Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

That's another thing that only applies to Perth. Union doesn't get a crowd so league won't. How anyone can compare league to union is astounding.
I don't think he's ever left Brisbane tbh.
60,533 people attended a Wallabies vs All Blacks Test at Perth Stadium in 2019.

There's 3 times as many people playing RU than RL in Perth.

The Western Force were drawing more to their games in Global Rapid World Rugby than the Western Reds attracted in 96 and 97. Let that sink in.

If the affiliated states got a sixth of the funding the QRL and NSWRL got there would be more development happening in those 2 states. I’ve just come back from the affiliated states tournament and from what I heard, it looks like there will be an increase in funding, so then we might see some actual growth
Best athletes will be gobbled up by fumbleball, cricket and basketball. Andrew Forrest is investing heavily in RU across WA.

the ARLCs mandate is to grow the game across Australia. They should be spending more than the pittance they do on jnr participation in EVERY state. My comment was in the nonsense about nrl having to give a perth nrl club more than the grant the other club are getting because 25 years ago melbourne needed it, sorry the context of the conversation went above your head.
Your last sentence just exposed the flaw of your argument. On the one hand you say a Perth-based team will require no more than $18m a year from the ARLC. Just like every other club. In the previous sentence you whinged about the ARLC not funding the game in every state. The amount it would require to get the WARL up to the same standard as the QRL and NSWRL would be astronomical. The benefits it would provide would be minuscule.

The only reason you want the ARLC to invest heavily in Perth over the next 20 or 30 years is because you want a local team to support. You want everything to be based around what's convenient for you and couldn't give a f**k about the ramifications it has on everyone else. I've seen you whinge about Queenslanders and New South Welshmen caring more about Origin than Test matches.

Did I say the ARLC would have to give a Perth-based team more than any other club?

Or did I say that a Perth-based club would need to run on $40m to be successful like the Storm?

The bigger clubs run on about $40m a year. That is what keeps them at the top of the competition. They invest heavily on junior development and infrastructure to give their players an edge over their opponents. There's no way News Ltd would have invested an additional $70m over 15 years on the Storm if they didn't have to. This is an organisation that has short-changed the game in every way imaginable since 1998. They then made the ARLC fund a other $30m into the Storm until 2018. Even with that funding, the new owners of the Storm were running at a loss for the first few years they were at the club. I've shown you the SMH article.

Jimmy Wiggle

You're clutching at straws and rewriting history
Someone is certainly rewriting history.
What happened on 1st April 1995?
Where was the Reds last home game and why is it there?

There's a cricket ground in Perth called Perth Stadium. It hosted a double header in front of 42k people.

How do you explain that?

According to you cricket grounds don't attract crowds for RL games!
So you’re saying all grounds are equal?
Why does Homebush get 80000 at origin and grand finals but a lot less at all other times?
You're obviously passionate about WARL. I can respect that. But let's not pretend the game is bigger in Perth than it actually is.

For every person in WA playing RL, 3 are playing RU. If RL was more popular than RU then that wouldn't be the case. Blaming it on there being no NRL club is a poor excuse. People will play what they like.
If people play what they like, why are there more people playing soccer than AFL in Perth? Maybe what you like and what you’re parents push you to has something to do with it.
The Melbourne Victory attracted an average of 17,366 in 2019-20. An average of 7,775 attended Melbourne City games. That's 25k active soccer fans in Melbourne for 2019-20.
What relevance does that have to anything I said? Were those seasons played in Perth? Why didn’t you use the Rebels attendances or doesn’t that suit your argument.
Perth Scorchers and Perth Wildcats have won more BBL and NBL Championships than any other team in their respect leagues. To argue that their crowds are not influenced by team form is bullshit.
Where did I say anything about performance? For you to dismiss what I actually said highlights your lack of understanding of the WA market. WA is very parochial, they get behind their own. If there was a WA side in the NRL the people of WA would get behind like the do with every other WA team

Bukowski

Why does Homebush get 80000 at origin and grand finals but a lot less at all other times?

If people play what they like, why are there more people playing soccer than AFL in Perth? Maybe what you like and what you’re parents push you to has something to do with it.

What relevance does that have to anything I said? Were those seasons played in Perth? Why didn’t you use the Rebels attendances or doesn’t that suit your argument.

Where did I say anything about performance? For you to dismiss what I actually said highlights your lack of understanding of the WA market. WA is very parochial, they get behind their own. If there was a WA side in the NRL the people of WA would get behind like the do with every other WA team
Lol, until a few weeks ago he thought the basketball team here was called the heat. He knows all about Perth with our 4 million afl fans.

