Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2006 Tri-Nations Opener At Eden Park?

ozbash

I have serious doubts about yours.

lol, so do i,, often.

suffice to say, i think big sel has got it wrong, i would put money on the fact there will be no rugby league played at eden park in the next year or so,,

i think selwyn was a little excited.
shame really, eden park is a nice ground.

Calixte

ozbash said:
I have serious doubts about yours.

lol, so do i,, often.

suffice to say, i think big sel has got it wrong, i would put money on the fact there will be no rugby league played at eden park in the next year or so,,

i think selwyn was a little excited.
shame really, eden park is a nice ground.

Suffice to say you obviously worked out what I was saying was true and don't have the fortitude to concede. Oh well, that's life.

As for whether any RL will be played at Eden Park next year, we'll just have to wait and see. However, judging by the way the suggestion has been received by the unionists here, it would seem to be a masterstroke if it does happen.

Of course, you now have a year or so to lobby the Trust and see if you can keep rugby league out longer still! Off you all go now...get writing.:lol:

screeny said:
1. Has Eden Park ever hosted a RL match?

2. Do you admit that there's a possibility that the NZRU might - just might - have lobbied against the NZRL using Eden Park in the wake of the super successful debut match in '88, or do you insist that it's so squeaky clean it would never have resorted to such measures?

3. I never said you or Te Kaha didn't enjoy RL. I said you seem to pounce to the NZRU's defence when aspertions are cast against it.

As for me not having "the basic intelligence" to enjoy both codes.....hmmmm.....since when does somebody have to be intelligent to enjoy something?

I hate celery but like brussel sprouts, does that mean I'm more intelligent or less intelligent, professor ozbash?

Finally, no, I don't appreciate union as I think it's a pretty terrible sport, both tactically and technically, but I know this is not the place to harp on about such things and risking excommunication.

1. Eden Park was the first rugby league headquaters and the first rugby league grounds, before rugby league relocate to the Auckland Showgrounds, Auckland Domain and finally Carlaw Park in its early years .
But Im sure Calixte didn't want to share that with you screeny or is it not publish in the book ?;-)

2. We know that the NZRFU hasn't lobby against staging the RLWC at Eden Park .
From 1985 to 1990s was the best ever Auckland Rugby Team .

3. I don't think we are defending the NZRFU but the allegations and the book itself .

Eden Park is too big and too expensive to host any league internationals .
The 1988 RLWC final was unexpected and when it happen there was a high demands for tickets and so on .
Eden Park's Board happily excepted the NZRL request to move the game from Carlaw Park .
With crowds like this ! Do you think the NZRL are as dump as as some on here to relocate meaninless test matches to the 55,000 capacity Eden Park ?

1984 to 1988 Kiwi's Home Matches & Attendance

1984 NZ vs GB 12-0 Crowd 8,500
1984 NZ vs GB 29-12 Crowd 3,824
1984 NZ vs GB 32-16 Crowd 7,500
1985 NZ vs Australia 10-6 Crowd 19,132
1985 NZ vs Australia 18-0 Crowd 15,327
1986 NZ vs Australia 22-8 Crowd 14,566
1988 NZ vs PNG Crowd 14,000
1988 NZ vs GB 12-10 Crowd 8,525
1988 Rugby League World Cup Final NZ vs Australia Crowd 48,000

Think back screeny !

1. Do you actually think that Queensland Rugby will asked to use Lang Park for its matches when it has a stadium of their own which is free ?
With the crowds that the Kiwi international team were getting prior to 1988 and before in Auckland .

2. Do you think the NZRL would want to relocate any test matches to the 55,000 capacity Eden Park for a crowd of 15,000, lose money and pay rent for it when they own Carlaw Park ?

ozbash

Suffice to say you obviously worked out what I was saying was true and don't have the fortitude to concede. Oh well, that's life.

haha, you reckon ?

i,d say its more like ive had a gutsful of arguing with a no hoping wanker like you. :)
what you are talking is blatant sh*t and i,m starting to get covered in it, so time to move on...

