Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

18th club, whose next?

Iamback

On plastic teams. What do people think of the Tigers? 25th season and still havnt bedded in their identity or area. They feel very wishy washy to me but I might just be aweary fan

Their biggest issue are the fans of both pre merger clubs fighting for power

Even someone like the Sharks who have struggled financially have assets, If things got too bad they could sell that land and be set.

Panthers have $400m in assets that they too can flog off if need be.

GWS on the other hand has nothing, As did the Titans when they fell into trouble. In theory I think promoting one of their QCup sides would of been better to have something behind them.

I posted the numbers earlier not sure anyone can think this is a successful expansion francise

17 years
44% win rate
Went broke owing $35m
Got fined for breaking the cap
Gone through 5 coaches
27k capacity stadium averaging 45% spare seats.

This is in RL heartland too, yes it is better than some in past but that isn't the point.

Looking at those figures would you class them as a successful franchise?
Titans would benefit from selling a share of the club to the Burleigh Bears. Robina is not far away from Burleigh.

1. So were 15 other players in the squad. But apparently only Belcher and Meninga matter in your head.
2. Correlation doesn’t equal causation. You could pick anybody and make that same argument. The Broncos haven’t won a competition since Lockyer. Heck even Shane Perry. Were they the only reasons why they won in 2005? What about the Cowboys? They haven’t won a competition since Kane Linnett was centre. Does that mean Kane Linnett was the only reason the Cowboys won in 2015? Do you know how f***** stupid your argument is - this is how stupid your argument is.

What's stupid is you comparing Australian and Queensland representative players to Shane Perry and Kane Linnett.

You do realise that Meninga and Belcher played for the Kangaroos and Queensland, right?

3. Wow you’re doubling down on Kyle Feldt. Nothing against Kyle Feldt because he is a decent winger but he has never played rep football and he has never been the best winger in the competition at any stage of his career hence why I don’t think he is a “great”. I think it is also a pretty stark indication of how far you’re reaching with your argument after showing you how much of your squad aren’t local players whilst you have criticised other teams for buying success. Oh and Btw Jordan Rapana has been a better winger than Kyle Feldt throughout his career (yes that is an opinion

Now you're making a dickhead out of yourself.

Kyle Feldt has represented Queensland twice and played for Australia at the 2019 Rugby League 9s World Cup.

4. I’m aware of the main reason why they had more money. Nevertheless that is not the NSWRL’s problem. Their clubs aren’t going to go oh well we have more money than they do but we shouldn’t pick on them because it might hurt the feelings of some Queenslanders. Their players also didn’t have to leave Queensland at the time either. It’s just capitalism really.

Yet you want to put a team in Western Australia, do you not?

The only state in Australia that doesn't allow pokies at licenced venues.

Do you not learn from history?

5. On the social conservatism of Queensland, you might want to talk to other Queenslanders and actual analysts about it (see below) It is not a bad thing but essentially your populace is more spread out than most other states and you have a more decentralised population than most other states. As a consequence, your state has a more socially conservative leaning perspective. Also, I have at least been to most places in Queensland, you haven’t been to many of the places that you are deriding according to your own commentary, yet that hasn’t stopped you from commentating on it.

I've got family from rural Queensland. They're not "socially conservative".

Melbourne identified them, gave them their shot, trained them developed them. No melbourne no qlnd dominance. You should be on your knees thanking the Storm lol,
They learnt their craft playing for the Norths Devils in the Queensland Cup. If Melbourne had them play in the VRL for the Altona Roosters then they wouldn't have been as good.

Canard

No successful Leagues club is going to sell off all their assets to rescue a failing Footy club.

That's why they are different businesses, separately incorporated with different boards, directors etc.

If for some reason the NRL clubs starting going broke, Leagues Clubs would cut ties quick smart.

Colk

What's stupid is you comparing Australian and Queensland representative players to Shane Perry and Kane Linnett.

You do realise that Meninga and Belcher played for the Kangaroos and Queensland, right?

Now you're making a dickhead out of yourself.

Kyle Feldt has represented Queensland twice and played for Australia at the 2019 Rugby League 9s World Cup.