Gobsmacked explained it to you

to make it into Cronulla jersey fleg you have to beat thousands of other kids

to make it into Perth jersey flegg you would have to beat two other people tops

why do you think wa don’t play origin ?
Eh there 5000 kids in Cronulla, region 3500 in perth region, 800 in Redcliffe region.
Eh? What state level got to do with it?

Your last sentence just exposed the flaw of your argument. On the one hand you say a Perth-based team will require no more than $18m a year from the ARLC. Just like every other club. In the previous sentence you whinged about the ARLC not funding the game in every state. The amount it would require to get the WARL up to the same standard as the QRL and NSWRL would be astronomical. The benefits it would provide would be minuscule.

The only reason you want the ARLC to invest heavily in Perth over the next 20 or 30 years is because you want a local team to support. You want everything to be based around what's convenient for you and couldn't give a f**k about the ramifications it has on everyone else. I've seen you whinge about Queenslanders and New South Welshmen caring more about Origin than Test matches.

Did I say the ARLC would have to give a Perth-based team more than any other club?

Or did I say that a Perth-based club would need to run on $40m to be successful like the Storm?

The bigger clubs run on about $40m a year. That is what keeps them at the top of the competition. They invest heavily on junior development and infrastructure to give their players an edge over their opponents. There's no way News Ltd would have invested an additional $70m over 15 years on the Storm if they didn't have to. This is an organisation that has short-changed the game in every way imaginable since 1998. They then made the ARLC fund a other $30m into the Storm until 2018. Even with that funding, the new owners of the Storm were running at a loss for the first few years they were at the club. I've shown you the SMH article.
IMG_1132.jpeg

They have, my point is they did that on just 800 or so juniors in their region. Imagine if WA had the same level of funding Redcliffe have drawn from pokies and qrl and their direct nrl pathways with 3500 jnrs!

FMD...

Redcliffe didn't have pokies before 1991!

It didn't stop them from producing Queensland and Australia representatives in the 60s, 70s and 80s.

You're clutching at straws again.

If you're going to argue that Super League caused the people of Perth to turn their backs on the Reds then how do you explain the Cowboys drawing an average of 21,600 to their 10 home games?

Cowboys managed d to raw 21,600 with a team that only won two games in 1995.

Probably because Origin and the GF are high stake events and the average regular season NRL game isn't?

You and @Perth Red like to conflate attendances for one-off events in Perth, such as Origin and the double-header at Perth Oval, as "proof" that the city has a huge amount of active RL supporters willing to become ticketed members of a Perth-based NRL. It's disingenuous and makes it hard to take you seriously. At the same time @Perth Red dismisses the strong attendances for the Broncos and Dolphins on the formers good form and the latter playing in their debut season.

But apparently the 5k people who turned their backs on the Reds after their debut season isn't a true reflection of the club's active fanbase?

QEII Stadium was a shit place to watch rugby league. It didn't stop the Broncos from averaging over 30k in 1995.

But apparently the only reason the Reds drew 13,390 in 1995 was because they played at a cricket ground?

What were the Roosters' crowds like at the SCG in 2019?

They averaged 17,251. The previous year they averaged 13,274 at the old SFS.

Using your logic it should be the other way around!

Because fewer kids are suited to playing rough games like rugby league and fumbleball?

When I grew up in the 90s the majority of kids at school played soccer during lunch. It's always been this way.

You and @Bukowski said no one in the country watched A-League and Super Rugby.

There were more people in Melbourne attending A-League games than the Melbourne Storm.

The Western Force averaged more in Grand Rapid World Rugby than the Western Reds in 96 and 97. If you're going to say Super League was responsible for the poor attendances then how do you explain the Western Force?

Rugby Australia axed the Force from Super Rugby. They were playing against low quality teams in a hobbled together competition. Still managed more fans through the gates than the Reds in 96 and 97.

Where did I say anything about performance? For you to dismiss what I actually said highlights your lack of understanding of the WA market. WA is very parochial, they get behind their own.

If Western Australians were as parochial as you say then the Glory and Force would be selling out Perth Rectangular Stadium!

The only sporting clubs in Perth that enjoy strong support, regardless of performance, are the AwFuL clubs. That's because fumbleball is a religion in Perth. An NRL club would be going head-to-head against the Eagles and Dockers.

