Thanks to Melbourne lolQueensland won eight series in a row you dope!
Melbourne?Thanks to Melbourne lol
Mate you said most... i've given you 5 seperate years of googled poll data, that says its perth that's no.1 on them, 6 if you include this years... and if i can google that then you can too, besides these polls are useless to the arlc... as ive said the Ceos of the clubs are the one that decides thru their vote and they are all individually and selfishly looking after each others bottom line, not the fans wishes, not players they employ, or coaches that they'll change/sack within 2 or more seasonsCherry picking.
You've got 5 out of the last 20ish years, and you know that I can't produce the contradicting data because they used to be done by the Rugby League Week, which not only no longer exists but was never digitised, and the others done by the Daily Tele have been memory holed.
This whole argument that you are making is such a construct that it is hard to begin.
You have by the way inadvertently answered the whole question right here. It’s not a case of whether something is plastic or not or real or valid or not (what is plastic from an objective viewpoint in any case as opposed to some highly subjective rendering) clubs and competitions have struggled in the past (and some still in the present) because sports went from being amateur to being professional. Some have coped well and some haven’t. Of most importance is how they have been run not how they have been conceived.
Also, the plastic clubs which you have identified as close to financial oblivion are largely no different to the clubs which you would regard as non plastic. Seriously most clubs barring probably the Broncos were in financial trouble during and immediately after the Super League war. Heck how many Sydney clubs (those non plastic ones) were in good financial health in those days?
This whole argument that you are making is such a construct that it is hard to begin.
You have by the way inadvertently answered the whole question right here. It’s not a case of whether something is plastic or not or real or valid or not (what is plastic from an objective viewpoint in any case as opposed to some highly subjective rendering) clubs and competitions have struggled in the past (and some still in the present) because sports went from being amateur to being professional. Some have coped well and some haven’t. Of most importance is how they have been run not how they have been conceived.
Also, the plastic clubs which you have identified as close to financial oblivion are largely no different to the clubs which you would regard as non plastic. Seriously most clubs barring probably the Broncos were in financial trouble during and immediately after the Super League war. Heck how many Sydney clubs (those non plastic ones) were in good financial health in those days?
Meninga and Belcher were there, too.
Canberra hasn't won a premiership since Meninga retired.
Feldt is definitely one of the more skilful wingers in the game. Some of the tries he's scored cannot be replicated by anyone else. His ability to catch the ball mid-air and place it inside the goaline without going into touch is unrivalled. Canberra has never had a more skilful winger.
Noa Nandruku couldn't do the things Feldt does.
No one can place kick the ball like Feldt. His kick offs are legendary and helped win the Cowboys a premiership.
NSWRL clubs made more money because they had access to pokies since the 1950s. BRL clubs didn't have access to pokies until the 1990s.
Guess who doesn't have access to pokies in 2024?
Perth RL clubs.
Not really. Lions are still carrying a massive debt. When they're losing they get f**k all attention from the Brisbane media.
You don't understand Queensland. A few weeks ago you claimed it is a "conservative" state.
I guess that's why Brisbane has three Greens MPs in the federal parliament and has elected Labor at state level all but two times since 1987?
Bit harshEven someone like the Sharks who have struggled financially have assets, If things got too bad they could sell that land and be set.
Panthers have $400m in assets that they too can flog off if need be.
GWS on the other hand has nothing, As did the Titans when they fell into trouble. In theory I think promoting one of their QCup sides would of been better to have something behind them.
I posted the numbers earlier not sure anyone can think this is a successful expansion francise
17 years
44% win rate
Went broke owing $35m
Got fined for breaking the cap
Gone through 5 coaches
27k capacity stadium averaging 45% spare seats.
This is in RL heartland too, yes it is better than some in past but that isn't the point.
Looking at those figures would you class them as a successful franchise?
Even someone like the Sharks who have struggled financially have assets, If things got too bad they could sell that land and be set.
Panthers have $400m in assets that they too can flog off if need be.
GWS on the other hand has nothing, As did the Titans when they fell into trouble. In theory I think promoting one of their QCup sides would of been better to have something behind them.
I posted the numbers earlier not sure anyone can think this is a successful expansion francise
17 years
44% win rate
Went broke owing $35m
Got fined for breaking the cap
Gone through 5 coaches
27k capacity stadium averaging 45% spare seats.
This is in RL heartland too, yes it is better than some in past but that isn't the point.
Looking at those figures would you class them as a successful franchise?
To answer your question on the Titans, no they clearly haven’t been successful. But that has got nothing to do with their name/brand or whether they are plastic and more to do with how poorly they have been run and the decisions they have made.
Also on the Sharks and Panthers they have been broke before and been on the cusp of being wound up. If the Panthers for instance didn’t go to Super League, your team would have been kicked out instead of Souths. The Sharks and Panthers have money now (which is great) but that hasn’t always been the case despite the fact that they are not plastic or whatever.
