Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

09 :: Origin II :: QLD 24 NSW 14 @ ANZ :: Wed 24 Jun

Origin II Winner

Downie

Guest Moderator
umm Watmough dropped/lost control of it in the 77th min after we made the short line drop out.

He had a really great game though, it's just that play infuriated me and topped off the night.

Pretty sure that was O'Donnell.

JT_

Well whoever it was, who cares it looked like Watmough but the point is our ball security was garbage and not something that should be seen in Origin footy.

Watmough had a good game as did Hayne as for the rest pitifull.
farah is a nuffy he was so far out of his depth again tonight.
If NSW had Kimmorley and Ennis they win.

The NSW selectors should be all sacked with the coach.

mave

Well whoever it was, who cares it looked like Watmough but the point is our ball security was garbage and not something that should be seen in Origin footy.

No, the point is that if you're going to single out a player for a bagging, then it helps if you get the right bloke.

you're correct. but at the same time, the team doesn't seem well coached in the first place

Mmm, two of those things really stem from the coaching. And you could argue the third does too. But really the will to win comes down to the players. It shouldn't have to be instilled into them through coaching.

ironhorse

at least our ball security was as good as our defence though ! :lol:
Hayne , Watmough ,Odonnell all had origin games , not perfect but commendable . Morris had no opportunity . the rest can have their case files marked never to play origin again including coaching staff and selectors .

As a last act these current selectors and coach should hopefully take the gifted opportunity to start fresh game 3 and have 8 - 10 changes to bed next season off , use it as a trial nothing to lose .

JT_

No, the point is that if you're going to single out a player for a bagging, then it helps if you get the right bloke.

Get real mate the real point is our ball security stop nit-picking you pansy. I said he played a great game and i may have been wrong who dropped it.

Arrghh, another loss. Although I was expecting it. The way NSW have played since 2006 just goes to show how good Andrew Johns really was. Quite amazing really.

It adds to his legacy, just like when the King retired in 1991 and NSW won the next 3 series.

I knew QLD would win when Gus kept going on and on and f**king on about how QLD were gone (fatigue)

Delboy

Kite was about as useful as Cayless has been this season, Farrah/Wallace were out of their depth and hopeless. Why was Monaghan playing on the left side whhen he is a right side centre, and didn't that show. Hayne was close to best on field, Gallen/Stewart WTF, as for the coaching , he must be watching NRL tactics for inspiration.

If the 7 and 9 are out of their depth and the 6 and 1 are poor, you get exactly what we saw tonight... At least Poore put one on Crocker and looked as if he could compete, O'Donnell was best forward, time for a big shake up.....

mave

Get real mate the real point is our ball security stop nit-picking you pansy. I said he played a great game and i may have been wrong who dropped it.

Well if you can't get it right, my only suggestion would be a quick trip to Woolies to buy a pen and notepaper, sit down and watch the replay, and then pass judgement.

1. Kurt Gidley (c) NWC - okay
2. Jarryd Hayne PAR - our best
3. Joel Monaghan CAN - defence was crap in the 1st half.. a bit better in the 2nd.. overall crap
4. Jamie Lyon MAN - crap
5. David Williams MAN - crap
6. Trent Barrett CRO - crap...average
7. Peter Wallace BRI - total crap
8. Brent Kite MAN - crap
9. Robbie Farah WST - crap
10. Michael Weyman STG - decent
11. Ben Creagh STG - bit quiet.. deserves another spot
12. Luke O'Donnell NQL - dropped a few, but showed he has the passion and aggression
13. Paul Gallen CRO - rather quiet
Interchange:
15. Justin Poore STG - average
16. Glenn Stewart MAN - crappy
17. Anthony Watmough MAN - good
18. Josh Morris BUL - no comment

Spot On

.....again NSW do not have a forward pack to match QLD. Stating the obvious. No go forward, no starch in defence, no pressure on QLD kickers. Nothing. Enough of A. Johns' involvement with NRL teams and the NSW team. He is not having much success with his personal coaching.

We need some good props. Are there any around we haven't tried yet?