Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'11 | R12 | Sun | Dragons 24-18 Tigers | WIN Jubilee #nrldratig

R12: STG v WST

Ronnie Dobbs

McKinnon vs. Boyd
Tuqiri vs. Morris
Lawrence vs. Cooper
Ellis vs. Creagh
Payten vs. Scott
Galloway vs. Weyman

The only one that is certain there are that Boyd is better than McKinnon. Morris might be playing for Australia but I personally don't think he's better than Tuqiri and I think Cooper and Lawrence right now are probably equals. Ellis is better than Creagh by miles and Galloway is better than Weyman imo. So to you I say, no chode.

Wrong. You would have won the prelim last year if that were true.

thommo4pm

Funny how there's more discussion in this read hours after the match has ended, while there was none during the match.

Do you think maybe both clubs have fans who want to either be at the game or watch it on tv without posting on a forum?
I know that's probably a strange concept to Roosters fans, having some passion and wanting to concentrate on watching the game.

snogard6

You beat us by 6 and we were missing our entire left side attack, our starting fullback, our best front rower and our most senior forward and you still think we can't beat you? What's your excuse for winning by 6? Origin backing up? Puhlease. Merrin, Boyd, Creagh, Gasnier, Soward and Morris wouldn't have worked up a sweat on Wednesday night. The only Dragons player that has any right to be tired would have been Beau Scott.

Your penis would be bigger than my penis, only if you had a penis pump

cleary89

The penalty wasn't given at the restart of play. It was given moments later for offside. A penalty at the restart of play when the rules are read like that would only apply to penalties for dissent if in defense and if in possession being offside and getting involved in the play, taking the optional kick restart and kicking it out on the full or tapping it in front of the line. In any case of an offside penalty the penalty is always awarded on the mark where the defenders should have been standing initially. Incorrect call.

When becoming a ref that was one of their fav questions to try and trick you on, as well as kicking it out from the restart and putting a foot out when getting up from a completed tackle. The penalty was offside from the 20m optional restart. Cbf reading your whole post as im on iphone and you are known to dribble, but in summary, you are wrong it was the correct decision.

thommo4pm

I've been looking everywhere on the net for the rules and after reading the 08 international rules, I still would have though the offence of being offside at a 20m tap in defence would have resulted in a penalty at the 30m mark.............

I tend to agree with you, it's a silly rule, especially for the 20m restart.

The rule is though, if there is a penalty from a tap kick or kick off restart of play, then the penalty must be given where the restart was to occur from.

MacDougall

I tend to agree with you, it's a silly rule, especially for the 20m restart.

The rule is though, if there is a penalty from a tap kick or kick off restart of play, then the penalty must be given where the restart was to occur from.

I simply don't believe this. If this were the case, one could make a linebreak and run 50 metres down the field. The defender could hold down the player and the penalty would be given back on the 20. I call shenanigans.

bottle

Nobody is saying "oh noes Tigers was robbed today".

Wrong. Read the entire thread, a couple of your mates are.
Ted on the other not only isn't, but also isn't whingeing about last year, making idiotic predictions for next year, taking cheap shots and generally making a tool of himself. It's called class. Take note, self development is good.

thommo4pm

The penalty wasn't given at the restart of play. It was given moments later for offside. A penalty at the restart of play when the rules are read like that would only apply to penalties for dissent if in defense and if in possession being offside and getting involved in the play, taking the optional kick restart and kicking it out on the full or tapping it in front of the line. In any case of an offside penalty the penalty is always awarded on the mark where the defenders should have been standing initially. Incorrect call.

Wrong, learn the rules.
For an offside infringement from a tap restart, the penalty is awarded where the restart was to occur from.

beave

When becoming a ref that was one of their fav questions to try and trick you on, as well as kicking it out from the restart and putting a foot out when getting up from a completed tackle. The penalty was offside from the 20m optional restart. Cbf reading your whole post as im on iphone and you are known to dribble, but in summary, you are wrong it was the correct decision.

nice work Cleary,you're right, I found the section pertaining to offside at a 20m tap.

The ball may be kicked in any manner and in any
direction and is immediately in play. Opposing players
shall retire ten metres from the 20m line and shall not
advance until the ball has been kicked. Defending
players shall not advance in front of the ball before it is
kicked. Any deliberate offence by either team shall incur
a penalty to be awarded at the centre of the 20m line.

