Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Lol
perth has no jnrs, yep we have 3500 of them
perth has no bid consortium, yep we do
Perth has no mOney, except a multi millionaire consortium waiting to own the club and a wa govt rich with cash
perth can’t produce nrl players, except the ones we do produce
perth has no fans, except the 43k who turned out last month

keep dribbling as much as you like.
You cannot handle any criticism of Perth.

Why are you gloating about 42k attending a one-third empty Perth Stadium to watch a double header?

It was the only chance for RL fans in Perth to see an NRL game in years.

Many would have been expatriates. Some would have been tourists.

The real question is how many of those 42k will regularly attend NRL matches for a Perth-based team?

104,583 attended Stadium Australia on 6 March 1999 to watch a double header.

There's been a dozen matches played at Perth Rectangular Stadium that averaged 15k or less since 2005. That's more in line with what a Perth-based team can expect to generate.

I'll reiterate that 21k people from Perth flocked to the WACA to watch a NSWRL game in 1989. Similar crowds gathered at subsequent games in the early 1990s. Only 13k bothered to regularly attend games involving the Western Reds in their debut season. Almoat 5k of those fans turned their back on the club in 96 and 97.

60k attended a Bledisloe Cup match at Perth Stadium in 2019. It doesn't mean the Force will pull 60k to every game. In fact, their crowds aren't much different to the Western Reds pulled in 96 and 97.

We don't know how much money a Perth-based team will be able to generate from the business sector. What we do know is it'll be well below the Eagles and Dockers. You're kidding yourself if you think it'll be at the same level as the Cowboys.

FTA ratings for Perth aren't very good. That will work against a Perth-based team when it comes to attracting sponsors.

If the WA Gov is willing to throw so much money at the Pirates then why haven't they upgraded Perth Oval to NRL standard?

You think Redcliffe used pokie revenue to generate players like Artie Beetson. I think that sums up your lack of knowledge.

Haha he’s so triggered that brisbane isn’t gett8ng another club anytime soon!

like I’ve said before expansion falls into two camps, those who want to see the game grow into new markets and thinks the returns are worth the risk, and those who want it contained to its traditional areas and would rather play it safe.

I’ll always be the former, be it perth, Adelaide, nz2 or png I’ll be ok with , anyone but another nsw or qlnd club will do me.

You get triggered whenever a location other than Perth is considered for expansion.

With the exception of Perth, you've death ridden every location that's been considered for expansion. After the Dolphins were introduced you flooded the board with doom and gloom about how they were going to have bugger all fans due to their location. You hung around the Dolphins' subforum ridiculing the squad they assembled. All because you were jealous that they got a licence and Perth didn't. We all remember what V'landys said about not wasting money on "rusted on AFL states" and the meltdown you had over it.

You're a hypocrite from England who supports a small club from a small English city that has two ESL teams, despite only having a population of 267k. At the same time you reckon Brisbane's 2.4m people should only have 2 teams. Get f**ked.

If that doesn't scream "hypocrite" then what does?

How about you practice what you preach and tell Hull to get rid of a team so the ESL can expand into Dublin or Paris?

You hate State of Origin, yet you're willing to go watch it at Perth Stadium.

You're just jealous of rugby League's success in Australia.

LimeRick

It's a matter of growth vs consolidation.

Brisbane is already a league town. With two teams and a game every week. I'm sure a third team would do well, but it doesn't add much as much as a Perth team would.

A Perth team represents new fans, new sponsors, (eventually) new players, and a new timeslot. And for those who care about a dot on the map, it helps there, too.

A third Brisbane team would work, but shouldn't be top priority. Especially while the Dolphins are still settling in. That's the same thinking that has hamstrung the game in England to the M62.

Hull KR, who have not posted their weekly attendances in 2023, announced their average of 8,782 earlier this week. It’s the side’s highest average attendance in the Super League era, with more than 6,000 members.

Isn't this the mob @Perth Red supports?

Its highest ever attendance average in the ESL era is a lousy stinkin' 8,782. Only 6,000 people have signed up to support this shitbox club.

The Dolphins averaged three times as many fans through the gate across their 12 games. At Lang Park they averaged 32k.

