Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

mongoose

Those here advocating for SEQ4 and/or PNG dont realise that as soon as these get licensed, the player pool increases
This isn't the case at all, the Dolphins just proved that. Another team in QLD isn't going to suddenly increase the player pool, that's not how it works. Places like QLD and PNG shouldn't need NRL teams to get people playing League. WA is different and probably needs a top-down approach...

MugaB

This isn't the case at all, the Dolphins just proved that. Another team in QLD isn't going to suddenly increase the player pool, that's not how it works. Places like QLD and PNG shouldn't need NRL teams to get people playing League. WA is different and probably needs a top-down approach...
Its not about getting new kids playing league, its about turning the already playing talented kids in those new areas into NRL grade players, not just the reserve grade kids we are currently getting, and yeah agree with WA...sure

Iamback

Mate, you can't seriously think that PNG has the same commercial market as an Australian city?

It's just not a desirable market for sponsors, that's an undeniable fact.

Without government intervention, this wouldn't even be a discussion.

Where would RL rate is far as popularity in Perth

West Coast Eagles
Dockers
Scorchers
Wildcats.

Then RL?

We are talking 5th best in a city of 2m people. I think getting 10% of the population is reasonable.

So you are looking at 200k people. Someone like Harvey Norman that is good and will pay more.

A company with a presence in PNG surely want the millions of extra eye balls PNG brings in. So no matter who comes in it brings in money

Yes but Perth's Premier has also reached out to the NRL, We don't know what the actual assistance PNG was offered

Iamback

Redcliffe won the QCup u19's last season. Those guys have a direct pathway to the NRL, No Dolphins they don't have that.

Brisbane 3 would do the same

Canard

West Coast Eagles
Dockers
Scorchers
Wildcats.

Then RL?

We are talking 5th best in a city of 2m people. I think getting 10% of the population is reasonable.

So you are looking at 200k people. Someone like Harvey Norman that is good and will pay more.

A company with a presence in PNG surely want the millions of extra eye balls PNG brings in. So no matter who comes in it brings in money

Yes but Perth's Premier has also reached out to the NRL, We don't know what the actual assistance PNG was offered
The NRL is a far bigger code then BBL or NBL, and importantly is far bigger on the East Coast.

Let's be honest this is a spurious reason to not expand the game.

MugaB

The NRL is a far bigger code then BBL or NBL, and importantly is far bigger on the East Coast.

Let's be honest this is a spurious reason to not expand the game.
I reckon if they get in theyll be 3rd string, lets face it, we aren't competing with cricket, or soccer...
Add to that these days rugby too

Iamback

Before the Dolphins were in the NRL, they had feeder club arrangements with NRL teams.

This is just a different pathway, not the creation of a new one.

Feeder clubs are totally different for developing talent.

We saw PNG have already advertised for 4 new staff members to develop talent

Dolphins extended too Central QLD as a result from being in the NRL, as opposed to giving local guys a chance to play semi professional footy

West Coast Eagles
Dockers
Scorchers
Wildcats.

Then RL?

At the moment yes, becasue there isnt a club.

We've seen from attendances and the stats on interstate migration that there's plenty of RL fans in perth. No reason at all a well run club in a comp as big as the NRL cant avg 15-17k crowds and 20k plus members which would put it in third place in the winter sports scene pecking order in Perth. and probably 4th overall behind eagles, dockers and scorchers.

I dont think sponsorship will be a problem for Perth team, so many rich companies here and wa rugby league people with their own companies. Not sure if true but I was reading yesterday that belmont steelers rugby league club became the first privately owned sports club in Australia in the 8o's! Theres always been a ton of money floating around this state.

That first paragraph is nonsense.

You don’t think they would invest more if there was an actual WA side in the competition?

You don't think Foxtel holds a monopoly over the PTV rights in Australia?

Which other PTV provider has made a serious bid for the NRL broadcast rights over the last 20 years?

Ch7 has never made a serious bid for the NRL. They stated their desire to bid when Ch9/10/Foxtel held the AwFuL rights 20 years ago.

