Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

I think we got even more rain in the eastern seaboard this weekend, Rain in Melbs on Thursday, Rain at the Gold Coast friday, Newcastle, Sydney and Townsville on Saturday and Sydney on Sunday.
I can guarantee the Bulldogs V Warriors will be played in perfect conditions.

Maybe NRL can get KFC to sponsor free ponchos for fans, bucket on head, ponchos on body, don't worry about the rain :)

cleary89

Id be shocked if sharks v dragons is less than 16. I know heaps of people going which is rare. Most dragons fans cant be bothered these days and my sharks mates only go when they are winning. But everyone seems to be going.

Sunday 6:30pm timeslot is probably where the hesitation is I imagine. Might impact the numbers of families attending.

M2D2

Hopefully we get alot on sunday. And MAAAAAAAAAAAAN this thread is so weird looking after ignoring perth red and raiderdave so their posts dont come up.
Makes the thread look like this.
297.png

Emu01

I'm thinking the removal of Monday night football will help in the crowd average.

Last nights game attracted 16k.

There is no way we would have attracted 16 for the eels and dragons on a Monday night.. 10 maybe 12 at the most.

I'm thinking the removal of Monday night football will help in the crowd average.

There is no way we would have attracted 16 for the eels and dragons on a Monday night.. 10 maybe 12 at the most.
Sunday night is replacing (for the first four rounds) Sunday 2pm, not MNF. MNF's replacement is Friday 6pm and the jury is still out there.

Warriors Fever

That game would have been at 2pm normally, just with the March heat. I think there would have been a few less if the game was at 2 with the heat.

Sunday 6:30pm timeslot is probably where the hesitation is I imagine. Might impact the numbers of families attending.

I'd have thought so up until this week.
Plus, if there's a fixture that is appropriate for this time slot, it's local derbies or games in suburban grounds with a high density of local fans. The 6.30 Sunday slot is made for Shark Park.

Take the kids to the footy, still be home by 9-9.30pm.

I'd have thought so up until this week.
Plus, if there's a fixture that is appropriate for this time slot, it's local derbies or games in suburban grounds with a high density of local fans. The 6.30 Sunday slot is made for Shark Park.

Take the kids to the footy, still be home by 9-9.30pm.

3 or 4 KO is a lot better for a Sunday with kids.

People are lazy and a late Sunday night with kids in tow
Versus getting home in time for dinner will definitely impact crowds.

3 or 4 KO is a lot better for a Sunday with kids.

People are lazy and a late Sunday night with kids in tow
Versus getting home in time for dinner will definitely impact crowds.

Yeah yeah, I get that. Obviously depends on the age of the kids too.

3pm Sunday is obviously an optimal slot for crowds.

My point was more the other way round. Not that the time slot would help increase attendance, but that if the 6.30 slot must exist, the negative impact it has on crowds is mitigated by the fact that the majority of fans live close by.

Yeah yeah, I get that. Obviously depends on the age of the kids too.

3pm Sunday is obviously an optimal slot for crowds.

My point was more the other way round. Not that the time slot would help increase attendance, but that if the 6.30 slot must exist, the negative impact it has on crowds is mitigated by the fact that the majority of fans live close by.

Ok
I live in Engadine
By the time I left the ground
Walked to the car
Spent yonks negotiating the back streets of woolooware with everyone else it is 9.30 before I'd walk in the door.
At least.
Derby could easily be longer.
Another 30 mins trying to kids in bed.
Or
Just say f**k it
Save about $60 on overpriced junk food and a couple of beers
And just watch it on tv at home.

I get what your saying but by all the tweaking of timeslots for TV they are making too hard for people to go to the game.

The derby this Sunday night.
A family of moderate supporters would probably go to the arvo timeslot.
The later kick off
Probably not.

I know plenty of families in my area that would fall into the moderate supporter bracket.

SureLy Sunday 2pm 4pm and 6pm would be best for crowds? Nrl,should have gone to the tv table with the 2pm and 4pm for fta and the 6pm for fox. Sigh.

taipan

SureLy Sunday 2pm 4pm and 6pm would be best for crowds? Nrl,should have gone to the tv table with the 2pm and 4pm for fta and the 6pm for fox. Sigh.

They should have done atet with the Tv mob, but in return the NRL Kget got about $200m less on the 5 year Tv deal.Who then misses out grassroots, the clubs?

Until such time (and it looks like from 2018)the NRL controls the scheduling within the format,TV will continue to nominate when they telecast and who.

And in the local derby with the Dragons any notion of having that staged at ANZ or SFS,would guarantee a lesser crowd than staged at local venues.That's the reality of Sydney fans ,whilst we have ordinary scheduling and crap road infrastructure.It's not an excuse ,it is the underlying problem,which a 12 year old would appreciate.

why do they? What evidence they would get $200mill less? AFl kept their fan friendly schedules and got more money. We keep hearing how we are the most watched and valuable sport on Australian TV surely we have bargaining power? Whose to say a Sunday FTA second game isn't worth same or more than a Thursday night game, we handed full simulcast to Fox cheaply, that is their main subscription driver now.

And if you held Sharks v Dragons at Allianz on Sunday afternoon with admission to both sets of members and some entertainment around the game to make it worth a Sunday family day out do you really think it couldn't top 16k? If thats the case don't keep stating tribalism as the reason for 9 teams in one city. NRL when it gets to say which team splay in which slots needs the support of the clubs to maximise it.

Doesn't change the sht KO schedule times though, we are lumped with genius of Thursday nights and 6pm Fridays for 6 years. sigh

Right game, right stadium, sadly clubs put the kabosh on that so lets hope it doesn't rain and that we don't get another embarrassing 12k suburban crowd.

Perth red ..pls don't talk about the sharks v stains derby
You have less than no idea about it.

Move it to Allianz ?
Idiotic
Like moving games to f**king NZ
Idiotic
Idiotic
Idiotic

The concept of the derby is beyond your limited knowledge of rugby league in Australia.
You can't fathom it.
You don't understand it

Lol, way to avoid the discussion. is it forecast rain or might we see something resembling a crowd?

hutch

Every club that has moved to anz has seen their crowds increase there. It's a terrible stadium at present, but with reciprocal members rights and a brand new rectangle stadium it will hopefully further increase future crowds. That's not to say we still shouldn't use the suburban grounds, right game right stadium is definitely the way to go.