Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Clifferd

So Easts have terrible crowds if you exclude the good ones.
Got it.

Not sure what your point is here. He's right when he says roosters crowds in Sydney are bad apart from the annual sell out on Anzac Day

Then after that the next biggest are Adelaide and Central Coast

It's somewhat ironic that the last time crowd avg's hit a high (2009-2012) the NRL had half the revenue, we had Gallop as our leader and News Ltd running the game.
Just how fcking bad a job do the commission have to do before they are held accountable?

what is the Roosters home average in Sydney?

just remember Adelaide and the CC aren't in Sydney so don't use them to try and boost your Sydney average

14,307 for 10 premiership matches at SFS in 2017.
Parra is the only Sydney team with a better Sydney average this year and it's by a hair.

Not sure what your point is here. He's right when he says roosters crowds in Sydney are bad apart from the annual sell out on Anzac Day

Then after that the next biggest are Adelaide and Central Coast

But it isn't a useful thing to say. Every clubs crowds are worse when you exclude their biggest draw.
For Dogs Souths and Parra we can chop off their public holiday games, it's only fair. They don't draw near what ours does, maybe they aren't as popular as everyone thinks? Take a look at their week 1 finals crowds v out of towners posted above.

Sharks biggest crowd was only because they had thousands of dancers and their parents in attendance.. this shows initiative so it's cut too.

Wests game vs Parra - Parra members had free entry so that's gone.

Dragons Manly Panthers didn't really have any passable crowds to speak of so we'll leave them be I guess.

I'm pretty firmly against relocating or removing Sydney teams. Sydney has a rapidly growing population so it seems silly to remove teams now. Also as many others have stated that just leads to fans leaving the game.

If we were to start over from scratch I can see the argument that we might not have this many Sydney teams but we can't remove them now.

The problem with Sydney crowds is not because there are too many teams and removing teams won't help with crowds (the opposite would happen IMO).

So from that perspective I agree.

Probably wouldn't make much difference to the remaining clubs in short term but within a generation, if done right, the reduced amount of remaining clubs should see an absorption of the previous clubs catchment area and subsequent increase in crowds.

The more immediate question is would relegating to create expansion space or relocating an existing club bring in more fans in the new region than would be lost in the old? Of course there are no guarantees but with Brisbane and Perth, and in the future Adelaide there is a reasonable argument you would gain more than you would lose when some clubs struggle to top 14k avg's.

So either we keep doing the same and expect different results (good luck with that) or we expand and increase the number of clubs to bring in these fertile areas (isn't something anyone seems to want within the pwers that be) or we do something radical with short term pain for long term gain (NRL has no balls so unlikely). I suspect we will be having this same discussion in 2022!

insert.pause

It's somewhat ironic that the last time crowd avg's hit a high (2009-2012) the NRL had much less revenue, we had Gallop as our leader and News Ltd running the game.
Just how fcking bad a job do the commission have to do before they are held accountable?
and look how newscorp have treated the game since, you reckon there could be a correlation there?

It's somewhat ironic that the last time crowd avg's hit a high (2009-2012) the NRL had half the revenue, we had Gallop as our leader and News Ltd running the game.
You want a media organisation that has done more harm than good to the game to be back in control?

JFC you say some dumb shit but this is right up there.

Only Rugby League fans would fill a thread with thousands of posts sooking about crowds then claim the few good ones don't count because they don't belong to their team.

You want a media organisation that has done more harm than good to the game to be back in control?

JFC you say some dumb shit but this is right up there.

Funny how people read what they want to read.
Simply pointing out a FACT and questioning why with more money, a better CEO (arguable) and independent ownership we are performing worse than when we had those barriers to success in place. . We certainty aren't better off so far with an independent commission, we've increased revenue significantly for no tangible outcomes.

big hit!

clearly it is the Nrls fault and not the clubs that the crowds didn't turn up.

well yes, it is.

they've fostered the stay at home viewing culture by scheduling spreading their legs wider than a king cross whore for broadcasters to schedule most games for the lounge room, and making just about every try a frame-by-frame review for the extra money shot by KFC

with a lack of atmosphere at 90% of matches these days, what's the pull to actually go to a game these days? the apathy to attend games has crossed over into finals now. i used to be one of those, like im sure many others were, who would go to week 2 and week 3 games and add to the supporters of the clubs in the game. years of f**ked reviews and getting used to watching it at home makes it easier to stay away these days.

