Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 Jersey & Sponsorship Discussion

franklin2323

We wouldn't have been able to wear white in R2 anyway, because Roosters were always going to wear white. So in that sense I understand why we wore pink, in a choice between pink and black on a hot Sunday arvo pink wins everytime.

Yeah. I think the jersey's haven't been sent as a priority. Over actual lies. The heritage should of been ready by last week & wouldn't clash

GAZF

I agree with some of your points mate but I think clubs should have freedom of what jerseys they should wear and when, as long as said jerseys are approved by the NRL.

As for the Knights "crying" about the home jersey, well no one is crying about it mate but that design was approved by the old board and the new ownership sees it for what it is, absolute rubbish. I really cant fathom why anyone would want to force the Knights to use a shitty jersey when they have a much nicer one that has been approved for use. People whinge about ugly jerseys on these boards all the time yet dont want clubs to use alternatives? Doesnt make any sense to me.

The NRL would have final approval of what gets used, not so much telling them what they have to wear. They would be more stringent on getting heritage jerseys as accurate as possible on a modern uniform. That would mean no butcher stripes with piping and a teardrop for the dogs, no incorrect shorts and socks for the Knights and no completely made up history for the Warriors.

Teams like the Roosters, Knights and Panthers dropping unpopular jerseys before the 2/3 years are up means that fans who bought those particular jerseys now have an out of date design and would need to shell out another $160 in order to be up to date. Granted that this isn't everybody's priority but I'm sure kids in particular would like to be able to wear what their heroes wear. Although it sucks for the Knights, they would be made an example of and would serve as a warning to other clubs. They're on their 3rd year of that jersey (I think) so this would be its year if they choose. Not so bad considering in leagues like the NFL, teams keep uniforms for a minimum of 5 years. And come 2013, the Knights will either pick a damn good jersey, or screw it up for the next 3 years.

On another note, whoever is in charge of the Tiger's gear needs to be shot...

FYI our "heritage" strip IS our away strip. We only have 2 jerseys this year (although I assume we'll have a pink and ANZAC jersey)
Interestingly the ISC catalogue shows your away strip same as last year and I *think* refers to the jersey worn so far as "alternate".

As for the rules around jerseys, I recall seeing somewhere clubs could wear home and away when they want, and heritage a maximum of 8 times per year.

The Knights have already used up 3...

Joker's Wild

The NRL would have final approval of what gets used, not so much telling them what they have to wear. They would be more stringent on getting heritage jerseys as accurate as possible on a modern uniform. That would mean no butcher stripes with piping and a teardrop for the dogs, no incorrect shorts and socks for the Knights and no completely made up history for the Warriors.

Teams like the Roosters, Knights and Panthers dropping unpopular jerseys before the 2/3 years are up means that fans who bought those particular jerseys now have an out of date design and would need to shell out another $160 in order to be up to date. Granted that this isn't everybody's priority but I'm sure kids in particular would like to be able to wear what their heroes wear. Although it sucks for the Knights, they would be made an example of and would serve as a warning to other clubs. They're on their 3rd year of that jersey (I think) so this would be its year if they choose. Not so bad considering in leagues like the NFL, teams keep uniforms for a minimum of 5 years. And come 2013, the Knights will either pick a damn good jersey, or screw it up for the next 3 years.

On another note, whoever is in charge of the Tiger's gear needs to be shot...

The "bra" jersey has not sold well at all and I have not met a Knights supporter who wants it worn on the paddock just because they bought it. Our Heritage jerseys of the last 3 years have all sold out so the fans have spoken on that issue. BTW, this is only our 2nd year with that design, it will not expire until the end of 2013

The Dragons were allowed to drop their "Wolverine" jersey after 1 year due to poor sales and that according to the NRL jersey rules was supposed to be kept for at least 2 as it was an alternate jersey. I applaud the NRL for taking the common sense approach as noone wants to see shitty jerseys running around in our comp. As a jersey designer, I thought you could appreciate that.

Spitty

FYI our "heritage" strip IS our away strip. We only have 2 jerseys this year (although I assume we'll have a pink and ANZAC jersey)

Actually your "French Flag" away jersey IS your away strip. It was only created last year and under the NRL "rules" it has to stay registered as your official Away jersey for 2 years. But similar to the Dragons "Wolverine slash" jersey and Panthers "Teal" jersey it's been phased out of the public view but still registered as per the rules.

So as far as the NRL are concerned it's your Away jersey, but you aren't advertising it, selling it or wearing it because the rules allow you not too. You've replaced it with the Heritage because there is no maximum on how many times you can wear the heritage and there is no minimum as to how few times you have to wear the Away.

GAZF

The "bra" jersey has not sold well at all and I have not met a Knights supporter who wants it worn on the paddock just because they bought it. Our Heritage jerseys of the last 3 years have all sold out so the fans have spoken on that issue. BTW, this is only our 2nd year with that design, it will not expire until the end of 2013

The Dragons were allowed to drop their "Wolverine" jersey after 1 year due to poor sales and that according to the NRL jersey rules was supposed to be kept for at least 2 as it was an alternate jersey. I applaud the NRL for taking the common sense approach as noone wants to see shitty jerseys running around in our comp. As a jersey designer, I thought you could appreciate that.

And the Dragons were in the wrong as well. Continuing to allow changes within this time period perpetuates clubs making bad decisions and expecting to be able to make changes. I want teams to look as good as possible and to do this long term you need to cut the problem off at the head.

