Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

09 :: R14 Fri :: Broncos 22 Bulldogs 44 @ Suncorp

Round 14 :: Broncos v Bulldogs

Kiki

they were talking about the women in league round and he said something to the effect of 'women are good coz they wash the socks and the jumpers, clean the dirt off the boots all that sorta stuff. and they do you know...other good things..hehehe' (as in sexual stuff)

arrrrrrgh

btw good job by the Doggies!! so good to see them doing well.

I'm sorry but potential premiers do not leak 92 points in 2 games. I think we can realistically rule a line through Brisbanes chances in 09.

shear_joy9

they were talking about the women in league round and he said something to the effect of 'women are good coz they wash the socks and the jumpers, clean the dirt off the boots all that sorta stuff. and they do you know...other good things..hehehe' (as in sexual stuff)
I thought he said mothers

fourplay

Ben Robert's was brilliant tonight and that was the best 5/8 performance I have seen this year.

He made a fool out of Lockyer.

pantherz9103

I'm sorry but potential premiers do not leak 72 points in 2 games. I think we can realistically rule a line through Brisbanes chances in 09.

Hasn't it been 92?

They haven't set the world on fire and were winning without playing that well. Still, I think they miss Hodges in both attack and defence. With their individual class, they are still top 6 material but are yet to convince that they are a great 'team' despite their all star backline. The forwards aren't exactly top quality either - pretty nuffy like front row when Clinton is your biggest name prop.

Correct, 92 points in two games. Fatty made the same error :lol:

Note to Bellamy = watch tonight's tape. Might show you a thing or two about Lockyer. ;-)

Morris brothers would be certainties now for Origin II, Jennings and McManus both looking unlikely starters.

JW

Congrats to the Dogs. Beautiful passing game by Roberts.

As for us - the expected result. But we're f**ked.

Kiki

Note to Bellamy = watch tonight's tape. Might show you a thing or two about Lockyer. ;-)

Morris brothers would be certainties now for Origin II, Jennings and McManus both looking unlikely starters.

god i think i would die of joy seeing both the Mozzies in the sky blue. what about Monas tho?

BrisVegas

While not ideal, I'm not writing off Brisbane's season based on their current defensive woes. Given all the swine-flu rubbish that transpired this week and the funeral for Cyril Connell earlier today, the complete first grade side hasn't trained together for 3 weeks. That sort of time away is going to cause some issues in the defensive structure.

Looking ahead the Broncos need to win at least 2 from their next 4 games against Cronulla (minus Origin Players), Parramatta, New Zealand and South Sydney.

Morris twins = playing for the top two clubs in the competition, and both in scintillating form.

Monas = playing for a side currently running 12th of 16.

If they're fair dinkum, the twins will get a go. They DEFINITELY deserve it.

As for us - the expected result. But we're f**ked.

???????

Your guys have been training together since October/November, all players were passed medically fit. I am curious as to why it was expected JW.

That game goes to show just how much of an effect missing even 10% of conditioning can have against a top team. We were right in that game, but only for 60 minutes of it. Quite proud of the boys. Haven't heard anything resembling an excuse out of anyone in Brisbane colours.

Hannant has absolutely secured his jersey for game 2, all the ex Broncos played out of their skin really.

Fair play to the Dogs. There were great performances all over the park. They can only play the team put in front of them - but they had to win that game if they were serious about being a premiership contender, especially after the Newcastle debacle.

Not so much their fans. The inbred thugs in front of me tonight only reinforce what I hate about Dogs fans. Making the worst calls all game, sooking whenever Brisbane had a penalty, scrum or anything go our way. Then at the end they had the gall to call us 'whingers' - honestly. What a joke. Best win of their season and they react by acting like a bunch of merkins...uuuugh. I hope you lot get points taken off you again

Can only go up from here. We're not in that horrible a position, but we need to work on our defence, and someone needs to teach Wallace how to kick a ball seemingly. Hope they pick him for Origin 2...heh heh

JW

???????

Your guys have been training together since October/November, all players were passed medically fit. I am curious as to why it was expected JW.

LOL

True to form - I know you're looking to bring in the Pig Flu angle mate, but I expected this loss prior to that rubbish.

Despite our decent position on the ladder and a good start to the year, our defense has been piss poor all along. Slowly and surely it is becoming more and more exposed, and despite the usual disruptions around this time of year (which shouldn't be an excuse for us, we do it all the time), that progression is accelerating. A Dog's attack in half-decent form was always going to bring out our weaknesses.

We have a good team and they are certainly capable of being a show in this comp, obviously. But this year they have lacked consistency in defense and their intensity can never be sustained.

Unless there's a distinct improvement by the time we come out of the Origin period, this will just end up being another of those years where we make the 8 reasonably comfortably but are never a real chance of making a push for the title.

Eager to see how we're traveling a few more weeks down the track. We'll need another 2006 effort by the look of it if things continue as they have been in recent times.

I'm hoping they'll get it together. Earlier on in the year in particular I think the forwards were doing a great job in the face of criticism that they were/are lightweights. But the team's defense and defensive attitude has been the one thing that's always needed fixing. Big test for Ivan to see if he can get 'em moving.

As Andrew said, we can probably on go up from here. We'll see.