Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2010 World Cup - Australia 0 Germany 4 (Group D)

HevyDevy

Surely they'll appeal Cahill's red.

Anyway, I reckon Pim is saving Mark and Harry for the Asian Cup ...

skeepe

Luke Wilkshire has been very good, but he's been the only one really. Garcia was ok I guess.

Misanthrope

Emerton was good prior to being subbed off.

Fair dinkum though. We need a coach who is going to start building for the future. The fact we're fielding essentially the same side as 2006 is not a good thing by any stretch. Verbeek's basically ensured that the next coach has to do all of the development himself by barely taking any risks.

Timbo

Noone ever mention that game again.

If we pretend it never happened, maybe it'll be erased from existence.

That won't be a red in ANY other game this tournament. f**king disgraceful.

Tommy Smith

Ok time to vindicate myself after one of the most ridiuclous posts i had ever read after the Australia-NZ match.

Shiznit wrote on 24/5/10:
i actually think the Germans will be very lucky to get out of there group...

Australia will go through for sure IMO...

Theve shown far more than Germany have imo... people give Scot McDonald a hard time for not scoring... have a look at Klose and Padolski... theve scored next to nothing this season... with Ballack out... there in trouble IMO

Tommy Smith wrote on 24/5/10:
Are you taking the piss?

"Australia have shown more than Germany" What f**king planet are you on and when did 1-0 wins over Qatar and the Uzbeks give you the impression that Australia are better than perennial world superpower Germany?

I find it hard to believe that anyone seriously believes Australia have the "talent to be at the top table of world football" when they're team is made up of Championship players, bench players for average teams in minnow European leagues like Turkey and yes, the odd class player in Cahill and Schwarzer.

Again, if anyone seriously thought a team of broken down old donkeys like Moore and A-League hacks like Culina, led by Verbeek, were going to compete with Germany then i guess perhaps now they've finally woken up to reality.

Pim - what a wanker. If he keeps those tactics up for the next two games he'll set football back 10 years in this country!

HevyDevy

I'd say the fact it was Emerton's first game in about 6 months had something to do with it.

This isn't really the time or place to be playing it safe.

If you want results, you play your best side. When things are going awry, you don't replace your best players. When you do, sh*t happens - such as the Raiders winning the 1989 grand final.

Seriously, the entire German defensive line could have gone off to have a coffee after the first 10 minutes of that game and nobody would have noticed that they were missing.