TheFrog

Also play SOO stand alone on 3 weekends in a row.
That's a long time for 90% of NRL players to be sitting on their bums getting splinters. I reckon play a knockout or even better, a challenge-cup style tournament followed by a premiership of 15 rounds where all teams play each other once.

Stormwarrior82

well yes, it is.

they've fostered the stay at home viewing culture by scheduling spreading their legs wider than king cross for broadcasters to schedule most games for the lounge room, and making just about every try a frame-by-frame review for the extra kick-in by KFC

with a lack of atmosphere at 90% of matches these days, what's the pull to actually go to a game these days? the apathy to attend games has crossed over into finals now. i used to be one of those, like im sure many others were, who would go to week 2 and week 3 games and add to the supporters of the clubs in the game. years of f**ked reviews and getting used to watching it at home makes it easier to stay away these days.

I can accept the scheduling is shit for most clubs. But most of the time it's a cop out. Default answer is Nrls fault. The home club is in charge of game day activities not the Nrl. Game day activities through out the year have been non existent and clubs have sloped the shoulders year on year and blamed the Nrl on the scheduling. The Sydney clubs have now realized there stupidity and have got together to organize cheaper food, drinks, tickets and transport for next year. Something that should of been done years ago. Yes the nrl and the scheduling isn't great but the majority of the issues, revolve around the game day experience that the clubs are in charge of.

Panthers and manly on a Sunday arvo at 4. Should of been a sellout.

Let's wait for the but but but.

big hit!

That's a long time for 90% of NRL players to be sitting on their bums getting splinters. I reckon play a knockout or even better, a challenge-cup style tournament followed by a premiership of 15 rounds where all teams play each other once.

SOO - Sunday every third stand alone weekend. shorten camp to a week. all they do is get on the piss for the first couple of nights and only properly start training on the thursday anyway, before taking another couple of days off on the weekend.

also, shorten the season back to 22 games per club.

He didn't come close to saying that though
Certainly appears to be the inference though - that we did better under that era therefore it would be more ideal?
Funny how people read what they want to read.
Simply pointing out a FACT and questioning why with more money, a better CEO (arguable) and independent ownership we are performing worse than when we had those barriers to success in place. . We certainty aren't better off so far with an independent commission, we've increased revenue significantly for no tangible outcomes.
That's a fairly simplistic view IMO. I think there are far more factors at play than just a perceived ineptness of NRL HQ (and they're by no means doing their job to the best of their ability), but I think it's ignorant to put the blame solely at their feet.

I'm not surprised, you are very good at making excuses for the Commission and NRL management. Are you on the pay roll?

You literally didn't bother reading the rest of the post. Jog on you absolute clown.

Like actually look at what's happened, particularly in Sydney, over the last ten years and tell me that there's not external factors which have contributed to a dip in crowds. GWS popping up and (slowly) growing, Swans sustained success, and probably most notably, WSW popping up and having instant success.

That's without considering
- ageing infrastructure
- increased cost of living/people having less disposable income
- hostile local tabloid media
- continual improvement in TV coverage

There are a whole range of things to consider - plenty the NRL can do, but quite a few things outside their control as well.

Stallion

Why so sensitive.

They would still be the chooks, they would just have a larger fan base to market to.

The clubs mentioned have had so many years to crack sydney and have failed.

They have "cracked" the Sydney market. People underestimate dormant support. For instance, a few years back East Roosters played South Sydney in an end of season competition game and drew well over 50000 to ANZ stadium.
The same "experts" got their way when bagging North Sydney Bears and now we have little or no business sector support in that influential part of Sydney and no top flight rugby league. These so called "experts that were followed by RL administrators took delight in dismantling iconic clubs like the Balmain Tigers, West Suburbs Magpies and the North Sydney Bears. Go figure?

The "bad guys" have been getting their way big time! Coincidentally, post Super League, which I believe was a deliberate and calculated attack on the game of rugby league in Australia. This attack was financed by News Ltd (whose CEO doesn't like rugby league & signed a Union broadcast deal at the same time) but does want to use it(RL) to gain customers.