Yet you want to put a team in Western Australia, do you not?

The only state in Australia that doesn't allow pokies at licenced venues.

Do you not learn from history?

I've got family from rural Queensland. They're not "socially conservative".

1. You do realise irony yeah. I am showing you how flawed your argument is. You are suggesting that the only reason that the Raiders won three premierships and made five grand finals because of a few Queensland players and neglecting the quality and effort of everybody else. You are being a dickhead (as you want to call me).
2. I am making a dickhead out of myself? You are clutching on to a winger because you don’t want to admit that most of your squad have been acquired (like everybody else) But you keep clinging on to Kyle Feldt and the fact that he played for (excuse me when I laugh) the Australian Rugby League 9’s side. All time great. By the way just to show how stupid your defence really is Nick Cotric has played for Australia twice (not the 9’s side but the actual test side). I still wouldn’t class him as a ‘great’ player, far from it
3. Well I guess if QRL clubs were given a grant that was $5m over the salary cap then you might have a point. But they didn’t and therefore you don’t.
4. Well there you go. Your family from rural Queensland contradicts all of the state data then. I should have known better. For example I always take my 20 odd family members based in NSW as reflective of the 5.5 million or so people that vote in the state.

Canard

Multiple Sydney clubs currently have or have had arrangements with QLD clubs.

Why is that OK for them, but not Melbourne?

Surely this isn't being overlooked to suit a hopelessly biased argument?

Iamback

No successful Leagues club is going to sell off all their assets to rescue a failing Footy club.

That's why they are different businesses, separately incorporated with different boards, directors etc.

If for some reason the NRL clubs starting going broke, Leagues Clubs would cut ties quick smart.

Parra Leagues for example was created BECAUSE of the Eels, Others were linked to fund them.

They are run seperate to get businessmen on to NRL boards

Oh god this is just painful to watch lol. Old man slothfield pleading for a long dead club and Vlandys feeding the nostalgia with bs. So Vlandys thinks 20 might be a good idea because someone whose good at business says so, f**k me get a strategy for the game nrl!

1. You do realise irony yeah. I am showing you how flawed your argument is. You are suggesting that the only reason that the Raiders won three premierships and made five grand finals because of a few Queensland players and neglecting the quality and effort of everybody else. You are being a dickhead (as you want to call me).

How many premierships did Canberra win without Meninga?

2. I am making a dickhead out of myself? You are clutching on to a winger because you don’t want to admit that most of your squad have been acquired (like everybody else) But you keep clinging on to Kyle Feldt and the fact that he played for (excuse me when I laugh) the Australian Rugby League 9’s side. All time great. By the way just to show how stupid your defence really is Nick Cotric has played for Australia twice (not the 9’s side but the actual test side). I still wouldn’t class him as a ‘great’ player, far from it

You said Feldt has never made any representative teams. He represented for Queensland in Origin and Australia in the RL 9s World Cup.

The biggest problem with Feldt is complacency. He has the skill and size to match the greats. He becomes lazy and tunes in and out of matches. It's why he lost his spot in the Cowboys team lady year. But when he's focused there's nothing he cannot do

3. Well I guess if QRL clubs were given a grant that was $5m over the salary cap then you might have a point. But they didn’t and therefore you don’t.

Doesn't change the fact that a Perth-based team will have less revenue streams bringing in money. The clubs that have pokies and property developments will always have a financial advantage over Perth.

4. Well there you go. Your family from rural Queensland contradicts all of the state data then. I should have known better. For example I always take my 20 odd family members based in NSW as reflective of the 5.5 million or so people that vote in the state.

If you're going by voting trends then Queensland as a whole isn't conservative.

Oh god this is just painful to watch lol. Old man slothfield pleading for a long dead club and Vlandys feeding the nostalgia with bs. So Vlandys thinks 20 might be a good idea because someone whose good at business says so, f**k me get a strategy for the game nrl!

South Queensland Bears. Based at Heritage Park. Games split between Lang Park and Robina.

MugaB

ZomboMeme 8405.jpg
Fk me cnts got a blade!