Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

Mate I don't even see how Sharks v Saints rivalry done and dusted by r7 helps any one even the TV lot.
That’s because they are clueless.
That f**king Greenberg should know better re the derby.
The dick lives in Oatley
He grew up in the area
He surely must know the history of the rivalry.
That is without having anything to do with the actual NRL too.

They should be on Sunday arvo at shark park and kogarah
Great crowd
Great tv audience.

Yet one of the best derby’s in the game gets shafted again.

The dick lives in Oatley
He grew up in the area

Great crowd
Great tv audience.

You’d have thought the first thing the nrl fixture team would have done when they got control was pick out the top drawing games for the season and spread them out and made sure they were in the most fan friendly time spots. It’s staggering they havent!

Todd said they start fixture planning in April, it’s not like they have to rush the decisions!

Hoofhearted

Article in the Telegraph today says they contacted all venues for round 1 and are expecting 40k in Perth, at this stage i'm a bit skeptical considering last year they said the Perth RLWC sales were going "Gangbusters" and we got 14k. I'll be there and heres hoping 40k others!!

Warriors Fever

The dick lives in Oatley
He grew up in the area

Great crowd
Great tv audience.

Two years in a row with bad time slots. As I recall the eels vs dogs had two bad time slots last year too

Billythekid

Article in the Telegraph today says they contacted all venues for round 1 and are expecting 40k in Perth, at this stage i'm a bit skeptical considering last year they said the Perth RLWC sales were going "Gangbusters" and we got 14k. I'll be there and heres hoping 40k others!!

I never buy into the hype around big crowds like this one. It just leads to disappointment. I'm still hoping for 30K+ and I'd consider that a big success. 40K would be f**king outstanding.

franklin2323

The dick lives in Oatley
He grew up in the area

Great crowd
Great tv audience.

Panthers v Eels is twice in 5 rounds. So nuts

Raiderdave

what could the 2 games in Perth pull crowd wise if they were played separately
Dogs V Storm
10 to 12Kish at either ANZ or Belmore for a round 1 clash in good weather conditions

Souths would have played the warriors at NIB in Perth if they were the home team anyway
15 to 18K for round 1 id say in good conditions

so around 25 to 30K

you'd be hoping for more then that if we're cracking open a double header at a big new & seemingly popular venue
30K is barely a pass
35K probably a pass
40K will be a pretty good result

CC_Roosters

What were thr other figures quoted for the round?

Strangely they didnt run an ad in the West today despite Saturday being the biggest circulation day for the paper.

Hoofhearted

What were thr other figures quoted for the round?
NRL season 2018 kick-off: Record crowds tipped as footy fever grips fans
DAVID RICCIO, The Daily Telegraph
March 3, 2018 8:57am
Subscriber only
FINALLY, Billy Slater has shown that just maybe, he’s just like us.

“I still get goosebumps when I hear Rabs’ (commentator Ray Warren) voice,’’ the champion fullback says.

“Honestly, watching the footage to pump up the season ahead, the music behind it, it still gets me going. I’m the kid who loves playing footy. It can’t start quick enough.’’

And clearly, we all agree.

The NRL is preparing for record crowds to launch the most open, fascinating and difficult-to-predict season in recent memory, with more than 150,000 league-starved supporters preparing to roll through the turnstiles in round one.

8425f78404cc3f5eeedbecadf1567445

Melbourne's Billy Slater is excited. Picture: Phil Hillyard
The Saturday Telegraph has spoken to every NRL club and stadium scheduled to host the opening round and bumper crowds is the collective forecast.

While the AFL continues to prove that the NRL still has much work to do to rival their religious-like fanaticism — with a combined attendance figure of 400,000 expected to show up to the AFL’s opening round weekend — there’s no denying league fans are salivating to get their footy fix.

Just some of the records on the verge of being smashed during NRL round one are:

● The largest crowd to a rugby league match in Perth in history

● The Cowboys’ biggest home crowd against Cronulla since 1996

● The Knights’ biggest home crowd since 2015

● Panthers-Eels’ biggest crowd at Penrith since 2010.