The Scorchers draw good crowds. However, they've drawn those crowds with a team that's won more titles than any other franchise in the BBL. The Wildcats made for finals for 35 years in a row and have been more successful than the Storm.

The West Coast Fever don't draw the best crowds.

If there was a WA side in the NRL the people of WA would get behind like the do with every other WA team

If that's true then why aren't Western Australians getting behind the Force and Glory?

Why did Western Australians fail to get behind the Reds?

There's massive flaws in your emotionally-laden and biased argument.

MugaB

If Penrith get a new stadium then move the Tigers there to be its second tenant.

Penrith Panthers and Western Sydney Tigers. Big Cat Stadium.
Its actually got merit, although most of the tigers faithful are around the southwest of sydney, commbank is more central for both them and the leichardt fans

Pyramids are made of limestone snd granite, WA's pyramid is made of sand and delusion.

Ain't that the truth. It doesn't matter how many facts are thrown at @Bukowski, @Jimmy Wiggle and @Perth Red. They want to believe RL in Perth is bigger than it actually is and more worthy of an NRL licence than anywhere else. All sorts of bullshit excuses are used to dismiss any fact that doesn't line up with their biases.

Jimmy Wiggle

You're clutching at straws again.

If you're going to argue that Super League caused the people of Perth to turn their backs on the Reds then how do you explain the Cowboys drawing an average of 21,600 to their 10 home games?

Cowboys managed d to raw 21,600 with a team that only won two games in 1995.

Probably because Origin and the GF are high stake events and the average regular season NRL game isn't?

You and @Perth Red like to conflate attendances for one-off events in Perth, such as Origin and the double-header at Perth Oval, as "proof" that the city has a huge amount of active RL supporters willing to become ticketed members of a Perth-based NRL. It's disingenuous and makes it hard to take you seriously. At the same time @Perth Red dismisses the strong attendances for the Broncos and Dolphins on the formers good form and the latter playing in their debut season.

But apparently the 5k people who turned their backs on the Reds after their debut season isn't a true reflection of the club's active fanbase?

QEII Stadium was a shit place to watch rugby league. It didn't stop the Broncos from averaging over 30k in 1995.

But apparently the only reason the Reds drew 13,390 in 1995 was because they played at a cricket ground?

What were the Roosters' crowds like at the SCG in 2019?

They averaged 17,251. The previous year they averaged 13,274 at the old SFS.

Using your logic it should be the other way around!

Because fewer kids are suited to playing rough games like rugby league and fumbleball?

When I grew up in the 90s the majority of kids at school played soccer during lunch. It's always been this way.

You and @Bukowski said no one in the country watched A-League and Super Rugby.

There were more people in Melbourne attending A-League games than the Melbourne Storm.

The Western Force averaged more in Grand Rapid World Rugby than the Western Reds in 96 and 97. If you're going to say Super League was responsible for the poor attendances then how do you explain the Western Force?

Rugby Australia axed the Force from Super Rugby. They were playing against low quality teams in a hobbled together competition. Still managed more fans through the gates than the Reds in 96 and 97.

If Western Australians were as parochial as you say then the Glory and Force would be selling out Perth Rectangular Stadium!

The only sporting clubs in Perth that enjoy strong support, regardless of performance, are the AwFuL clubs. That's because fumbleball is a religion in Perth. An NRL club would be going head-to-head against the Eagles and Dockers.

The Scorchers draw good crowds. However, they've drawn those crowds with a team that's won more titles than any other franchise in the BBL. The Wildcats made for finals for 35 years in a row and have been more successful than the Storm.

The West Coast Fever don't draw the best crowds.

If that's true then why aren't Western Australians getting behind the Force and Glory?

Why did Western Australians fail to get behind the Reds?

There's massive flaws in your emotionally-laden and biased argument.
Nothing emotional in my posts but plenty of denial in yours.
You’re making shit up to suit yourself, your bringing in other posters to try make your argument.
None of what I said has anything to do with Perth Red or Bukowski. I’ve made my argument, so debate that.
Although you aren’t going to because you believe everything you say is right.
mid you honestly think that a Perth side wouldn’t develop players and wouldn’t have a good following, I can’t help you. Plenty of people do, so you are entitled to your thoughts. However wrong I think they are.

