Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch part II

insert.pause

Well for a start the season structure is long past its use by date and imo there is a feeling of indifference to the regular season as it stands im part due to too many games.

with the early tv negotiation i think the absolute priority should be a reduction to 22 games with 18 teams and stand alone origin played over 3 straight weeks. This makes each game more valuable and removes the ludicrous intereuption to 8-9 weeks of footy by origin. If the tv networks need more rounds have a split round or 2 to make it 23 or 24 weeks of nrl footy.

The next problem that needs tackled is ticketing, stadia and the schedule. The pre sale offers are pretty good especially the family passes but in general i dont think the offers are being communicated effecrively and they should apply to every game not just select sydney matches. A general reduction in prices subsidised by the next broadcast deal is a must as well as continued emphasis on memberships.

Stadia is tough one because the upgrades are out of the nrls hands for the most part. The balance of large stadia v suburban grounds is almost right at the moment but i would like to see the dragons play more games at WIN and the roosters in a hawthorn style arrangement with gosford.

agree, and it applies to more than just ticket offers, the NRL really have struggled to get their message across on a whole lot of issues, probably in part why Olsen was moved on recently.

with the early tv negotiation i think the absolute priority should be a reduction to 22 games with 18 teams and stand alone origin played over 3 straight weeks. This makes each game more valuable and removes the ludicrous intereuption to 8-9 weeks of footy by origin. If the tv networks need more rounds have a split round or 2 to make it 23 or 24 weeks of nrl footy.

Origin shouldn't drag out so long. Three midweek games, two weeks apart. One month. Done.

The next problem that needs tackled is ticketing, stadia and the schedule. The pre sale offers are pretty good especially the family passes but in general i dont think the offers are being communicated effecrively and they should apply to every game not just select sydney matches. A general reduction in prices subsidised by the next broadcast deal is a must as well as continued emphasis on memberships.

Stadia aren't an issue in Townsville, Brisbane, Newcastle, Melbourne and Auckland. Arguably Canberra's out of the way shithole is an issue (but Canberra has much larger attendance issues than that alone).

The stadium issue in Sydney is straightforward, even if the solution isn't. There is too much resistance to moving from small grounds, but putting aside the odd good Sunday afternoons, the attendances aren't worth pandering to that resistance. The NRL is on the front foot with stadiums. Stumping up money to be at the table when decisions are made. That doesn't stop the Sydney old guard from criticising the administration though.

One thing that outsiders find hard to stomach is people in Syndey talking about travel times and difficulty of accessing stadiums. If I want to see the Coast play it can be 3+ hours in total travel times. Some Cowboys fans are well into double digit travel times. They are the true believers, the heartland.

Canard

It hasn't been the pinnacle of anything for the majority of its existence, never mind comparable to the Superbowl etc. Maybe in Brisbane it's been the pinnacle but origin has never been as big as the gf in Sydney until the last few years and even now it's probably not.

And neither should it be. In recent years Origin's bandwagon popularity has been completely at odds with the actual quality of football it has delivered. When Hodkinson is the NSW halfback you know the standard of player is getting pretty dire.

Excepting the fact that it's going to be three of the top 10 rating programs in Australia this year.

The people, like you and your mate Perth Red, who openly campaign for a game of Rugby League to fail are bizarre to say the least.

Pete Cash

I know raidersdave winds you lot up but Brisbane has 10 times the population of Canberra.

That said the raiders could do better.

DC_fan

At this stage it looks impossible to have nearly 80k sold as you can get huge blocks across many categories in the lower bowl. Probably more like 60k.

40k have sold since the $50 tix became available.
Ray Warren said last night that 70,000 tickets had been sold.

Canard

Official Giants crowd 9481

How burned will the AFL troll FakecowboysFan be.

He was convinced by his idol Buzz that they had taken over.

thorson1987

Official Giants crowd 9481

How burned will the AFL troll FakecowboysFan be.

He was convinced by his idol Buzz that they had taken over.

To be fair, dont think tonight will be much better.

Im even considering driving instead of getting the missus to drop me off

Canard

To be fair, dont think tonight will be much better.

Im even considering driving instead of getting the missus to drop me off

Possibly, but AFL troll claimed that they would outdraw last night.

Getting less that 10k isn't "taking" over anything.

Excepting the fact that it's going to be three of the top 10 rating programs in Australia this year.

The people, like you and your mate Perth Red, who openly campaign for a game of Rugby League to fail are bizarre to say the least.

It deserves its place but its place is not as the pinnacle of the sport. NZ have hammered the best origin players three games in a row and that pretty much sums up the standard of football origin is these days. The hyperbole around origin in recent years and the ratings that have followed is more symptomatic of modern society's gullability to hype and marketing than a reflection of the quality of the game. If TV ratings are an accurate reflection of the quality of the show the likes of the block and those cooking shows must be among the best televisual products ever made, as opposed to the artistic embodiment of explosive diarrhea. The damage origin does to the club season and even greater damage it has done to the international game means it would bloody want to be successful. But hopefully one day international football will surpass it in the minds of the wider public to the same extent it already surpasses it for quality of football.

Canard

So called Rugby League fans who haves games to fail, rather than prosper.

With fans like those.

Raiderdave

At this stage it looks impossible to have nearly 80k sold as you can get huge blocks across many categories in the lower bowl. Probably more like 60k.

40k have sold since the $50 tix became available.

At this stage wot we know is
You know nothing

Thanks for coming :cool:

Raiderdave

Canberra 2015 average: 9667. Appalling of itself, and behind the averages for (in order) 1998, 1988, 1983, 2012, 2013, 2002, 1986, 1984, 1982, 2009, 1992, 2004, 2006, 2007, 1997, 2008, 1999, 2000, 2010, 2005, 2011, 2003, 1990, 1993, 1991, 1995 and 1994.

61 ahead of 2014, though! :lol:

Polish that turd, FabulousDave!

:sarcasm:

Got this wanker working didnt I ?:lol:

Canard

When one part of the game negatively affects a more important part of the game true supporters of the game will think the same.

You and Perth Red should meet up and come up with a list of all the Rugby League that you need to fail in order to be satisfied.

Only in your sick twisted minds is 80k and 2M TV viewers watching a game of Rugby League a negative.

You and Perth Red should meet up and come up with a list of all the Rugby League that you need to fail in order to be satisfied.

Only in your sick twisted minds is 80k and 2M TV viewers watching a game of Rugby League a negative.

Lol. 80k and 2 million viewers is nothing. Just shows how small time rugby league is and how short sighted the fans are.

Sgt. Kabukiman

There was obviously more than 9k at the Giants game, it was at least 15k. So the AFL is leading the crowds in western Sydney again this week.