Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | R2 | Fri | Broncos 26-28 Cowboys | Suncorp

Round 2 result: Broncos v Cowboys

blaza88z

there is no unbiased viewers, all the neutrals hate Brisbane, why?

we've been too good for too long

beave

I wait for the Broncs fans to cry foul at the Thaiday knock on at the play the ball in the last 10 mins, if the assclown spent more time concentrating on getting up and playing the ball instead of grabbing Thurston by the jersey and holding onto him, I reckon he would have got the penalty but he was his own worst enemy in that occasion.

blaza88z

all the brisbane fans are blaming beale/parker for being responsible for that last play

Thaiday shouldn't be captain anyway, he's got too many errors in him, he fishes for penalties too much, I don't think you wanna see your captain trying to get easy penalties in times of need

no name

Picked the Broncos so I actually wanted them to win, but......

Does Hunt know how to pass backwards from dummy half?
OR
Does Hannant ever stand square at marker?
There was a period in the second half where it seemed they didn't have to.

Big Pete

I wait for the Broncs fans to cry foul at the Thaiday knock on at the play the ball in the last 10 mins, if the assclown spent more time concentrating on getting up and playing the ball instead of grabbing Thurston by the jersey and holding onto him, I reckon he would have got the penalty but he was his own worst enemy in that occasion.

That was the least distressing contentious call of the night although I get the feeling if it wasn't infront of the sticks the refs. would have blown a penalty.

beave

What were the other ones mate??

I agree the Segerayo try was iffy, I was highly surprised they awarded that tbh.

I thought the reffing for once was actually not too bad, they let them play footy for once which is good.

Big Pete

I don't think there were any real blunders, just a couple of contentious calls.

Still confused over that knock on called against the Broncos early, looked like JT kicked it out.

Disagree with the refs. letting the game flow - your blokes were given the lead with some very soft penalties. Also thought the Bowen's first try had a real hint of a forward pass and Wallace's pass to Hodges was unlucky to be called out. I can see where they thought it was a forward pass but it looked to have come out of the hands backwards.

Yow Yeh high ball contest was extremely touch and go - thought Jharal contested for that ball fairly.

Still on Jharal but we should have been awarded 8 points for his try. Bowen came in with late knees.

But on the Segs try, I was fine with it being BotD. Extremely fortunate and dusty try but you couldn't say for certain there was anything wrong with it. Tate try was also pretty fortunate but you accept them.

Again, I don't think the reffing cost us but it certainly wasn't our night in that regard.

no name

Again, I don't think the reffing cost us but it certainly wasn't our night in that regard.

I thought it was pretty even.
As I said earlier, I think Hunt threw a couple of forward passes which were ignored, and they were a bit lenient on Hannant at marker. There was also the time Wallace knocked it out of Winterstein's ( I think) hands, knocked it on, then got the feed.
A few iffy calls each way.

beave

Mate I thought Yow Yeh put a half assed effort in with that high ball, to me it looked like he knew he was going take Winters while he was mid air so he just stuck his arms up in the air to make it look like he was going for the ball, it's hard to tell what a player is thinking by their body language but I honestly think he went at Winters more so than the ball. They are always hard call I guess.

I think the Wallace pass was forward, his hands gave it away IMO.

That JT kick for the broncs knock on was bewildering, they never showed a good replay angle of that one, I think it should have been 6 to go to you blokes with that one, f**k knows how they came up with that.

The Bowen knees will be interesting, you would think with the onfield refs, touchies AND the video ref someone would have said something if they thought it was worthy of 8 points, I guess we will see during the week, I can see what Mango was trying to do but he was too late in trying to turn Yow Yeh over on his back, I reckon at worst case he might have a low grading or something and go close to a week off, I can understand that you can't have players going in with knees as players are scoring, wait and see I guess.

Big Pete

The Mango incident is the one I think we might hear a bit more on.

And yeah, I think both those were just contentious calls and just didn't go our way. I thought the pass from Wallace was at the most was flat out of the hands, but just ended up going forward with his momentum.

But I'm not going to let those calls affect my enjoyment out of the game. As much as I was embarrassed with our defence on the last scrum I was thoroughly entertained with the game and I think both sides have a bit to be happy about.

beave

Considering our roster compared to yours, I think Brisbane performed extremely well. We should be top 4 with the players we got, and you guys on the cusp of the 8 but tonight for a lot of the game it looked the other way around. I think both teams will have learnt a fair bit out of that tonight.

You should be proud mate, Brisbane played pretty well.

BDR

Entertaining game, I thought the refereeing was fairly bizarre a couple of calls I still don't understand. I don't think either team was particularly favoured by it though. I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed the game and both teams will go a long way this year.

In the end we just got a bit of luck and managed to pull the rabbit out at the last minute.

Pigskin

Considering our roster compared to yours, I think Brisbane performed extremely well. We should be top 4 with the players we got, and you guys on the cusp of the 8 but tonight for a lot of the game it looked the other way around. I think both teams will have learnt a fair bit out of that tonight.

You should be proud mate, Brisbane played pretty well.

You must be an expert in some other code :shock:

Oink !

I'm satsified with the performance but improvement in ball handling and defense is needed. Looking forward to the Eels game it's all about consistence as the first couple of minutes of the 2nd half was similar to the Titans game. A Cowboys team playing a strong 80 minutes will be difficult to beat considering the talent there.

AuDragon

Just got home from the game, and pretty shattered with the result. It's always tough to loose like that at the very end...

Congrats to the Cows, who made the most out of a very entertaining game, although still riddled with too many errors and missed tackles, especially for two teams with aspirations.

Refs were horrible for both sides, there were a few bad calls and soft penalties against us, especially in the first half, which gave the Cows a leg up and probably the game. I mean, how much doubt can you have before you rule No Try? :crazy:

On the other hand, the Broncos have to take responsibility for their defense, and it was pretty bad today, with Thurston and Bowen opening us up through the middle.

Last, but not least... Beale is not a winger and any self respecting coach will target him with high balls. You can't keep him in a position he is clearly not good enough in, just because he's a quality player!

hellteam

Awesome game, not too concerned with the result. We will get better and so was the Cowboys.

3. Hoffman (although he did make a few mistakes)
2. Glenn
1. Dont know

I think Norman can go well this year, just gotta keep running it - he's a good ball runner.

Would like to see Reed and Yow Yeh more involved. Thaiday needs to go back to the second row.