Jimmy Wiggle

Ain't that the truth. It doesn't matter how many facts are thrown at @Bukowski, @Jimmy Wiggle and @Perth Red. They want to believe RL in Perth is bigger than it actually is and more worthy of an NRL licence than anywhere else. All sorts of bullshit excuses are used to dismiss any fact that doesn't line up with their biases.
This is an emotional post,

I think you are a flog who needs to get out of your small circle and actually experience life.
Have a drink, put a pineapple through the pokies and grab a hooker.

MugaB

AFL Red has no idea that an NRL first grader doesn't just develop overnight from a local comp or a second tier comp.

This isn't afl pal where the prerequisite to mske the top grade is to be 50kg, have a long neck and be white.
You need to be able to eat bananas thrown at you too, not sook about it

Centy Coast

I’ve enjoyed a back and forth over the last five pages, Perth Red you should really start buying some Bears merchandise as for WA pathways, when I was in Perth I noticed that like Melbourne rugby league is predominately played by islanders.
If the Perth Bears comes to fruition look for a pathways setup via the Pasifika.
Now for junior development, being on the Central Coast we have the 2nd largest junior competition in NSW after Penrith, ask Bradman Best, Nicho Hynes, Daniel and Jacob Saifiti, Connor Watson and Scotty Drinkwater how many junior grand finals they have won ?, not many.
I could tell you lol.
There is so much talent that it just gets pushed aside, these kids didn’t develop their talent over night, they have been consistently good year in year out since they were minors.
I knew most of these kids had the talent in U10’s it’s whether they could get through the bias in the system, survive injuries etc, etc.
When Wayne Bennett was with Newcastle he got all of his scouts to go out and get the best halves they could, Jack Cogger, Brendan O’Hagan among them.
Nobody even looked at Scotty Drinkwater back then, such great scouts outs there as I have mentioned previously.
Nicho Hynes was snapped up by the Manly junior reps after he was sacked from the Central Coast rep system for missing a training session as he was playing touch football for NSW, yeah seriously, after playing Harold Matt’s and S.G.Ball with the Sea Eagles, Manly released him after they lost the 2015 Holden Cup (Jersey Flegg) Grand Final to Penrith.
Latrell Mitchell didn’t want to play with the Knights rep system so he came down to the Central Coast and played in our S.G.Ball team where the Roosters eventually picked him up.
Sometimes I think having a smaller base of talented players trying out is better than having thousands with plenty of duds turning up.

We should bring Perth in next just for the lols
I'm not against Perth getting a team at some stage. I don't think anyone is against it, TBH.

I just don't like the arrogance, wilful ignorance and delusions of grandeur that are on display by some of Perth's advocates.

I'm biased and want the Tigers to get the next licence. I've laid out my reasons for giving them the 18th licence. However, I can accept that the ARLC might choose to go down a different path. At this stage it looks like they're going with PNG. The political instabilityqnd corruption in PNG makes me question this decision, but I will cheer on the Hunters and be happy for RL fans up north. They love their football up there and will appreciate a team of their own more than Western Australians will ever care for a Perth-based team.

It's a pity the sooks from Perth cannot do the same.

MugaB

You and your WA mates have got no idea. You think a few handouts is going to produce a cascade of NRL quality players all the way up the West Coast.
Nope but a fully fledged NRL team will, over the span of about 5 years, problem is their current comp isn't showing that it has the current standard to beat or atleast be on par with the east coast junior clubs, again ive said this before perth doesn't have anything to offer the NRL.. all these other "pros" that get brought up are for the broadcaster or the perth team itself, wow big crowds, great what does bring in to the clubs who are voting for it? Nothing, sponsors, again ditto, great for perth tho, new timeslot, broadcaster loves that, clubs don't.

Here are the cons, bellamy wheres your forward pack? Um sign up with the new franchise, are they going to give one in return, yeah maybe in 5 years, right now they aint offering much

Santino Patane

All due respect Donkey but it’s very apparent that you are just as biased for any proof to get another Brisbane team in. Lots of cherry picking data and opinion to justify that Bris3 is the only choice. If the Westie mob do the same as you, that’s their prerogative. You all are entitled to your opinions, just don’t pretend that you’re not in the same ballpark too.

At the end of the day, one can only hope the powers to be can make the right decision, without having to listen to pundits that think they have all the answers, or at least balance everything up in full. If they decide to go to Perth, great- at least we can pretend that it is actually a national league. If they give it to a Qld team, well then it means they feel that the game isn’t strong enough to really expand and need more out of the heartland to build future growth. If they choose elsewhere- again I’m sure they will choose there for hopefully the right reasons.