Calixte

ozbash said:

haha, you reckon ?

i,d say its more like ive had a gutsful of arguing with a no hoping wanker like you. :)
what you are talking is blatant sh*t and i,m starting to get covered in it, so time to move on...

Whatever helps you get through the night, ozbash.

screeny

PW,

Bennett was just thinking out loud. If - and I agree it's a big if - the NZRL think they can fill a bigger ground and thereby increase their profit then that's a business decision they'll have to make.

You seem to assume that a crowd of 15,000 will turn up, without considering the effect of the Tri Nations 2005 win will have, especially if that's backed up with a May win v Australia, and with the inclusion of the likes of SBW and Benji.

Like I said before, the thought of a huge RL crowd in NZ, and a successful Kiwis team, must fill you with absolute dread.....

Green Machine

Polynesian Warrior said:
1. Eden Park was the first rugby league headquaters and the first rugby league grounds, before rugby league relocate to the Auckland Showgrounds, Auckland Domain and finally Carlaw Park in its early years .
But Im sure Calixte didn't want to share that with you screeny or is it not publish in the book ?;-)

2. We know that the NZRFU hasn't lobby against staging the RLWC at Eden Park .
From 1985 to 1990s was the best ever Auckland Rugby Team .

3. I don't think we are defending the NZRFU but the allegations and the book itself .

The 1988 RLWC final was unexpected and when it happen there was a high demands for tickets and so on .
Eden Park's Board happily excepted the NZRL request to move the game from Carlaw Park .
With crowds like this ! Do you think the NZRL are as dump as as some on here to relocate meaninless test matches to the 55,000 capacity Eden Park ?

1984 to 1988 Kiwi's Home Matches & Attendance

1984 NZ vs GB 12-0 Crowd 8,500
1984 NZ vs GB 29-12 Crowd 3,824
1984 NZ vs GB 32-16 Crowd 7,500
1985 NZ vs Australia 10-6 Crowd 19,132
1985 NZ vs Australia 18-0 Crowd 15,327
1986 NZ vs Australia 22-8 Crowd 14,566
1988 NZ vs PNG Crowd 14,000
1988 NZ vs GB 12-10 Crowd 8,525
1988 Rugby League World Cup Final NZ vs Australia Crowd 48,000

Think back screeny !

1. Do you actually think that Queensland Rugby will asked to use Lang Park for its matches when it has a stadium of their own which is free ?
With the crowds that the Kiwi international team were getting prior to 1988 and before in Auckland .

2. Do you think the NZRL would want to relocate any test matches to the 55,000 capacity Eden Park for a crowd of 15,000, lose money and pay rent for it when they own Carlaw Park ?
So, crowd figures for Rugby League Tests at the pre historic, quagmire Carlaw Park were average. What were the crowd figures for Kiwi Test in New Zealand post 1988? How many Tests were played at Carlaw Park post 1988? Pre 1988 most Rugby League tests were played at Carlaw Park, post 1988 how many test were played outside Auckland?

brendothejet

I hate to draw attention to the original point of this thread, but heres my opinion....

(we are still allowed to have opinions right???)

I think Sel was doing two things:

1. Drawing more attention to RL & the Kiwi victory by making what seems to be a pretty outlandish claim. To tell the NZ public that RL is going to play a match at the Home of NZRU AND fill the stadium is going to get people talking with excitement and hatred. Most importantly it will have them talking rugby league.

2. I think he is testing the water. By throwing this chum into the waters he can see whether or not this is plausible. If he gets a positive reaction from media, sponsors, the venue and the public he has now got about a year to organise the match. Plenty of time to find 55000 people who want to go to the footy.

Think about it, if you started now, hyped it up and said "the first RL international at Eden Park since 1988" you would find a crowd.