Brisbane is already a league town. With two teams and a game every week. I'm sure a third team would do well, but it doesn't add much as much as a Perth team would.

A Perth team represents new fans, new sponsors, (eventually) new players, and a new timeslot. And for those who care about a dot on the map, it helps there, too.

A third Brisbane team would work, but shouldn't be top priority. Especially while the Dolphins are still settling in. That's the same thinking that has hamstrung the game in England to the M62.

Perth can have a team when @Perth Red f**ks off back to Hull to bring their average up to 8,783.

Brisbane Tigers will get a licence at some stage. It would be foolish to ignore such a rich club with a footprint in a strategically important part of southern Brisbane.

The broadcasters will ensure that the Tigers are one of the next three teams. They want teams that will generate revenue for them in Brisbane. The Tigers are guaranteed to do exactly that.

Gobsmacked

Brisbane Tigers will get a licence at some stage. It would be foolish to ignore such a rich club with a footprint in a strategically important part of southern Brisbane.

The broadcasters will ensure that the Tigers are one of the next three teams. They want teams that will generate revenue for them in Brisbane. The Tigers are guaranteed to do exactly that.
If Brisbane gets another team, it will be in Ipswich with the Jets.
One of the fastest growing regions in the country!
Home base will be Ipswich playing out of Suncorp.

Eh there 5000 kids in Cronulla, region 3500 in perth region, 800 in Redcliffe region.
Eh? What state level got to do with it?

I did a quick Google and found this:

DOLPHINS JUNIOR RUGBY LEAGUE
Welcome to the Dolphins Junior Rugby League Football Club. Home to 1000 junior footballers looking to develop new skills in a fun, safe environment. The club competes in the Junior Rugby League Brisbane competition from March to September each year.

That's just one club. You're comparing every club in the state of Western Australia to one club in Redcliffe. That one club you're focusing on has 25% as many people as the entire state of Western Australia.

There are plenty more clubs in the Moreton Bay Region that will feed into the Dolphins.

If Brisbane gets another team, it will be in Ipswich with the Jets.
One of the fastest growing regions in the country!
Home base will be Ipswich playing out of Suncorp.

The Jets don't have the money to compete in the NRL.

The Tigers will represent Ipswich, Logan and southern Brisbane.

I got this from their FAQ:

The Brisbane Tigers Rugby League Football Club have announced its intentions to bid for the 18th NRL licence.

The NRL bid will leverage our great club’s 90-year-old history of legendary players and coaches, premierships and Queensland spirit to become the go-to team of the state’s fastest growing region.

Continue reading for more information about why the southern Brisbane, Logan and Ipswich regions are ready for the next NRL and NRLW franchise.

Why does Brisbane need a third NRL team?

The Dolphins have clearly demonstrated the that north of Brisbane can strongly support a second Brisbane team.

Over the next 10 years, three of the fastest growing areas in Australia will be the Gold Coast, Logan and Ipswich.

The Logan and Ipswich areas are projected to grow during this 10-year period by approximately 275,000 residents.

We believe the Brisbane Tigers can provide a similar commercial stimulus in the south-west corridor that takes in the Logan and Ipswich regions.

Brisbane Tigers also already have one of the best junior nurseries and pathways in Australia, with affiliated clubs and schools spread across the southside of Brisbane and the Logan – Ipswich corridor.

Last but not least, south-east Queensland has proven to be the strongest NRL region for game day attendance, broadcast ratings and corporate support.

In fact, south-east Queensland fans are craving more high-quality rugby league with our four existing Queensland based teams still leaving our fans wanting more.

Why should the NRL consider a third Brisbane team?

With the strong attendance and audience figures we are seeing the Dolphins achieve in their debut year, we believe the Brisbane Tigers can provide a similar stimulus in the south-west corridor that takes in the Logan and Ipswich regions.

Queensland teams are also, on average, the most-attended NRL home games in 2023 so far, a trend that has been consistent over recent years.

The NRL’s Magic Round has also become one of the most popular events on Australia’s sporting calendar since its inception in 2019, with this year being completely sold-out.

As Brisbane steadily builds to the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the appetite for sporting entertainment and venues that showcase incredible homegrown athletic talent is only going to grow.

