Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch part II

fanatique

Really couldn't expect much better than that given the weather and the fact that Origin players are out.

Well it is a winter sport and sometimes that means inclement weather and Origin is the annual self inflicted wound on the NRL.

What properly run professional sport anywhere waits til mid season and then guts each team of its players for weeks while playing a series of Representative games.

11K for probably the two of the three biggest clubs in NSW including the champion team is what it is....a pitifully small attendance and partly a self inflicted wound.

TheFrog

Well it is a winter sport and sometimes that means inclement weather and Origin is the annual self inflicted wound on the NRL.

What properly run professional sport anywhere waits til mid season and then guts each team of its players for weeks while playing a series of Representative games.

11K for probably the two of the three biggest clubs in NSW including the champion team is what it is....a pitifully small attendance and partly a self inflicted wound.

People won't stand in the rain on a cold windy night when they can watch it on TV live. Not in Sydney town anyway.

In similar conditions on a Friday night D head ?:sarcasm:

The Crowd would be 1165

The rugby league FabulousPhil resurfaces! The Raiders would be happy with 1165 wouldn't they? That is the equivalent of a solid 28k crowd in Dubbo. Or something.

Either poor crowds abound south of the Tweed. Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

Usain Bolt

pU5aJk_kyxNfz7aXGIlmCx-15tKWBZj6GDwxUsJx6wrfsvvVnw2fptXzTgE83Ko7Mvt-NKGIa5LBHoTLAmzGeKxrjMiQtiK6RXR3_ydggzWnqxYvBCM1MDHi6ht9iaEA3GEF9qg=w470-h313-nc

CC_Roosters

Parra and souths have 55k members between them and yet can only pull 11k to a game. the game needs a long hard look at itself to get out of this crowd rut and drastic change is the only answer

Raiderdave

The rugby league FabulousPhil resurfaces! The Raiders would be happy with 1165 wouldn't they? That is the equivalent of a solid 28k crowd in Dubbo. Or something.

Either poor crowds abound south of the Tweed. Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose.

WTF poor old voice of bullshit has lost it , typical passionless QLD spastic doesn't like getting the drum on how pathetic crowds are in Brisbane. whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Dubbo this? Canberra that ? I'd suggest you stick to what you know, which is well nothing as it turns out you half wit wanker

Canberra 2015 average: 9667. Appalling of itself, and behind the averages for (in order) 1998, 1988, 1983, 2012, 2013, 2002, 1986, 1984, 1982, 2009, 1992, 2004, 2006, 2007, 1997, 2008, 1999, 2000, 2010, 2005, 2011, 2003, 1990, 1993, 1991, 1995 and 1994.

61 ahead of 2014, though! :lol:

Polish that turd, FabulousDave!

SLRBRONCOS

Canberra 2015 average: 9667. Appalling of itself, and behind the averages for (in order) 1998, 1988, 1983, 2012, 2013, 2002, 1986, 1984, 1982, 2009, 1992, 2004, 2006, 2007, 1997, 2008, 1999, 2000, 2010, 2005, 2011, 2003, 1990, 1993, 1991, 1995 and 1994.

61 ahead of 2014, though! :lol:

Polish that turd, FabulousDave!

Hahahahah!

When they pull 70k on Wednesday night its only equal to 32,000 in Brisbane, so we are safe!

SLRBRONCOS

Mate they're selling them all over the place depending on what time of the day you check, just luck of the draw. I got anything from 146, 632 to 104.

Clearly no Aisles have been completely sold out

Yeah its dire. A HEAP of diamond have been issued, clearly for handouts.

chahrour123

Triple M James Hooper has just said that State Of Origin game 1 at ANZ as it stands has sold close to 80,000 tickets and by wednesday night it should get 80,000 despite early talks about 20,000 tickets UNSOLD...

Yeah its dire. A HEAP of diamond have been issued, clearly for handouts.

No other showcase game around the world struggle to sell out yet for Origin from day one it always struggle to sell out in NSW despite being the heartland of rugby league. You don't see the Superbowl struggle to sell out or the Champion's league final with empty seats. Yet with Origin, the pinnacle constantly fail to sell out for majority of it's existence in NSW.

RWB

What drastic change do you suggest CC?

Ticket prices.

Spend the next decade investing in the fans, improve the experience of a day at the footy for all demographics and build a game day culture within the game.

Sure clubs will take a little hit in revenue but at least we'll be heading somewhere instead of continually stagnating as a game in regards to crowds.

SLRBRONCOS

Triple M James Hooper has just said that State Of Origin game 1 at ANZ as it stands has sold close to 80,000 tickets and by wednesday night it should get 80,000 despite early talks about 20,000 tickets UNSOLD...

At this stage it looks impossible to have nearly 80k sold as you can get huge blocks across many categories in the lower bowl. Probably more like 60k.

40k have sold since the $50 tix became available.

No other showcase game around the world struggle to sell out yet for Origin from day one it always struggle to sell out in NSW despite being the heartland of rugby league. You don't see the Superbowl struggle to sell out or the Champion's league final with empty seats. Yet with Origin, the pinnacle constantly fail to sell out for majority of it's existence in NSW.

It hasn't been the pinnacle of anything for the majority of its existence, never mind comparable to the Superbowl etc. Maybe in Brisbane it's been the pinnacle but origin has never been as big as the gf in Sydney until the last few years and even now it's probably not.

And neither should it be. In recent years Origin's bandwagon popularity has been completely at odds with the actual quality of football it has delivered. When Hodkinson is the NSW halfback you know the standard of player is getting pretty dire.

CC_Roosters

What drastic change do you suggest CC?

Well for a start the season structure is long past its use by date and imo there is a feeling of indifference to the regular season as it stands im part due to too many games.

with the early tv negotiation i think the absolute priority should be a reduction to 22 games with 18 teams and stand alone origin played over 3 straight weeks. This makes each game more valuable and removes the ludicrous intereuption to 8-9 weeks of footy by origin. If the tv networks need more rounds have a split round or 2 to make it 23 or 24 weeks of nrl footy.

The next problem that needs tackled is ticketing, stadia and the schedule. The pre sale offers are pretty good especially the family passes but in general i dont think the offers are being communicated effecrively and they should apply to every game not just select sydney matches. A general reduction in prices subsidised by the next broadcast deal is a must as well as continued emphasis on memberships.

Stadia is tough one because the upgrades are out of the nrls hands for the most part. The balance of large stadia v suburban grounds is almost right at the moment but i would like to see the dragons play more games at WIN and the roosters in a hawthorn style arrangement with gosford.