I never knew this, I am man enough when to admit I am wrong, and I guess I'm pretty wrong with this one. But I must say, I don't understand why this is the case when there is an offside defending team, why do the team with the ball have been penalised 10m when compared to it happening in general play???? I guess it's one of them weird rules.............. sigh, ya learn something new every day!!

thommo4pm

You beat us by 6 and we were missing our entire left side attack, our starting fullback, our best front rower and our most senior forward and you still think we can't beat you? What's your excuse for winning by 6? Origin backing up? Puhlease. Merrin, Boyd, Creagh, Gasnier, Soward and Morris wouldn't have worked up a sweat on Wednesday night. The only Dragons player that has any right to be tired would have been Beau Scott.

Whatever helps you sleep tonight is fine by me.

5 try's to 3. Soward kicks just one extra goal, and the game is gone and Tigers give up.

Don't let the fact that Boyd had a fair try disallowed also, which would have made the score 30-12 with 12 minutes left to play.

MacDougall

nice work Cleary,you're right, I found the section pertaining to offside at a 20m tap.

The ball may be kicked in any manner and in any
direction and is immediately in play. Opposing players
shall retire ten metres from the 20m line and shall not
advance until the ball has been kicked. Defending
players shall not advance in front of the ball before it is
kicked. Any deliberate offence by either team shall incur
a penalty to be awarded at the centre of the 20m line.

I never knew this, I am man enough when to admit I am wrong, and I guess I'm pretty wrong with this one. But I must say, I don't understand why this is the case when there is an offside defending team, why do the team with the ball have been penalised 10m when compared to it happening in general play???? I guess it's one of them weird rules.............. sigh, ya learn something new every day!!

Damn that's so absurd. Like I said before, that means that if a line break occured and they got all the way downfield and received a penalty, by that rule, it means a penalty back on the 20m.

MacDougall

Whatever helps you sleep tonight is fine by me.

5 try's to 3. Soward kicks just one extra goal, and the game is gone and Tigers give up.

Don't let the fact that Boyd had a fair try disallowed also, which would have made the score 30-12 with 12 minutes left to play.

Like I said before... he didn't say g'day to the ref at WOOLIES!

thommo4pm

I simply don't believe this. If this were the case, one could make a linebreak and run 50 metres down the field. The defender could hold down the player and the penalty would be given back on the 20. I call shenanigans.

Are you serious? :lol:

The infringement you refer to above is after a tackle has been completed. It's not an infringement from when the actual restart happened.

cleary89

Yeh its a pretty weird rule. The only thing I can really compare it to in regards to restarts is a team kicks off at half way, the ball doesn't travel 10 and the defending team picks its up before it comes to rest. Its a penalty back on half way, not where the infringement occurred.

There was one in the dragons game the other week where Morris was tackled and in the process of getting up to play the ball put a foot into touch. Everyone blew up, repeat of the GF etc etc. The ball isn't in play from the completion of a tackle till when the ball clears the ruck, so its allowed as long as its not intentional.

While its probably not the most logical rule, it hardly ever happened. The refs use to wait till everyone was back onside before blowing the whistle. But now with the quick tap if the player who picks it up races back we will see it a lot more.

beave

Damn that's so absurd. Like I said before, that means that if a line break occured and they got all the way downfield and received a penalty, by that rule, it means a penalty back on the 20m.

yeah that bit 'Any deliberate offence by either team shall incur a penalty to be awarded at the centre of the 20m line' can be interpreted like that I guess.............. let's get Voss and Gould onto this!!!! :crazy::crazy::sarcasm::crazy::crazy:

beave

Yeh its a pretty weird rule. The only thing I can really compare it to in regards to restarts is a team kicks off at half way, the ball doesn't travel 10 and the defending team picks its up before it comes to rest. Its a penalty back on half way, not where the infringement occurred.

There was one in the dragons game the other week where Morris was tackled and in the process of getting up to play the ball put a foot into touch. Everyone blew up, repeat of the GF etc etc. The ball isn't in play from the completion of a tackle till when the ball clears the ruck, so its allowed as long as its not intentional.

While its probably not the most logical rule, it hardly ever happened. The refs use to wait till everyone was back onside before blowing the whistle. But now with the quick tap if the player who picks it up races back we will see it a lot more.

Yeah I knew of this rule of stepping on the touch line when playing the ball, I have only seen it a couple of times in the 25 years I have been watching footy though.

I remember a few years ago at Parra stadium I think it was David Hall playing for Norths against the eels, he got up from retrieving a kick on the western touchline and faced the oppositions goal line, had no dummy half and played the ball side ways for one of his players and everyone blew up about it in the crowd and in the commentary box until someone read the rules up in the commentary box................ I don't think that rule still exists but I could be wrong.

thommo4pm

The person playing the ball can stand on the touchline when getting up to play the ball, the dummy half can not in picking the ball up.