Ironically, the NRL’s first match of the 2018 season; St George-Illawarra and Brisbane at Kogarah, could be one of the two lowest-drawing crowds of the first round.

53773ec4f5c01d8c31c53922f6384216

The Dragons and Broncos look to be the odd men out. Picture: AAP
Suggesting that the NRL have blundered their scheduling to launch the season in the suburbs with one interstate team, only 13,000 fans are expected to witness Dragons’ high-profile recruit Ben Hunt tackle his former club Brisbane on Thursday night.

Scheduling aside, the occasion alone deserves a sold-out Jubilee Oval with the Dragons and NRL CEO Todd Greenberg to pay tribute to immortal Graeme Langlands — who passed away in January — prior to kick-off.

Out west, only 100 reserve seats are left available at Penrith where they will host premiership heavyweights Parramatta next Sunday.

While in Queensland, a celebration of Johnathan Thurston’s career and his 300th NRL game against Cronulla has led Cowboys officials to prepare for a crowd of close to 22,000.

b82cf427d41ba3a9989bd341200b7c5d

Pepper Stadium will be packed for the Panthers and Eels. Picture: Getty Images
Only 15 more people would need to attend the blockbuster for the biggest Cowboys-Sharks crowd of 1996 to be broken.

In the west and just like Slater, Bulldogs captain Josh Jackson said he could hardly contain himself ahead of his trip to Perth to play Melbourne in front of an anticipated double-header crowd of 40,000 — the biggest in WA history.

“I can’t wait, I’m itching to go,’’ Jackson said. “It’s been a long pre-season.

“I played Melbourne there in 2014, but this is a great way to start the year.

“A new stadium in front of 40,000 with a double-header ... I’ve been looking forward to the game for almost the entire pre-season, so I can’t wait to get stuck into it.’’

Closer to home, Manly face one of the most daunting road trips to commence the new season, to Newcastle, facing the new-look Knights on Friday night where a crowd between 22,000-25,000 is expected.

Sea Eagles captain Daly Cherry-Evans was under no illusion about what his side are about to walk into.

“They’ve got hope for the first time in a long time,’’ Cherry-Evans said

thorson1987

NRL season 2018 kick-off: Record crowds tipped as footy fever grips fans
DAVID RICCIO, The Daily Telegraph
March 3, 2018 8:57am
Subscriber only
FINALLY, Billy Slater has shown that just maybe, he’s just like us.

“I still get goosebumps when I hear Rabs’ (commentator Ray Warren) voice,’’ the champion fullback says.

“Honestly, watching the footage to pump up the season ahead, the music behind it, it still gets me going. I’m the kid who loves playing footy. It can’t start quick enough.’’

And clearly, we all agree.

The NRL is preparing for record crowds to launch the most open, fascinating and difficult-to-predict season in recent memory, with more than 150,000 league-starved supporters preparing to roll through the turnstiles in round one.

8425f78404cc3f5eeedbecadf1567445

Melbourne's Billy Slater is excited. Picture: Phil Hillyard
The Saturday Telegraph has spoken to every NRL club and stadium scheduled to host the opening round and bumper crowds is the collective forecast.

While the AFL continues to prove that the NRL still has much work to do to rival their religious-like fanaticism — with a combined attendance figure of 400,000 expected to show up to the AFL’s opening round weekend — there’s no denying league fans are salivating to get their footy fix.

Just some of the records on the verge of being smashed during NRL round one are:

● The largest crowd to a rugby league match in Perth in history

● The Cowboys’ biggest home crowd against Cronulla since 1996

● The Knights’ biggest home crowd since 2015

● Panthers-Eels’ biggest crowd at Penrith since 2010.

Ironically, the NRL’s first match of the 2018 season; St George-Illawarra and Brisbane at Kogarah, could be one of the two lowest-drawing crowds of the first round.

53773ec4f5c01d8c31c53922f6384216

The Dragons and Broncos look to be the odd men out. Picture: AAP
Suggesting that the NRL have blundered their scheduling to launch the season in the suburbs with one interstate team, only 13,000 fans are expected to witness Dragons’ high-profile recruit Ben Hunt tackle his former club Brisbane on Thursday night.