Its actually pretty simple, a plastic club are a club that has started with zero history behind it or its branding, the broncos when they started were as plastic as the titans are now, had they admitted norths devils and Burleigh bears instead, then there's a shit ton of history there, but i think now that the titans have been in the comp for a good 18 seasons straight, instead of the 10 years of 4 rebrands from 1988-1997, I'd be easily giving them a massive pass mark, yet struggling throughout just shows there is love for that plastic franchise on the GC, and every year they are less plastic, i would say if there ever was a cut off it would be the length of 20 years straight in the comp, so really they'd be the only one at the moment, as storm, cowboys and warriors have been over 25 nowTo answer your question on the Titans, no they clearly haven’t been successful. But that has got nothing to do with their name/brand or whether they are plastic and more to do with how poorly they have been run and the decisions they have made.
Also on the Sharks and Panthers they have been broke before and been on the cusp of being wound up. If the Panthers for instance didn’t go to Super League, your team would have been kicked out instead of Souths. The Sharks and Panthers have money now (which is great) but that hasn’t always been the case despite the fact that they are not plastic or whatever.
Bit harsh
1. failure of coe had nothing to do with the titans club ie not a reflection of their financial position
2. introduction of afl suns. Major push by afl house including priority draft picks, Garry Alberts son who was the best player in the league and favourable stadium deal
ie titans 300k plus per game vs suns 100k plus they keep the march day like on ground bar and
Food
Its actually pretty simple, a plastic club are a club that has started with zero history behind it or its branding, the broncos when they started were as plastic as the titans are now, had they admitted norths devils and Burleigh bears instead, then there's a shit ton of history there, but i think now that the titans have been in the comp for a good 18 seasons straight, instead of the 10 years of 4 rebrands from 1988-1997, I'd be easily giving them a massive pass mark, yet struggling throughout just shows there is love for that plastic franchise on the GC, and every year they are less plastic, i would say if there ever was a cut off it would be the length of 20 years straight in the comp, so really they'd be the only one at the moment, as storm, cowboys and warriors have been over 25 now
The double standard that some folks from Sydney push onto the Titans is ludicrous. The Titans should be getting 20k to a game but its ok for Sydney clubs that have decades of history to get 13k? and honestly, If a Sydney club's catchment of potential fans is only limited to 200k people then it shouldn't have a license.To answer your question on the Titans, no they clearly haven’t been successful. But that has got nothing to do with their name/brand or whether they are plastic and more to do with how poorly they have been run and the decisions they have made.
The double standard that some folks from Sydney push onto the Titans is ludicrous. The Titans should be getting 20k to a game but its ok for Sydney clubs that have decades of history to get 13k? and honestly, If a Sydney club's catchment of potential fans is only limited to 200k people then it shouldn't have a license.
They were knocked back 3 times to enter the comp before, They had plenty of time to get the process right.
That Stadium deal also killed the A League team, It sucks but that is the cost of doing business. You need to factor that in, Again comes to inexperience
Since entering the comp Canberra and Newcastle have had mixed successIf a comp was to Start tomorrow there wouldn't so many Sydney teams, Certainly not Souffs and Roosters within a 10km radius of each other
BUT the comp expanded from the NSWRL or further back at Sydney comp, The comp expands it needs to be a club to take it to the best.
Dolphins need to be in the Top few sides in most categories given what they offer, It is harsh but it is what it is
Since entering the comp Canberra and Newcastle have had mixed success
Illawarra failed
it’s hard for regional clubs to compete with big city clubs
penrith really are a regional club too
titans crowds are excellent given how poor the club has been
and winning the battle with afl
I went to the titans vs dolphins game, flew up for the day, stayed overnight, gold coast is pretty funIf you look at crowds only yes it is good, GC is a great spot for away games
Looking at the season just gone home games v
Broncos
Storm
Dragons
Souths
generally would bring away fans, Again it is good for the game.
They finished last for Memberships last year, probably unfair to match them to the Broncos but no reason they shouldn't be at Canberra or Cowboys level.
That is what I am using to make that claim the whole overall package
Hollywood showgirlsI went to the titans vs dolphins game, flew up for the day, stayed overnight, gold coast is pretty fun
Holding back the afl in qldIf you look at crowds only yes it is good, GC is a great spot for away games
Looking at the season just gone home games v
Broncos
Storm
Dragons
Souths
generally would bring away fans, Again it is good for the game.
They finished last for Memberships last year, probably unfair to match them to the Broncos but no reason they shouldn't be at Canberra or Cowboys level.
That is what I am using to make that claim the whole overall package
Holding back the afl in qld
crucial club for the nrl
I used to go to Titans day games semi regularly coming from Brisbane. Drive down to Burleigh late morning, park somewhere. Visit some of the craft brewers (Black Hops, Burleigh Brewing) then catch the shuttle bus to Cbus stadium. Great day out. Would be even better if the stadium was closer to some bars and stuff though...I went to the titans vs dolphins game, flew up for the day, stayed overnight, gold coast is pretty fun