Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Jerseys, Logos, Sponsor Discussion

mistertaylor

Cowboys / Captain America - 7/10 I like the Jersey , but for me it needs some yellow in it to disguise it away from Roosters previous version of Captain America . Just looks too much like roosters colours.

For mine, I think they chose the wrong design. Should have gone with the example below as the colours are a close match to the Cowboys' blue & grey.

Attachments

• 20170213_190423.png
    20170213_190423.png
    720.1 KB · Views: 1

And we wonder why we get B grade sponsors..

A lot of serious brands, would not want to be associated with a rocket racoon , or whatever the f**k that is

Its cheap, a cash grab, smacks of desperation ..
That's your perception.

A lot of others will see it as aligning with a highly-recognised brand and the various marketing opportunities that stem from it.

GAZF

That's your perception.

A lot of others will see it as aligning with a highly-recognised brand and the various marketing opportunities that stem from it.
Its not going to deter the likes of VB and SuperCheap Auto and may enhance those opportunities as you mentioned.

It will probably put another wedge between RL and sponsorships that we've historically struggled to get though, the ones that AFL and RU clean up on.

Cumberland Throw

Its not going to deter the likes of VB and SuperCheap Auto and may enhance those opportunities as you mentioned.

It will probably put another wedge between RL and sponsorships that we've historically struggled to get though, the ones that AFL and RU clean up on.

Yeah the Bogan brands.. NRL needs to be careful here, we are fast heading down that track of being the low rent code..

20 years ago, we had sponsors like , Citibank, FAI, TNT, Samsung, LG, Panasonic..

Now we have the likes of , Brydens, URM , Steggles, Oak,

The quality of the companies are getting worse.. lets be honest..

Are some exceptions, KIA is a good pick up .. but overall,, ??

dd95

Yeah the Bogan brands.. NRL needs to be careful here, we are fast heading down that track of being the low rent code..

20 years ago, we had sponsors like , Citibank, FAI, TNT, Samsung, LG, Panasonic..

Mate, URM have over 80% of the recycling within the UK. Not large enough for you?

A lot of serious brands, would not want to be associated with a rocket racoon , or whatever the f**k that is

yeh what company would want to be associated with the best known multi $billion global film franchise company in the world? That's just crazy speak.

Manly used to have Pepsi.. global billion $ brand.. what happened to them

Got to be careful when assuming clubs sponsors are the global company, often they will be sponsorships by the local arm or dealer who uses the global brand for example Toyota on the Cowboys jersey instead of Mike Carney Toyota (local dealership) who is actually the sponsor.

PaulyTom

yeh what company would want to be associated with the best known multi $billion global film franchise company in the world? That's just crazy speak.

Souths tie up with the Superman movies has been a huge top selling Jersey over the past 4 years for the club. Both my son and I have a Rabbitohs Superman jersey.

PaulyTom

Sporting clubs around the world are always looking at different ways to engage with their fans. In particular , how we engage and encourage the 4-18 year old market to buy and be apart of the sport and or brand.

Marvel / NRL is a brilliant tie up.

Are you worried about the prestige of the brands or the net worth of the comapnies involved?

Bartter that owns Steggles has a turnaround of $1.5b.
Parmalat Australia that own Oak is absolutely massive.

Good point and most fans (or consumers?) will recognise OAK more than Parmalat, after all you can get an OAK at the servo but where can you get a Parmalat...????

Are you worried about the prestige of the brands or the net worth of the comapnies involved?

Bartter that owns Steggles has a turnaround of $1.5b.
Parmalat Australia that own Oak is absolutely massive.

I'm guessing the prestige. End of day if Rolex pay $1million or Swatch pay $1million its still the same to the club. There is a bit of snobbishness about companies who sponsor sport and RL does tend to have the mass market companies but then that is mainly our demographic so no wonder really. I'm guessing there aren't too many NRL fans wearing Rolex's or driving their jaguars to games!

Probably a bigger concern is the lack of appeal of NRL to big companies outside of those who happen to have a snr person on a club board. Clubs seem to struggle to attract sponsors not already locally connected to them and to some degree the NRL as a whole. Increasing brand value and having the corporate wordl understand the benefits of being involved in NRL needs work, then again dck head player behaviour and our limited geographical spread nationally and internationally doesn't help the cause.

I can't let this utter bullshit pass without refuting it. I can only assume you're bitter your side is going into the season as the only one without a sponsor on front?

Three insurance companies (none looking likely to collapse like FAI did under the HIH banner) are front of jersey in 2017. Youi are on the refs kit (taking over from AAMI), while NRMA (Broncos) and nib (Knights) are big players.

Two car giants are in there too - Toyota (Cowboys) and Kia (Bulldogs).

In terms of electronics and telecommunications there is Huawei (Raiders) a global producer of smartphone & technology, and Vodafone (Warriors), one of the biggest telecommunications providers in the world.

I don't need to elaborate on the wealth and financial power Crown (Rabbitohs & Storm) wield...

... or St George Bank.

As others have mentioned - Oak (Panthers) & Steggles (Roosters) are highly recognisable Australian brands produced by huge companies, and someone else mentioned that URM (Sea Eagles) expanded into the UK and make up a fair portion of the recycling market there.

That really leaves Brydens - who have the compo lawyer market cornered in Sydney and have shelled out $$ for sponsorship across multiple clubs in addition to being front of kit for the Wests Tigers.

And that's not even mentioning the fact that the codes major sponsors include Telstra, Holden and Harvey Norman.