Technically I'm not a jersey designer, nothing I have on my site has been reproduced (unless you count the Warriors but thats another story), I'm more of an enthusiast.

what i wanna know is this.

why would the NRL stop one of their financially weakest clubs from putting a sponsor on the front of their shirts who was willing to pay for it.

its a f**king business after all.

its not like we tried to run out there with brazzers on the front.....

although..

hmmm

FWIW the Dragons' Wolverine jersey was phased out in 2010. It no longer exists.

Pierced Soul

good point regarding this. i ahve no idea if it was due to poor sales or lawsuits by people who blinded themselves afetr seeing it in real life

its not like we tried to run out there with brazzers on the front.....

although..

hmmm

well given the sharks alleged links with a porn entrepreneur a few years ago.....
brazzers would gain them fans

beagle

This picture from the recent press conference for this Friday night's game.

picture.php

We'll see if this is what both teams will wear on Friday night, especially if Penrith's white jersey still isn't ready.

It may be that the Panthers asked Parramatta if that was possible, with the white jersey issue still up in the air.

Trentosaurus

There's no shortage of clubs with awful designs (Knights/Storm/Tigers/Titans) or good designs ruined by an awful template (Bulldogs/Rabbitohs/Warriors). It really makes the league look cheap and nasty combined with over the top sponsorship in garish boxes.

The NRL should be stricter on club uniform rules. Once a home/away uniform is used, it stays for 3/2 years, no excuses. The only exceptions being change in sponsorships or player comfort issues such as changing the material or collar of the uniform.

They would also need to close off the loophole where special uniforms are used constantly - one heritage and one special interest jersey (charity) used over two rounds in a year. Commercially driven uniforms such as the Avatar and Star Wars nonsense that the Dogs have come up with would not be allowed either. This would make clubs reconsider adopting ugly designs in the first place and dragging down the look of the league overall, given that merchandise sales would take a hit.

Heritage jerseys would need to be approved by the league for historical accuracy. At the moment we have teams like the Warriors using completely made up designs (as good as they may look) or teams like Newcastle altering the original design (sleeve stripes are vertical instead of horizontal, sock & shorts are wrong) or the Gold Coast using the wrong colours.

It isn't that hard to get it right but clubs find a way to screw it up every year, take the big decisions out of their hands and they might be wiser in the future.
You have a good point but you've gone off on some geniused tangents.

I agree that rules about jerseys should be enforced but heritage jerseys checked for historical accuracy? What a f**king joke. The Warriors one this year looks great and will sell shitloads. And Gold Coast using the wrong colours? The Titans are a new club. They don't maintain any of the former Gold Coast records and shouldn't have to maintain their colours.

GAZF

Was thinking of this the other day, what if clubs were to release a fan replica jersey with only the main sponsor? It's looking like more and more sponsors are being crammed onto playing gear which is making the merchandise less appealing to the fan who doesn't like being a walking billboard.

The Best & Less ones are a good idea in principle but look cheap and nasty. I'm proposing a jersey identical to what you can buy now but with only the sponsor on the front and one on the back below the number (so a name could be added at the top if desired), made by the same manufacturer. Less sponsors means that a jersey is less likely to be out of date on a year to year basis. Might sell a few to fans who otherwise wouldn't buy them and kids could get their favourite player's name and number on the back.

It could also be worked into sponsorship deals. As far as I know, sponsors are getting free exposure when a fan walks around in their jersey. A deal could be struck with the major sponsor stating that a certain value is paid to the club per x amount of uncluttered jerseys sold.

GAZF

You have a good point but you've gone off on some geniused tangents.

I agree that rules about jerseys should be enforced but heritage jerseys checked for historical accuracy? What a f**king joke. The Warriors one this year looks great and will sell shitloads. And Gold Coast using the wrong colours? The Titans are a new club. They don't maintain any of the former Gold Coast records and shouldn't have to maintain their colours.

Don't call it a heritage jersey then, theres no reason as to why they couldn't use a traditional Auckland jersey for a heritage and use the current heritage as a jersey representing an appropriate charity, its clubs essentially bending flexible rules.

In the Titans case, they're really having it both ways. If they don't use the Seagulls colours or associate with them at all then they have no right to use the butcher stripes and claim it as their history.

GAZF - I can't see ANY club agreeing to releasing a replica with only the main sponsor.

It would be utterly counterproductive to sponsorship deals (every company wants free advertising from fans walking down the street in sponsored jerseys)... plus there's already the Best and Less plain replica option anyway.

beave

Thanks mate, was that you that contacted me the other day regarding the Marlins? I couldn't reply to the email address supplied.

No, I reckon that may have been Thommo???

Most of the older NQ fans wish they went with 'NQ Marlins' but understand the QRL were probably dead against it, would love to see what sort of Marlin logo you could come up with, though keeping it in the tradition of the old NQ colours.

GAZF

GAZF - I can't see ANY club agreeing to releasing a replica with only the main sponsor.

It would be utterly counterproductive to sponsorship deals (every company wants free advertising from fans walking down the street in sponsored jerseys)... plus there's already the Best and Less plain replica option anyway.

Is this form of advertising accounted for in sponsorship deals though (I have no idea)? My argument was that the Best & Less option isn't necessarily appealing since they come across as knock-offs. Its a compromise that allows the level of sponsorship on playing gear and more appealing merchandise to fans. Just throwing it out there anyway.

GAZF

No, I reckon that may have been Thommo???

Most of the older NQ fans wish they went with 'NQ Marlins' but understand the QRL were probably dead against it, would love to see what sort of Marlin logo you could come up with, though keeping it in the tradition of the old NQ colours.

I'd say so, email matches the name. I'll look into doing a recolour Cowboys jersey after I finish my NRL set. Will see about the logo, takes up a lot of my time as it is.