I don't care how parochial some RU fans may be they are not going to turn down a chance to see NZ win.

As for the trust, whoever heard of a Trust saying "we have enough money thanks...."

screeny said:
PW,

Bennett was just thinking out loud. If - and I agree it's a big if - the NZRL think they can fill a bigger ground and thereby increase their profit then that's a business decision they'll have to make.

You seem to assume that a crowd of 15,000 will turn up, without considering the effect of the Tri Nations 2005 win will have, especially if that's backed up with a May win v Australia, and with the inclusion of the likes of SBW and Benji.

Like I said before, the thought of a huge RL crowd in NZ, and a successful Kiwis team, must fill you with absolute dread.....

As one of many Kiwi's who knows rugby league very well in Auckland and NZ . I am assure just over 15,000 will turn up .
The effect of the 2005 Tri-Nations win count for nothing if your a Kiwi . I don't read the future Screeny so I don't want to make you feel better by saying that the Kiwi's are going to win in may .
We have had Johns, Lockyer, Stacey, Tallis, Tuqiri, Ridge and co before so I can't see what different Benji and SBW will do .

I don't remember you saying that Eden Park was going to get fill by a league international match before .
But I do remember you and your buddy's expecting a crowd of 40,000 at SFS and Telstra Stadium before .
But only got just over half of that and a sell out in Auckland for the second Tri-Nations match but only 14,000 .
So ! Don't worry about what I thought but you have been proven wrong before with your international crowds estimate .

Green Machine said:
So, crowd figures for Rugby League Tests at the pre historic, quagmire Carlaw Park were average. What were the crowd figures for Kiwi Test in New Zealand post 1988? How many Tests were played at Carlaw Park post 1988? Pre 1988 most Rugby League tests were played at Carlaw Park, post 1988 how many test were played outside Auckland?

1990 NZ vs Great Britain 10-11 Palmerston Nth 10,000
1990 NZ vs Great Britain 14-16 Auckland 7,500
1990 NZ vs Great Britain 21-18 Christchurch 5,000

1996 NZ vs Great Britain 17-12 Auckland 9,000
1996 NZ vs Great Britain 18-15 Palmerston Nth 8,000
1996 NZ vs Great Britain 32-12 Christchurch 9,000
1991 NZ vs France 60-6 Auckland 7,000
1991 NZ vs France 32-10 Christchurch 2,000

1995 NZ vs France 22-6 Auckland 15,000
1995 NZ vs France 16-16 Palmerston Nth 10,846

1989 Australia vs NZ 26-6 Christchurch 17,000
1989 Australia vs NZ 8-0 Rotorua 26,000
1989 Australia vs NZ 22-14 Auckland 15,000

1990 Australia vs NZ 24-6 Wellington 25,000

1993 Australia vs NZ 14-14 Auckland 22,994
1993 Australia vs NZ 16-8 Palmerston Nth 19,000

screeny

I haven't estimated anything. I don't do such things.

But like I said, the thought of larger Kiwi crowds in NZ on the back of a successful NZ team and a collectively resurgent int'l program fills you with absolute dread, doesn't it.....?

If you could choose between a filled up Eden Park with thousands of eager NZ kiddies cheering on the Kiwis, or an average crowd at, say, North Harbour or Eriksson, you'd definitely choose the latter, wouldn't you....

Green Machine

Polynesian Warrior said:

How many test matches did the NZRL stage at Carlaw Park post 1988?

screeny said:
I haven't estimated anything. I don't do such things.

But like I said, the thought of larger Kiwi crowds in NZ on the back of a successful NZ team and a collectively resurgent int'l program fills you with absolute dread, doesn't it.....?

If you could choose between a filled up Eden Park with thousands of eager NZ kiddies cheering on the Kiwis, or an average crowd at, say, North Harbour or Eriksson, you'd definitely choose the latter, wouldn't you....