Why should the Brisbane Tigers-backed bid be the next Queensland NRL team?

The Brisbane Tigers’ NRL bid is backed by a strong balance sheet, assets and financial forecast, comparable with the Brisbane Broncos and Dolphins.

Like the Dolphins, we already have strong and growing pathways south of the Brisbane River with 14 affiliated rugby league clubs and school programs.

From Under Five’s juniors teams to our Queensland Rugby League Hostplus Cup team, we have established roots at all levels in our wide-reaching community.

Brisbane Tigers will build upon our programs that already empower Queensland grassroots footy clubs and thousands of local players to dream big and offer unique fan experiences with the game we love.

If successful in becoming the 18th NRL team, our goal is to be the go-to club for sports fans on Brisbane’s southside, western corridor as well as throughout Australia and Pacific regions, particularly the millions of casual fans who do not support the Broncos, Dolphins or Titans.

The Brisbane Tigers is an established and iconic rugby league club in Queensland, and we strongly believe the Dolphins’ similar standing has significantly contributed to their early NRL success both on and off the field.

How will you build a new fan base without negatively impacting other NRL teams?

There are 987,119 people living north of the Brisbane River in Greater Brisbane, but almost 1.6 million living south of the Brisbane River.

According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, over the next 10 years, three of the fastest growing areas in Australia will be the Gold Coast, Logan and Ipswich.

We will also be able to offer unique fan experiences for the forecast growing population in these regions as well as national and international rugby league fans.

With their recent expansion into Springfield, the Brisbane Tigers will also aim to compete with the Brisbane Lions and the AFL for players and fans across the southern Brisbane regions.

Colk

Haha he’s so triggered that brisbane isn’t gett8ng another club anytime soon!

like I’ve said before expansion falls into two camps, those who want to see the game grow into new markets and thinks the returns are worth the risk, and those who want it contained to its traditional areas and would rather play it safe.

I’ll always be the former, be it perth, Adelaide, nz2 or png I’ll be ok with , anyone but another nsw or qlnd club will do me.

1000% on this.

mongoose

nah mate, apparently AFL is going to take over. Imagine calling yourself a Rugby League fan but thinking it won't get any fans in the countries 4th largest city AND it will lose ground in its 2nd biggest heartland.

HUGE League fans around here

mongoose

The Jets don't have the money to compete in the NRL.

The Tigers will represent Ipswich, Logan and southern Brisbane.

I got this from their FAQ:

