Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014 NRL Draw

Evil_Mush

Wow, the Warriors have more Saturday games (10) than Sunday games (7) up to round 20! And a Friday night game even (v Storm)!!! That is probably the most surprising thing for me.

And to those Eels fans complaining about Warriors round 1, just remember that you've beaten us in the last two R1 meetings (2011 & 2013).

But yeah, it'll now have been Warriors vs Eels in R1/R2 for 8 of 9 seasons (2006-2009 & 2011-2014). Not sure why, it is a bit odd. Maybe they've just got it pencilled in for the hell of it.

Looking forward to Tigers in Wellington, another team to cross off the 'haven't seen live yet' list!

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Reading through this thread make you appreciate how narrow minded you all are...

Every post is base on the formula: "If only this NRL change the draw to have (insert random demand specific to speakers team) then the draw would be better!!!!"

But what none of you seem to understand is that the creation of the draw is entirely based on balance; if you implement one demand, you have to give another away.

"every team should play each other once before they play second clashes..."
"every team should alternate home and away games EVERY WEEK..."
"my team should play team X early/late in the year"
"WHY IS THE NRL SO INCOMPETENT?!!!!!!"

Youre all whinging idiots.

God-King Dean

Once again, the Broncos have everything handed to them.

But it won't matter cuz you won't be winning shit for years you imperialistic socialist American satans.

Reading through this thread make you appreciate how narrow minded you all are...

Every post is base on the formula: "If only this NRL change the draw to have (insert random demand specific to speakers team) then the draw would be better!!!!"

But what none of you seem to understand is that the creation of the draw is entirely based on balance; if you implement one demand, you have to give another away.

"every team should play each other once before they play second clashes..."
"every team should alternate home and away games EVERY WEEK..."
"my team should play team X early/late in the year"
"WHY IS THE NRL SO INCOMPETENT?!!!!!!"

Youre all whinging idiots.
I think most Tigers fans a re pleased

Generalising makes you look like an idiot

CC_Roosters

Liking the draw, seems to be a bit more variation with times etc.... Loving saturday afternoon footy getting more of a run.

A lot of fixtures played twice early in the season, at least three that caught my eye as to close but other than that can't complain.

Is there any games planned for Adelaide? I couldn't pick it in the current format of the draw on NRL.com

Porkie

Rabbitohs draw. All that matters really :D

R 1 - Rabbitohs v Roosters at ANZ Stadium, Thu Mar 6, 8:05 PM
R 2 - Sea Eagles v Rabbitohs at Bluetongue Stadium, Fri Mar 14, 7:40 PM
R 3 - Tigers v Rabbitohs at ANZ Stadium, Fri Mar 21, 7:40 PM
R 4 - Rabbitohs v Raiders at ANZ Stadium, Sun Mar 30, 2:00 PM
R 5 - St Merge v Rabbitohs at SCG, Sat Apr 5, 7:30 PM
R 6 - Panthers v Rabbitohs at Centrebet Stadium, Fri Apr 11, 7:40 PM
R 7 - Rabbitohs v Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium, Fri Apr 18, 4:00 PM
R 8 - Broncos (lol) v Rabbitohs at Suncorp Stadium, Fri Apr 25, 8:00 PM
R 9 - Titans v Rabbitohs at Robina Stadium, Sat May 10, 5:30 PM
R10 - Rabbitohs v Storm at ANZ Stadium, Fri May 16, 7:40 PM
R 11 - Sharks v Rabbitohs at Remondis Stadium, Mon May 26, 7:00 PM
R 12 - Rabbitohs v St Merge at ANZ Stadium, Mon Jun 2, 7:00 PM
R 13 - Rabbitohs v Warriors at nib Stadium, Sat Jun 7, 7:30 PM
R 14 - Rabbitohs v Tigers at ANZ Stadium, Fri Jun 13, 7:45 PM
R 16 - Cowboys v Rabbitohs at 1300 Smiles Stadium, Sat Jun 28, 7:30 PM
R 17 - Rabbitohs v Titans at ANZ Stadium, Mon Jul 7, 7:00 PM
R 19 - Eels v Rabbitohs at Pirtek Stadium, Fri Jul 18, 7:40 PM
R 20 - Raiders v Rabbitohs at GIO Stadium, Mon Jul 28, 7:00 PM
R 21 - Rabbitohs v Knights at Barlow Park, TBC
R 22 - Rabbitohs v Sea Eagles at SCG, TBC
R 23 - Rabbitohs v Broncos (lol) at ANZ Stadium, TBC
R 24 - Rabbitohs v Cowboys at ANZ Stadium,
TBC Round 25 - Bulldogs v Rabbitohs at ANZ Stadium,
TBC Round 26 - Roosters v Rabbitohs at Allianz Stadium, TBC

Win.

Porkie

My thoughts on the draw in general;

1. Lots of big games at ANZ on Sunday arvo - tick.
2. First 2 rounds have some cracker match ups- tick.
3. Souths start the season off...as you would expect -tick.
4. Every round has a major match up, if we use the crystal ball theory- tick.
5. A few more free to air games for the housos.

The big winner though, is that Souths get 2 games at the SCG - the traditional home of Rugby League. It is important to note that St. Merge and the Seagulls only get one each. None for Eastern Suburbs...funnily enough. There is good reason for that.

S.O.O games are - 28/5 @ Suncorp, 18/6 @ ANZ, and 9/7 @ Suncorp. I like that. Easy win to the Blues.

user_nat

A home Saturday game. Cool.

Kinda tough draw for us though. Not a great ratio of "easy" teams to hard. Not that you can predict these things really.

Fingerbang

The only bit I don't like is our fixtures around origin 1. We'll play the Dragons without our origin players which is unfair because they'll hardly be affected. A Perth game two days after Origin 1 is also disgusting.
Isn't round 12 after Origin 1? And how many guys from your team do you reckon will be playing Origin. Inglis for sure, and maybe MacQueen. Dragons could possibly be without The Duges, BMoz, and Merrin. To me, that doesn't sound very unfair to your team at all.

So the broncos get 10 straight weeks of having exactly 7 days off between matches. That is so unfair for every other team. Joke.

Porkie

So the broncos get 10 straight weeks of having exactly 7 days off between matches. That is so unfair for every other team. Joke.

It's the 'sympathy draw. They have friends...not as many as before though. ;-)

Won't make any difference whatsoever - 12th at best for the bonzos. They have absolutely nothing, except a bunch of overrated midgets.... and Kennedy.

The Pelican

The Roosters have to play all three rounds that our origin stars are out. How is that anywhere near fair considering we'll be likely missing Jennings, Cordner, and both of our halves. To have both of our byes AFTER origin matches is a disgrace.

Usain Bolt

Lol at all the crybabies complaining about the Broncos draw like it was some big surprise Ch9 were gonna shove them on friday nights

user_nat

The Roosters have to play all three rounds that our origin stars are out. How is that anywhere near fair considering we'll be likely missing Jennings, Cordner, and both of our halves. To have both of our byes AFTER origin matches is a disgrace.

Pretty weird really. Wonder if it was a request.