Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Draw

juro

Of course there is a reduction in the number of games with 5 day turnarounds. This year we had games played on 5 days of the week (from Thursday to Monday). Next year that drops down to 4.

Caged Panther

You think Roosters vs Knights is bad....how about Manly vs Knights at Brookvale? Anything over 5k in that game is a Godsend. Torrential rain that day and two teams out of form, and I hate to think what the crowd could be.

Unless you are not working that day, it's impossible to get from the city to Brookvale via public transportation in time after finishing work as traffic on Pittwater Rd is atrocious in peak hour.

It's exactly the same for Penrith. How many people from Penrith or surrounding suburbs work in the City/Parramatta?

If they don't/can't knock off until 5pm they have no chance of getting back to Penrith unless they happen to have a private helicopter by 5pm. Let alone get back to Penrith wrangle the family and get to the game before 6pm. It's a joke of time slot and shows just how disconnected the hierarchy of the NRL and FOX are from reality.

Quite frankly I can't even see the time slot rating that well. I know when I finish at 5pm by the time I get to home get my shit together and get to sit down it's almost 7pm. The game will just about be over.

It's exactly the same for Penrith. How many people from Penrith or surrounding suburbs work in the City/Parramatta?

If they don't/can't knock off until 5pm they have no chance of getting back to Penrith unless they happen to have a private helicopter by 5pm. Let alone get back to Penrith wrangle the family and get to the game before 6pm. It's a joke of time slot and shows just how disconnected the hierarchy of the NRL and FOX are from reality.

Quite frankly I can't even see the time slot rating that well. I know when I finish at 5pm by the time I get to home get my shit together and get to sit down it's almost 7pm. The game will just about be over.

Agree with all that.
5pm Friday most pubs are jam packed with people enjoying a TGIF moment. Watching the footy just isn't on peoples minds.

Sharks definitely screwed with the draw after Round 19.

They have as their last 5 Away games as;

Gold Coast
Warriors
Broncos
Cowboys
Newcastle

That's a shit load of travelling at the end of the season.

undertaker

You're exactly right about Penrith experiencing the same problem. This situation has turned into a complete farce.

Look, I know I've said this before in other threads and may be labelled as a conspiracy theorist in what I'm about to say, but I don't know if this Friday 6pm timeslot is News Ltd's way of sabotaging the game further so they get Monday Night Football back. Their logic of fans being able to watch the game on tv after work also doesn't make sense as they will also be struggling to make either the pub or home in time. So, tv ratings aren't going to be crash hot, let alone crowd attendances.

When Monday Night Football was going to be scrapped as a result of Ch9 securing Thursday night games in the FTA component of the tv rights deal (as players didn't want 5 day rounds) in 2015, Sunday night (6-6:30pm) was the most logical timeslot for the Monday night game to be replaced with. IIRC, it was Slothfield who was the first person spruiking a Friday 6pm match and I thought it was just a bad joke, but when it did come to fruition and was confirmed by the NRL from 2017 onwards, I often wondered who the hell in the ARLC agreed to this ridiculous proposal from News Ltd. So much for the independent commission representing the fans.

And also, so much for Sydney teams being spared from hosting matches in this timeslot due to traffic, as was originally proposed:

http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/sport/nrl/news/2015/11/friday-6pm-timeslot-part-of-new-nrl-tv-deal/

Remember all the crapping on Gus Gould did circa 2010-12 about how the game absolutely needed the independent commission, and that the fans would get back the game they deserve.....I said this before and I'll say it again, it was a BAD decision for the ARLC to rush back to the negotiating table and quickly finalise the tv rights after Dave Smith resigned. It made the ARLC look desperate, and rank amateur.

It's f**ked is what it is.

9 of the games are in my diamond membership pass of which 7 are Friday games, 1 Thursday game and 1 Sunday game only. No Saturday games.

It's hopeless.

I work on Friday nights and will take leave for 2-3 matches. But it's just hard.

Only 1 Thursday game. Thursday's are my day off so I was hoping for more Thursday games.

No Saturday games is terrible.

2 of our Sunday's are interstate of course which is stupid.

How are we meant to make 6pm at Allianz on a Friday. No chance. Might get 7k if you're lucky.

Disappointing.

From rounds 21-26 there will be 5 games I can get too. But when it comes out in about round 14 I hope it's not all Friday games.

The draw is getting worse for us every year.

On NRL.com it has SOUTHS with the toughest draw.

5 day turnarounds after our Cairns and Perth trips.

Incorrect

I could just imagine Greenberg and Grant channeling Joe Hockey and his "poor people don't drive" comment if they were ever questioned about where they expect the crowd numbers to come from for a 6pm Penrith Park kick-off;

NRL Hierachy - "Well, a lot of people living in the western suburbs are unemployed so getting to the stadium for 6pm should be easy for them. Probably even get the bus or train for free thanks to Centrelink benefits."

undertaker

Other blunders with the scheduling in the draw:

- Cowboys playing in the opening round at Saturday 6pm in early March, when it is still daylight there (sunset around 6:40pm) and stinking hot/humid in Townsville. Almost as brilliant of an idea as Cairns hosting 2pm matches in next year's RLWC.

- Knights vs Titans on Sat arvo 3pm the following round, when the other Sat arvo games in the early rounds are at 4:30pm due to the heat. There was controversy last year when Raiders had to play their first two matches at Sat 3pm on hot days.

undertaker

Allianz might be Ok with the crowds turning up straight from work...

With all the construction work going on with the light rail, Anzac Parade has been a nightmare to get through after 3pm during the week. On numerous occasions, I have been stuck in traffic in that area for a good 30-45 mins.