You wish screeny ! But don't come crying when I told you so next year when the Kiwi's international crowds doesn't reach your expectations .
Eden Park or no Eden Park but i can honestly tell you it won't sell out . Can you say the same ?;-)

screeny

Polynesian Warrior said:
You wish screeny ! But don't come crying when I told you so next year when the Kiwi's international crowds doesn't reach your expectations .
Eden Park or no Eden Park but i can honestly tell you it won't sell out . Can you say the same ?;-)

Unfortunately I don't have the gift of prescience, but I would say that if NZ win on 5 May whatever stadium they astutely choose to use come October will come awfully close to selling out.

And you'd hate it.....

screeny said:
Unfortunately I don't have the gift of prescience, but I would say that if NZ win on 5 May whatever stadium they astutely choose to use come October will come awfully close to selling out.

And you'd hate it.....

If it makes you feel better to say that :lol: But like I say before I don't read the future and I agree with you that if they win in May come Octorber they will come awfully close to selling out Ericsson Stadium ;-)

Green Machine

Turdy,

I thought you said:
Polynesian Warrior said:
The facts are these :

1. Yes there was a crowd of 48,000 in 1998 for the RLWC final and I was there for there .
2. I know that was the last time a rugby league was played there .
3. I live in NZ for 15 years and I know there wasn't any plan to play any rugby league matches at Eden Park after 1988 .
4. Believe what you want to believe in Calixte and those posters you mention are just as paranoid as you are
Turdy, how would you know what the NZRL planned to do post-1988 if you don’t even know how many Rugby League Tests were played at Carlaw Park after 1988. Turdy, later on you said:
Polynesian Warrior said:
Do you think the NZRL would want to relocate any test matches to the 55,000 capacity Eden Park for a crowd of 15,000, lose money and pay rent for it when they own Carlaw Park ?
Turdy, in 1989 the Kiwis played Australia in a 3 Test Series in New Zealand. How many games were played at Carlaw Park? Turdy, what was the capacity of Carlaw Park and how many undercover seats were available in Carlaw Park? Since 1983, Kiwi V Australia Tests had attracted good crowds at Carlaw Park.
First Test Carlaw Park Crowd 18,000
First Test at Lang Park (Australia Won)
Second Test Carlaw Park 19,132 (Australia Won)
Third Test Carlaw Park Crowd 15,327 (Kiwis Won the 3rd in a dead rubber series)
First Test Carlaw Park Crowd 14,566
One thing I remember for the 80’s from watching these games from Carlaw Park on TV, was the heavy rain in a couple of these games, especially the 1986 game. One other thing that stood out on TV was the crowd wearing wet weather gear. The stuff you see fishermen wear.

Going into the World Cup Final the Kiwis had upset Australia 13-6 at Lang Park in a one off Test in 1987. So, if you would take your theory that the Kiwis could not pull a crowd in New Zealand, why did they choose to take the 1989 3-Test Series to three different venues with not one game at Carlaw Park? Why would the NZRL choose to play the last Test which became dead rubber at the venue for the 1990 Commonwealth Games if they could get a better deal at Carlaw Park from the Auckland Rugby League? Besides, Carlaw Park was a Rugby League ground and Mt Smart Stadium was a stadium with an athletics track around the playing field,
Polynesian Warrior said:
In 1987, the Rugby Union World Cup attracted a crowd of 46,000. Turdy, if you think that Eden Park had 55,000 in 1988, was there 9,000 vacant seats for the Rugby World Cup Final the year before? Turdy, since you know so much about Eden Park, if in 1989, a sport had approach the stadium management to hire out Eden Park with all its individual seat (a lot undercover), Private Boxes and Corporate Facilities, what kind of a crowd would they need to attract, to break even?

iggy plop

Green Machine said:
In 1987, the Rugby Union World Cup attracted a crowd of 46,000. Turdy, if you think that Eden Park had 55,000 in 1988, was there 9,000 vacant seats for the Rugby World Cup Final the year before? Turdy, since you know so much about Eden Park, if in 1989, a sport had approach the stadium management to hire out Eden Park with all its individual seat (a lot undercover), Private Boxes and Corporate Facilities, what kind of a crowd would they need to attract, to break even?