The Brisbane Tigers Rugby League Football Club have announced its intentions to bid for the 18th NRL licence.​
The NRL bid will leverage our great club’s 90-year-old history of legendary players and coaches, premierships and Queensland spirit to become the go-to team of the state’s fastest growing region.​
Continue reading for more information about why the southern Brisbane, Logan and Ipswich regions are ready for the next NRL and NRLW franchise.​
Why does Brisbane need a third NRL team?
The Dolphins have clearly demonstrated the that north of Brisbane can strongly support a second Brisbane team.​
Over the next 10 years, three of the fastest growing areas in Australia will be the Gold Coast, Logan and Ipswich.​
The Logan and Ipswich areas are projected to grow during this 10-year period by approximately 275,000 residents.​
We believe the Brisbane Tigers can provide a similar commercial stimulus in the south-west corridor that takes in the Logan and Ipswich regions.​
Brisbane Tigers also already have one of the best junior nurseries and pathways in Australia, with affiliated clubs and schools spread across the southside of Brisbane and the Logan – Ipswich corridor.​
Last but not least, south-east Queensland has proven to be the strongest NRL region for game day attendance, broadcast ratings and corporate support.​
In fact, south-east Queensland fans are craving more high-quality rugby league with our four existing Queensland based teams still leaving our fans wanting more.​
Why should the NRL consider a third Brisbane team?
With the strong attendance and audience figures we are seeing the Dolphins achieve in their debut year, we believe the Brisbane Tigers can provide a similar stimulus in the south-west corridor that takes in the Logan and Ipswich regions.​
Queensland teams are also, on average, the most-attended NRL home games in 2023 so far, a trend that has been consistent over recent years.​
The NRL’s Magic Round has also become one of the most popular events on Australia’s sporting calendar since its inception in 2019, with this year being completely sold-out.​
As Brisbane steadily builds to the 2032 Olympic and Paralympic Games, the appetite for sporting entertainment and venues that showcase incredible homegrown athletic talent is only going to grow.​
Why should the Brisbane Tigers-backed bid be the next Queensland NRL team?
The Brisbane Tigers’ NRL bid is backed by a strong balance sheet, assets and financial forecast, comparable with the Brisbane Broncos and Dolphins.​
Like the Dolphins, we already have strong and growing pathways south of the Brisbane River with 14 affiliated rugby league clubs and school programs.​
From Under Five’s juniors teams to our Queensland Rugby League Hostplus Cup team, we have established roots at all levels in our wide-reaching community.​
Brisbane Tigers will build upon our programs that already empower Queensland grassroots footy clubs and thousands of local players to dream big and offer unique fan experiences with the game we love.​
If successful in becoming the 18th NRL team, our goal is to be the go-to club for sports fans on Brisbane’s southside, western corridor as well as throughout Australia and Pacific regions, particularly the millions of casual fans who do not support the Broncos, Dolphins or Titans.​
The Brisbane Tigers is an established and iconic rugby league club in Queensland, and we strongly believe the Dolphins’ similar standing has significantly contributed to their early NRL success both on and off the field.​
How will you build a new fan base without negatively impacting other NRL teams?
There are 987,119 people living north of the Brisbane River in Greater Brisbane, but almost 1.6 million living south of the Brisbane River.​
According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, over the next 10 years, three of the fastest growing areas in Australia will be the Gold Coast, Logan and Ipswich.​
We will also be able to offer unique fan experiences for the forecast growing population in these regions as well as national and international rugby league fans.​
With their recent expansion into Springfield, the Brisbane Tigers will also aim to compete with the Brisbane Lions and the AFL for players and fans across the southern Brisbane regions.​
you are using the Easts Tigers FAQ as evidence to show why they are the best bid? jesus christ....

You get triggered whenever a location other than Perth is considered for expansion.

With the exception of Perth, you've death ridden every location that's been considered for expansion. After the Dolphins were introduced you flooded the board with doom and gloom about how they were going to have bugger all fans due to their location. You hung around the Dolphins' subforum ridiculing the squad they assembled. All because you were jealous that they got a licence and Perth didn't. We all remember what V'landys said about not wasting money on "rusted on AFL states" and the meltdown you had over it.

You're a hypocrite from England who supports a small club from a small English city that has two ESL teams, despite only having a population of 267k. At the same time you reckon Brisbane's 2.4m people should only have 2 teams. Get f**ked.

If that doesn't scream "hypocrite" then what does?

How about you practice what you preach and tell Hull to get rid of a team so the ESL can expand into Dublin or Paris?

You hate State of Origin, yet you're willing to go watch it at Perth Stadium.

You're just jealous of rugby League's success in Australia.
Just like your death riding perth despite supposedly being in Favour? Lol
I’m under no illusions the challenges a perth club will face, and I also recognise if done well the enormous benefits to the nrl long term. I’ll argue against east coast ignorance every day. Most have zero idea about WA or rugby league here,

as for death riding others, just pointing out the obvious challenges in other bids.
im an expansionist, your a consolidationalist. you want yet another eats coast club, I’d be happy to see perth, nz2, png or even Adelaide ahead of yet another nsw or qlnd club. But I’m the one who doesn’t want expansion other than perth? Youre funny,

I did a quick Google and found this:

DOLPHINS JUNIOR RUGBY LEAGUE
Welcome to the Dolphins Junior Rugby League Football Club. Home to 1000 junior footballers looking to develop new skills in a fun, safe environment. The club competes in the Junior Rugby League Brisbane competition from March to September each year.​

That's just one club. You're comparing every club in the state of Western Australia to one club in Redcliffe. That one club you're focusing on has 25% as many people as the entire state of Western Australia.

There are plenty more clubs in the Moreton Bay Region that will feed into the Dolphins.
Their jnr handbook has registrations nearer 800.
And it’s about catchment region. A perth nrl club will have the pick of every jnr from every club in wa. Redcliffe have their jnr region they focus on. Do you understand how catchment regions work in rugby league?