Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 NSW soo side..

RWB

Greg Bird is a poor man's Glenn Stewart. Glenn can do everything Bird does a lot better. Watch Manly's right hand side with Glenn Stewart, Snake, Lyon etc.

Have Uate out there and we should actually be able to score points for a change.

Bird runs for 100+metres per game week in week out, point me to a season when Stewart has done that and your argument might have some merit.

RWB

to suggest bird is a far better line runner than stewart is ludicrous. do you even watch titans or manly play.

also, i think stuart is so egotistical that he loves including a suprise selection. this year will probably be the surprise utility, and he can't wait to give a big 'told ya so' to the public

Settle down, I never said anything about Bird being a better hole runner. All I said was he's a capable hole runner. Quote me if I said otherwise.My argument is based on the roles they'd be playing and their suitability to the team, not on their ability.

My argument for picking for picking Bird goes way beyond his ability to run a line.

RABK

The least of our problems is Bird vs Stewart. For one they play on opposite sides of the park. Two, they both should be selected.

RWB

That is a load of rubbish, and I'm not even a Manly fan.

This myth about "Origin players" has to f**king stop, it's the same game with the same ball on the same sized f**king field.

If Stewart is one of the best backrowers in the comp, which he is, then how is he not physical enough for Origin?

FMD, just pick the best players. Beau Scott might be a good defender but he offers ZERO ZILCH NOTHING with ball in hand.

Certain players abilities suit origin more than others, I hardly think it's a myth to suggest some players are more suited to origin than others.

RWB

The least of our problems is Bird vs Stewart. For one they play on opposite sides of the park. Two, they both should be selected.

So who do you play at lock? Neither Lewis nor Watmough are up to it defensively. So then who don't you pick on the bench... Watmough has consistently been one of our best and we need Lewis there for his ability to play numerous positions.

RABK

Do you mean which backrower plays centre field in defense? Or do you mean who wears the 13 on their back? I'm just really unsure of your question.

I think we can select Bird, Watmough, Lewis and Stewart in the same side. It'd mean probably Tony Williams missing out or going with only Gallen and one other specialist prop up front.

I think Bird, Stewart and Lewis can handle defensive workloads in the middle - they are not shirt grabbers. Lewis and Stewart often make 40 tackles a game and Bird ain't no slouch. Only Watmough has questions over his defence at times. Tamou, and Mannah are two big guys in the middle both capable of making 25+ tackles in only 30-40 minutes. Check their stats - huge workloads in defence.

If all 4 are selected i'd have Stewart at lock playing on the right, and i'd have Lewis and Bird interchanging between the middle and left as both seem to do this for their club sides. I'd have Watmough come on and roam around the ruck as the battering ram with footwork he is.

RABK

I should add a defensive line and attacking line are often two very different things positionally. Whilst Glenn Stewart may position himself as a wide second receiver on the right edge in attack in defence he does and could for NSW shift infield with Lewis playing inside Carney in defence on the right edge.

broncos70

Inside word is Dugan will play left wing, with hayne and jennings in the centres, and stewart at fullback.

stewart
dugan
jennings
hayne
uate

Boganater

That is a load of rubbish, and I'm not even a Manly fan.

This myth about "Origin players" has to f**king stop, it's the same game with the same ball on the same sized f**king field.

If Stewart is one of the best backrowers in the comp, which he is, then how is he not physical enough for Origin?

FMD, just pick the best players. Beau Scott might be a good defender but he offers ZERO ZILCH NOTHING with ball in hand.
Its no myth that Origin is more physically demanding than an NRL match. I think there are back rowers better suited.
We have enough ball players in the team we need more dangerous ball runners which is why players like Bird, Sims and TRex should be there. I'd even have Mateo ahead of Stewart because of the better second phase play he offers.

Mader45

Inside word is Dugan will play left wing, with hayne and jennings in the centres, and stewart at fullback.

stewart
dugan
jennings
hayne
uate

Thats the backline with the most flair NSW could ever offer. With Carney in the mix, and if someone could get all the guys motivated, itd be the first time in years id consider it a close match up.

Unfortunately all of Qlds expected backline, bar Boyd, are playing out of their skin already.

MSIH

Its no myth that Origin is more physically demanding than an NRL match. I think there are back rowers better suited.
We have enough ball players in the team we need more dangerous ball runners which is why players like Bird, Sims and TRex should be there. I'd even have Mateo ahead of Stewart because of the better second phase play he offers.

You should tap out of commenting until you can stop letting your very obvious Manly hatred override rational thought.

Mateo over Stewart, fmd.

Dragon2010

stewart
dugan
jennings
hayne
uate

I woke up to a similar message on my phone. Reading it made me a very happy man for certain reasons which I won't say on this forums. Either easy it's a fast, potent and skillful backline.

@Betscats: They wil have the FR/BR marking up with them as well and Dugan is a fairly solid defender. As is Jennjngs but I think his shoulder is a bit busted currently.

Stick

I actually like that, though a Dugan Jennings defensive combo is a bit worrying.

Anyone else worried by the prospect of Hayne defending Inglis?

I'd hardly call Uate a top performing defender either. Surely, a Hayne-Uate right edge would be totally shredded.

Tiger Hawk

Dugan on the wing? Has he ever played at FG level? Positionally will he adjust? A lot of pressure on Jennings & Bird / Lewis to read and communicate on that left side. That said, I can't see how he would be any worse than B Morris.

Biggest concern would be two out of form players at centre marking up on Inglis / Hodges, especially if Carney is inside / outside Hayne on the right in the defensive line and how that unit performs.

Dugan / Uate / Hayne / Stewart - now that's a potent kick return outfit that can take some pressure off the pigs.

gronkathon

Hayne might get palmed off twice and decide to sook rather than keeping turning up or he might play a blinder.

If this happens we would have the two laziest, disinterested prima donna outside backs in the toughest defensive positions in the game. That bodes well :lol:

Joker's Wild

Mate, talk to any player, any, who have played Origin and they'll speak of just how different SOO is to NRL footy. The speed, intensity and atmosphere are always mentioned as points of difference and some players just do not handle it.

Now Im not saying Stewart cant, not by a long shot, just pointing out that "Origin players" are not such a myth

Joker's Wild

Hayne might get palmed off twice and decide to sook rather than keeping turning up or he might play a blinder.

If this happens we would have the two laziest, disinterested prima donna outside backs in the toughest defensive positions in the game. That bodes well :lol:

Who is the other lazy player here?