So rugby league holds the crowd record for a world cup final in NZ hey?

9,000 spare seats at 1987 union world cup final according to fafafine turd. :lol:

Green Machine said:
Turdy,

I thought you said:

Turdy, how would you know what the NZRL planned to do post-1988 if you don’t even know how many Rugby League Tests were played at Carlaw Park after 1988. Turdy, later on you said:

Turdy, in 1989 the Kiwis played Australia in a 3 Test Series in New Zealand. How many games were played at Carlaw Park? Turdy, what was the capacity of Carlaw Park and how many undercover seats were available in Carlaw Park? Since 1983, Kiwi V Australia Tests had attracted good crowds at Carlaw Park.
First Test at Lang Park (Australia Won)
Third Test Carlaw Park Crowd 15,327 (Kiwis Won the 3rd in a dead rubber series)
One thing I remember for the 80’s from watching these games from Carlaw Park on TV, was the heavy rain in a couple of these games, especially the 1986 game. One other thing that stood out on TV was the crowd wearing wet weather gear. The stuff you see fishermen wear.

Going into the World Cup Final the Kiwis had upset Australia 13-6 at Lang Park in a one off Test in 1987. So, if you would take your theory that the Kiwis could not pull a crowd in New Zealand, why did they choose to take the 1989 3-Test Series to three different venues with not one game at Carlaw Park? Why would the NZRL choose to play the last Test which became dead rubber at the venue for the 1990 Commonwealth Games if they could get a better deal at Carlaw Park from the Auckland Rugby League? Besides, Carlaw Park was a Rugby League ground and Mt Smart Stadium was a stadium with an athletics track around the playing field,

Green Machine said:
One thing I remember for the 80’s from watching these games from Carlaw Park on TV, was the heavy rain in a couple of these games,

Thanks for telling us that the rain once again was to blame ;-)

Third Test Carlaw Park Crowd 15,327 (Kiwis Won)

It just show that the crowds at Carlaw Park decrease before the 1988 RLWC .

Green Machine said:
Going into the World Cup Final the Kiwis had upset Australia 13-6 at Lang Park in a one off Test in 1987. So, if you would take your theory that the Kiwis could not pull a crowd in New Zealand, why did they choose to take the 1989 3-Test Series to three different venues with not one game at Carlaw Park? Why would the NZRL choose to play the last Test which became dead rubber at the venue for the 1990 Commonwealth Games if they could get a better deal at Carlaw Park from the Auckland Rugby League? Besides, Carlaw Park was a Rugby League ground and Mt Smart Stadium was a stadium with an athletics track around the playing field .

NZRL has had test matches played outside of Auckland before you were even born Brumby .
Maybe you and I will never know the reason why the NZRL decide not to use Carlaw Park but from experience Carlaw Park has had its use by date expire before 1988 and it was a sh*t hole of a ground .
The ARL/NZRL had an agreement with Mt Smart or the ARA who owned Mt Smart to relocate all test matches to Mt Smart because 90% of all rugby league supporters in Auckland lived in South Auckland ;-)
Maybe if you had live in Auckland at time Brumby you will know about it . I even had my under 19 rugby league finals at Mt Smart .

Green Machine said:

Eden park had a capacity of 55,000 before 1987/88 Brumby . Im not sure what sort of crowd is needed to break even Brumby but I do know that no other sport have approach the Eden Park board to use Eden Park after the 1988 RLWC final .

Calixte

iggy plop said:
So rugby league holds the crowd record for a world cup final in NZ hey?

9,000 spare seats at 1987 union world cup final according to fafafine turd. :lol:

Ouch, that's gotta hurt.