I do recall News Ltd acquiring the NBL rights a decade or more ago, under the stipulation the Brisbane Bullets were revived.

If a Perth-based company is interested in advertising their business to rugby league fans in Queensland and NSW then they'll sponsor one of the 14 NRL clubs from those states.

Does the EPL need to base a team in the Middle-East to acquire investment from wealthy Arabs?

You don't think Foxtel holds a monopoly over the PTV rights in Australia?

Which other PTV provider has made a serious bid for the NRL broadcast rights over the last 20 years?

Ch7 has never made a serious bid for the NRL. They stated their desire to bid when Ch9/10/Foxtel held the AwFuL rights 20 years ago.

I do recall News Ltd acquiring the NBL rights a decade or more ago, under the stipulation the Brisbane Bullets were revived.

If a Perth-based company is interested in advertising their business to rugby league fans in Queensland and NSW then they'll sponsor one of the 14 NRL clubs from those states.

Does the EPL need to base a team in the Middle-East to acquire investment from wealthy Arabs?
when thinking of the corporate $ for NRL clubs theres 4 main types of investor.

1. Major national companies looking to be main sponsors and have as national a reach as possible ie your Kings for Dolphins type sponsor

2. Passionate RL fans who want to use their company sponsorship to support and have an influence on a NRL club ie Brydens lawyers for Tigers

3. Local companies with an interest in RL who can afford to write off some tax by supporting a local or state club ie Toyota NQ dealerships for Cowboys

4. Smaller local companies wanting to get involved and wine and dine staff and guests, or themselves at games in corporate boxes.

An NRL club in Perth could be quite well situated by itself in the middle tier of winter sports for companies who cant afford to compete for the 2 AFL club sponsorships and want more exposure than Aleague or Super rugby offers.

what even is this argument? we don't mean attracting companies from WA but attracting more national sponsors and more dollars because the NRL has a presence in the 4th largest city.
Do you have any evidence to support your claim?

Why doesn't the NRL have teams in Adelaide and Perth?

Are you saying Foxtel believe they can recoup more money from advertising by having teams in Adelaide and Perth, but are choosing not to pressure the NRL into expanding into these markets?

That doesn't make any sense.

What Foxtel wants, Foxtel gets.

A media analyst who has worked with the NRL on broadcast rights deals, Colin Smith, said the NRL should forget about expanding into Adelaide and Perth if it wants to increase its value.

mongoose

Do you have any evidence to support your claim?

Are you saying Foxtel believe they can recoup more money from advertising by having teams in Adelaide and Perth, but are choosing not to pressure the NRL into expanding into these markets?

That doesn't make any sense.

What Foxtel wants, Foxtel gets.

A media analyst who has worked with the NRL on broadcast rights deals, Colin Smith, said the NRL should forget about expanding into Adelaide and Perth if it wants to increase its value.
Who cares what foxtel wants. What they want doesn't mean its best for the game. They probably want to drive the value down, which they have done before.

Doesn't Colin Smith advocate for PNG? He's probably on the AFL payroll lol

the million $ question!
Myopia, stupidity, fear, lack of self belief, conflicted ownership, self-interest, short sightedness, lack of strategic vision? Take your pick.

Politis, who many here respect as a pretty smart businessman, recognises the need for a national metro footprint, as have many others. It seems pretty logical to me and others that a national company would see more value in a national reach for its advertising campaign over a 2/3rd reach?
Why has Toyota consistently paid a 1/3rd more for its AFL sponsorship than Telstra has for NRL? A lot of it may be more perception than reality but wars have been waged over perception!

Who cares what foxtel wants. What they want doesn't mean its best for the game. They probably want to drive the value down, which they have done before.

Foxtel want to not catch a cold lol We shouldnt be handing them the tissues.

Are you saying Foxtel wants to drive down the value of the NRL so they can make less money from the commercials they air on Fox League?

Anyone who doesn't advocate for Adelaide and Perth is getting money from AwFuL?

Well where's my cheque?

I haven't received a f**ken cent from those greedy bastards!