Scheduling aside, the occasion alone deserves a sold-out Jubilee Oval with the Dragons and NRL CEO Todd Greenberg to pay tribute to immortal Graeme Langlands — who passed away in January — prior to kick-off.

Out west, only 100 reserve seats are left available at Penrith where they will host premiership heavyweights Parramatta next Sunday.

While in Queensland, a celebration of Johnathan Thurston’s career and his 300th NRL game against Cronulla has led Cowboys officials to prepare for a crowd of close to 22,000.

b82cf427d41ba3a9989bd341200b7c5d

Pepper Stadium will be packed for the Panthers and Eels. Picture: Getty Images
Only 15 more people would need to attend the blockbuster for the biggest Cowboys-Sharks crowd of 1996 to be broken.

In the west and just like Slater, Bulldogs captain Josh Jackson said he could hardly contain himself ahead of his trip to Perth to play Melbourne in front of an anticipated double-header crowd of 40,000 — the biggest in WA history.

“I can’t wait, I’m itching to go,’’ Jackson said. “It’s been a long pre-season.

“I played Melbourne there in 2014, but this is a great way to start the year.

“A new stadium in front of 40,000 with a double-header ... I’ve been looking forward to the game for almost the entire pre-season, so I can’t wait to get stuck into it.’’

Closer to home, Manly face one of the most daunting road trips to commence the new season, to Newcastle, facing the new-look Knights on Friday night where a crowd between 22,000-25,000 is expected.

Sea Eagles captain Daly Cherry-Evans was under no illusion about what his side are about to walk into.

“They’ve got hope for the first time in a long time,’’ Cherry-Evans said

Saw that tweet from Billy. 75% of replies saying they can't wait to watch him play on Fox Sports.

CC_Roosters

150,000 doesn't sound huge, I am sure we had larger round 1 figures 5-6 years ago. But good to see a positive spin in the media for the start to the season. Funny they take a negative view on the kogarah crowd after banging to drum for suburban grounds in recent memory

Stallion

150,000 doesn't sound huge, I am sure we had larger round 1 figures 5-6 years ago. But good to see a positive spin in the media for the start to the season. Funny they take a negative view on the kogarah crowd after banging to drum for suburban grounds in recent memory

Moreso the Thursday night scheduling was the issue. Any game on this unattractive night will be up against it to draw a decent crowd. Sticking to Friday , Saturday and Sunday is what the NRL should be doing for game day scheduling. Im sure being savvy enough to effectively use timeslots from various timezones with the NRL draw could work well in scheduling fan friendly and player friendly game days.

Raiderdave

its not even close to a record
opening rounds aggregate attendances since 2005
2005 159,614
2006 161,713
2007 185,085
2008 183,627
2009 168,483
2010 165,554
2011 200,312
2012 149,878
2013 158,678
2014 126,590
2015 142,124
2016 117,155
2017 100,969

wildly varying figures there , with 2017 around half of 2011
weather & venue /match up choices are a big factor
but the opening round in recent years has been an amitigated disaster compared to only half a decade or so before

its not even close to a record
opening rounds aggregate attendances since 2005
2005 159,614
2006 161,713
2007 185,085
2008 183,627
2009 168,483
2010 165,554
2011 200,312
2012 149,878
2013 158,678
2014 126,590
2015 142,124
2016 117,155
2017 100,969

wildly varying figures there , with 2017 around half of 2011
weather & venue /match up choices are a big factor
but the opening round in recent years has been an amitigated disaster compared to only half a decade or so before
Bring back Tina Turner

Raiderdave

the games in that record 200,312 opening round of 2011

Broncos V Cowboys 45,119
Roosters V Souths 27,803
Warriors V Parramatta 38,412
Melb V Manly 14,651
Titans V Dragons 21,709
Penrith V Newc 12,431
Canb V Cronulla 13,451
Bulldogs V Tigers 26,737