My dad is the same age and went to the same school as Johnny Raper, and told me exactly the same stories. The bizarre thing is that both of them independently smiled when recalling it, like it was some sort of fond memory, which I'm sure it wasn't.

Acka

At St Joseph's in Newtown I assume? It was funny hearing Chook once telling a story at some book launch about how the Brothers at St Joes were pretty ruthless when caning the students. My dad is the same age and went to the same school as Johnny Raper, and told me exactly the same stories. The bizarre thing is that both of them independently smiled when recalling it, like it was some sort of fond memory, which I'm sure it wasn't.

Actually De La Salle Kingsgrove. The family must have moved later on.

Yes, they were in Revesby then/or Kingsrove I think. The Rapers must have moved to Newtown or thereabouts after that.

STG 002

I should be a Roosters fan but alas the reason why they are my most hated side by a long way too.
born in Paddington, lived for 5 years in Kingsford, 2 years in Coogee and the other 34 years have never lived outside of North Bondi.
love the Dragons and love driving through the St George district but don't ever see myself living outside the east.

Cagey Mac

Late 70's definatley played them league at some park down by cooks river.

They may have switched it was rugby in the late sixties and early seventies

The park would have been Steel Park or Mahoney Reserve
I played on both and probably still have bits of dirt from them floating around my body

saint.nick

I should be a Roosters fan but alas the reason why they are my most hated side by a long way too.
born in Paddington, lived for 5 years in Kingsford, 2 years in Coogee and the other 34 years have never lived outside of North Bondi.
love the Dragons and love driving through the St George district but don't ever see myself living outside the east.

I think anyone in your fortunate position would struggle to move. Eastern suburbs- great place, shit footy club.

64 Dragon

I came from Scotland to live in the Sutherland Shire in September 1964. The place was covered in the Red and White of St George as it was just before the Grand Final. What's a naive young bloke going to do? Of course support the Saints. And I still do. After the Shire I have lived in Bellevue Hill, Terrey Hills, Ebenezer and now Kurrajong.

GO THE DRAGONS!!!!!!

saint.nick

Only since 1987.

Wests and Balmain are foundation clubs - 1908. Back then 'western suburbs' were found around Ashfield.

Campbelltown were almost Newtown, or the New Campbelltown Jets to be precise.

By the 1980s, there were a lot of things going against Newtown. Financial and geographical.
And imo they would have survived longer if Kevin Humphreys wasn't forced to resign as the League boss. Newtown had a debt to the NSWRL (as I recall). At that point Newtown were ready to relocate to Campbelltown, the debt to the NSWRL was not being called in and there was every chance that the New(Campbell)town Jets would weather the hard times. I knew for a fact that the Campbelltown council was on board, the mayor had association with Newtown and lived in Campbelltown and was right behind it.

But Humphreys was ousted after that 4 Corners report (episode called, 'The Big League') and his place was taken by John Quayle (and Ken Arthurson). The debt was immediately called in and Newtown were forced to fold in 1983.

Wests were also forced to fold at the time (1983) but they took the League to court and won. Newtown were not so lucky. About 4 years later, Wests made the move to Campbelltown, keeping their Leagues Club in Ashfield. They essentially took Newtown's spot in the south-west.

Since then Balmain joined Wests in a joint venture and the JV also included a third entity, Wests Campbelltown. Although this year, Wests Campbelltown left the JV, leaving just Western Suburbs and Balmain... and Balmain are in dire financial jeopardy. If Balmain were to fold, the JV would also dissolve and I imagine the NRL license would switch entirely to Wests - the Western Suburbs Magpies could very well be the name of the team and they would most definitely be playing out of Campbelltown.

The irony is that Wests, the club that the NSWRL tried to boot out of the comp in 1983, are now one of the richest clubs in Sydney... thanks largely to their prosperous Leagues club in Ashfield.

Oh, interesting! So Ashfield is still Tigerland after all?

No. It is the Magpies Leagues Club.

But I suppose you could say it is part of the Wests Tigers, but only as an entity in the Joint Venture. I dare say there are quite a few Wests supporters who would not see Ashfield as Tigerland.

SAP58

Father grew up in Bexley, grandfather played for the mighty red V, I was born at Sutherland Hospital (long before the Gummy Sharks existed) moved out of the area but came back and have been in paradise ever since.

Loves - The Mighty Dragons no matter what !!

Hates - Manly, never watch any of their games.....pretenders !
- Short sighted Sharks supporters who were told by someone they shouldn't like the Dragons but have no understanding why and cannot make their own mind up independently !

Lovemedragons

I'm from Macksville, biggest Saints supporter base in NSW.

GO

I thought Macksville was in QLD - oh no it's Bowraville where Inglis comes from isn't it :)

Grew up on North Shore - was never going to cop the Bears and fell in love with Bath's babes in '77 - now live in paradise in the Illawarra and love getting to WIN and Jubilee.

saint.nick

No. It is the Magpies Leagues Club.

But I suppose you could say it is part of the Wests Tigers, but only as an entity in the Joint Venture. I dare say there are quite a few Wests supporters who would not see Ashfield as Tigerland.

Oh, I meant tigerland as in the territory of the Wests Tigers rugby league club, not strictly Balmain :lol:

grandorient

I thought Macksville was in QLD - oh no it's Bowraville where Inglis comes from isn't it :)

Grew up on North Shore - was never going to cop the Bears and fell in love with Bath's babes in '77 - now live in paradise in the Illawarra and love getting to WIN and Jubilee.

Close Lovemedragons, close.

Have many arguments (discussions) with my neighbour, who is a staunch Inglis fan.

GO

damn, i can't play this game, i'm in punchbowl, oh well go the dragons anyway, what was that bang, is that another drive by, carry on guys.

:lol: ...I'm with you Pat. i grew up in Chester Hill - Canterbury Bankstown territory. i attended St. Benedict's Primary School in Lidcombe. The first game of footy i watched was St.George v's West at Lidcombe oval in 1975 - as a ten y.o.I was amazed how tall the Posts were there. i asked my older brother (whom i idolised) which Team to follow - he said the ones with the Red V. I asked why, and he said because they are the 'Saints'. I only learned a couple of years ago at his 50th birthday, that he had aspirations of becoming a Catholic Priest as a teenage Boy and Saints were on God's side! So it has always stuck. He's a Doctor of Psychiatry now and also remains a Dragons tragic. And so every very Weekend after that game was spent Train-travelling all over Sydney to watch them Play. Couldn't get to Manly games at Brookvale. I had the 'John Chapman' stand - a massive banner (ala Ted Goodwin Stand), which often appeared on ABC News sports in their back-drop. Very proud of that.

And who'd Support a Team called 'the berries' ??

Then moved to N.Ryde and had alot to do with Balmain Tigers through Holy Cross Ryde, attended heaps of Amco Cup games at Leichhardt Oval. Ben Elias stole my girlfriend in year 9 - even back then he was a bast*rd!

Sandra, I hope you are reading this. My heart is broken!!! ...hehe